We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for Dog Lovers”
Review of Holly's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holly's Place
Reno, NV
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place for Dog Lovers”
Reviewed 24 October 2009

A wonderful hidden gem. Beautiful grounds and cute cabins. Rustic charm, very Tahoe.
So nice to have a place where you bring your dogs. Holly and Karen do a great job at making you feel like one of the "family". Great escape from the slopes, steps away from the main drag.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    5
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We have to say how much we enjoyed staying at Holly's place last month (June 19th into the 20th). Our only regret is that we didn’t get an opportunity to stay longer. After we left, we took the gondola ride at Heavenly, which lived up to its name. Holly's Place is well hidden, quiet, dog friendly, and close enuff to the city to be able to enjoy that aspect. Holly if you read this, YOU provided us with the utmost care, hospitality, and a friendly atmosphere, and for this you bet we will be back. Thank you again so much for your wonderful hospitality.

Cheers

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rlegal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

My wife and I stayed at Holly's place for a day, we LOVED it!!! The minute the gates were closed and the dogs calmed down after welcoming the guests, we could see how this was a mini oasis!! The cabins are adorable, clean, comfortable and perfect for pet lovers!! (am not sure about the cats...didn't see any cats there ! :) ) Holly and her staff were so warm, friendly and they had wonderful knowledges of the "places" you have to see while in Lake Tahoe! We wanted to stay longer yet we had to head back home !! We definitely want to come back and stay at this place with our friends for a longer weekend!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redemk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2009

The grounds here are beautiful, the people treat you like family, and the dogs have the time of their lives playing with the other poeple's dogs. What a treat for your best friend (fido) to be able to go on a trip with you and be able to run free when you get there.

The space is relaxing, so after a day of sight seeing you come back to a nice scenery of grass and pine trees to relax with a glass of wine and cheese whlie watching your dog play with the others. I was so relaxed, I made arrangements to stay an extra night!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SparkyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2009

Hollys place is the best place to stay in lake tahoe. I love this place, come back multiple times a year. 3 Acres of 7 different Cabins. Your Dog's are well taken care of from the time you get there till the time you leave. Gates on two sides enclose the beautiful oasis. Holly is very welcoming, the cabins are clean, and my kids love playing outside. If you love tahoe, want to be close to everything, but feel like your away from everything Holly's Place is the place for you...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy7855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2008

The location is good but will never come back again. There's dog hair everywhere - in the bed, on the pillows, blankets, towels. We booked for 4 people, but the second bed was a couch that opens and it was almost impossible to sleep on that thing. Besides that, it looks like they never clean the place. The heater is good - it was hot enough.

Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTravelCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2008

My wife and I went to Holly's Place for our honeymoon. We'd been longing to get away from the daily grind and that's exactly what we got. We were able to relax, unwind and enjoy the peace and quiet under the tall pines. Holly's offers DVDs and videotapes to borrow (with DVD players and VCRs in the cabins for you to watch them on, an outdoor hot tub that's open 24 hours a day so you can soak at 4am if you get a notion to, and grills for the perfect BBQs. Everybody was friendly and helpful. I can't recommend Holly's enough.

  • Liked — It was secluded, quiet and beautiful.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Buffy2q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
879 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
395 reviews
1.2 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
468 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly's Place

Property: Holly's Place
Address: 1201 Rufus Allen Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8213
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Speciality Lodging in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holly's Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holly's Place is a unique dog friendly cabin retreat. The property includes over 1 acre of fenced in space for the dogs and people to enjoy. While you are here, you can enjoy a safe place for you and your dogs to stay. Whether you are after solitude or wish to meet new people, this is the place for you. We are centrally located, yet of the beaten path, and only 2 blocks from the lake. Many local area restaurants and coffee shops are within walking distance as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holly's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing