We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”
Review of Sunray Tahoe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunray Tahoe Hotel
Ranked #57 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Ahmedabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

While travelling to South Lake Tahoe we were in search for a motel which can just provide a place to sleep. But for the money they charge, it is much more than I would expect from a motel like that. Will definitely stay here next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 466varunp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    4
    11
    19
See reviews for
20
10
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here at this hotel last week with a family of four for two nights and upon arrival into the hotel one could tell that it was more on the older side. I did like that they had free packs of gum and energy bars at the welcome check in counter. That was nice. The breakfast was also a nice feature as we did not have to drive around to get food in the morning. We only had breakfast one day.

The rooms are very dated in more ways than one. The bathrooms really really need to be renovated. My husband and I were a bit shocked as it is Tahoe which is known as an upscale place to visit, but upon taking a drive we noticed that the majority of hotels around Heavenly are equally as dated and run down. There was an article that weekend that was featured that they have plans of renovating and building new hotels just because of that very reason. Even Harrah's casino is dated and looks run down!

The walls are paper thin!! I had to switch between the heater and the fan to keep the noise down from the couple next to us having a very romantic evening in bed.... to the other neighbor that took a shower and blow dryed her hair for 20 minutes... to the child that was running around the room above us.... not a fun way to fall asleep.

We paid in total a bit over $200 for two nights. We have stayed at other hotels for around the same price and thought they were in a lot better condition.

I think we may rent a lodge next time we travel to Tahoe or stay at a different Hotel that may cost a bit more than this location.

The staff was really nice and helpful when we asked where to go and what to do. You can also purchase gondala tickets at a discounted price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marisol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Redding, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I had a very pleasant stay here. The beds were comfortable and the room was very nice. The price is also great! I would stay here again!.

The staff was all so friendly! Ron checked me in and he knew a lot about Tahoe and helped me get to where I was going. Maria, who is Ron's wife, was also very nice. She asked if I needed anything in the room, which I did. I needed extra blankets and towels. They were delivered to my room in less than 5 minutes, and by her! The breakfast in the morning was also good. If you need a place to stay, you have it right here. the staff and rooms are great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Booked the Econo Lodge via Priceline for a last minute trip to Tahoe for Labor Day. We figured for $89 we were gonna be at a roach motel...very much not the case.

The room was clean, maybe a little rundown, but for $89, it was perfectly acceptable.

It was just a quick drive down the street to the casinos, which was awesome.

The guy who manages the property was very nice, and enjoyable.

We did not take advantage of the free breakfast, but it was there.

My only real complaint is the shower was iffy, I wore my flip flops. Otherwise, I would stay again if I needed a room. No problem.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trulycraz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denison, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

If you plan on needing more than a bed for a night this might not be the spot. Location is not bad but no smoking signs are not respected by numerous tenants. Reasonably quiet and clean but not a place to stay if you are going to spend a lot of time in the room. Bed was not uncomfortable. It was a place that made you think you want to bring your disinfectant spray in before settling in for the night.

Didn't even look at the breakfast knowing Heidi's is not far away. Had a soup and salad from Sprouts down the road, great, but cash at the register for carryout. CC honored only at tables.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsvillager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Loved our stay with the kids at Econolodge. Great value for the money and best value in tahoe!! Really clean and really good service. Loved the room. Everything was and looked new. Would love to come back and stay again with our kids. Take my advice and take a look!
Overall a 5/5

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guevy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico,CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I had to rent 5 rooms. All the popular hotels and motels were booked. I settled for this one. I read bad reviews and I had no choice. We show up and first this I noticed, it had a nice maintained lawn and gazebo. The lobby and breakfast area was nice and clean. All of my rooms were really clean and nice. The bathrooms all had marble tiles. This place has one star prices for Tahoe but three star rooms. In my other Tahoe experiences, I had paid $79 for one stars. Here I paid $55. I was told that if you book a month in advance, you get rooms cheaper. They even have weekday rooms for $30. The staff was super helpful and room service did a good job cleaning. I stayed 2 and a half days. Five miles away was camp Richardson, the most popular camping and beach area and three miles away was Nevada and the main casino and nightclubs. There are eating area everywhere on the same street and even a wine tasting place and down town shopping near casinos. All five rooms were different because of pricing but good rooms. I will return.
-V.S.V.

Room Tip: ask if you can get a room with a fireplace. They are the nice ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Virk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
1.6 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#70 of 119 in Lake Tahoe (California)
57 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
#47 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
25 reviews
2.5 mi away
National 9 Inn - South Lake Tahoe
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#44 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#50 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
155 reviews
1.7 mi away
Emerald Bay Lodge
Emerald Bay Lodge
#53 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
35 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apex Inn
Apex Inn
#46 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunray Tahoe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunray Tahoe Hotel

Property: Sunray Tahoe Hotel
Address: 2659 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7700 (Formerly Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe)
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunray Tahoe Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunray Tahoe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Aa Value Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing