We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe”
Review of Sunray Tahoe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunray Tahoe Hotel
Ranked #54 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 25 January 2013

What a great value! I stayed for a week and enjoyed the close proximity to Heavenly and many shops and restaurants. I liked the staff and my overall experience and I will be back to stay here as the price and the location are unbeatable.
The only con I experienced is spotty internet service offered by the hotel

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

We had a fireplace and jacuzzi room, the first week of Jan 2013. It was so nice to come in after a day in the snow, to a jacuzzi, fireplace, flat screen TV, and a comfortable bed. My husband, I, and our teenage daughter were very happy with the cozy accommodations. It may not be as modern as some of the fancier hotels, but this was a really good value for the money. The breakfast was simple, but sufficient, and the staff, and the manager, Ron, were very nice and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hollistermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Ron, the manager their is very friendly. Room was recently renovated so it was very nice and clean. Its very good place to stay. Not expensive either. pillows were comfy. no stains on sheets.
Comfortable bed. It was quiet at night and the heat worked very nicely. Had a jacuzzi in room. It was clean and warm. so if you want to stay in lake tahoe and want best value for money then thiis is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank l d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We reserved our room through the group card and would NOT have stayed here had I seen it first. I could not cancel the room. I reserved one with a fire place---no fire place. Water stain on the all Dingy grey pillows. Stained comforter. OLD shower stall. The refrig. and mic were there. Didn't use micro----but the refrig is used for my husbands medicine. The furniture is out of the 70's ugly and had a very hard life. I haven't slept on the bed.---Thinking of brining my blanket out of the car and my own pillow. So not up to the other choice privilege places. Worst place I've stayed at in 10 years.

Room Tip: Ask to SEE the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

If you are looking for some cheap place to stay - here it is... I would definitely not recommend any one to stay here but if you dont want to spend too much on your accommodations, just stay here. I m glad that this motel atleast serves good breakfast :-)

Room Tip: get a suite room or jet a double queen bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ashlesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

So after reading some reviews, I was a little nervous about staying here. Finding this place was super easy, as it is right on the "strip". When we first walked in, there was a fabulous heart shaped hot tub to greet us. (first stop after that was safeway to get Mr.Bubble ;) with heated tile floors in the tub room as well as the bathroom. The king sized bed was a bit firm for our liking, but after a long day in Tahoe, it was great. Tv was a flat panel. Room also had a mini fridge and microwave, but no alarm clock.
Ron, the front desk guy, was pleasant. The breakfast was pretty simple, toast, english muffin, cereal, coffee and tea.
Overall Tahoe is stunning, one of the most beautiful natural places we have ever visited, and the Econo Lodge did not disrupt this wonderful trip whatsoever.

Room Tip: Get a heart shaped hot tub room, very romantic, and relaxing after a long Tahoe day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wpgJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. THE OWNER/MGR BALWINDER GILL OWNER OF B&B HOSPITALITY LLC HAS QUESTIONABLE CUSTOMER SERVICE PRACTICES. I accidentally reserved 2 rooms on the internet instead of 1 using my points. I spoke with Balwinder that night and he said he would cancel the extra room. When I called Choice priviledges the next day to ask for the points back i was told they would need to get permission from Balwinder. When they called Balwinder he refused to give up points saying he had held the room. Hmmm.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kellie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
1.6 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#75 of 118 in Lake Tahoe (California)
58 reviews
2.5 mi away
National 9 Inn - South Lake Tahoe
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#41 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
20 reviews
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#60 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#50 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
166 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apex Inn
Apex Inn
#42 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tahoe Valley Lodge
Tahoe Valley Lodge
#35 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunray Tahoe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunray Tahoe Hotel

Address: 2659 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7700 (Formerly Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe)
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £53 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunray Tahoe Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunray Tahoe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Aa Value Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing