We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunray Tahoe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunray Tahoe Hotel
Ranked #57 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

It was clean, but the facilities were old. Bad service, took so much time in our check in process and the receptionist was not kindly. At night the person in the lobby was drunk and told us that they did not have extra towels or pillows. Bad experience and breakfast was terrible!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    4
    11
    19
See reviews for
20
10
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Old, dirty (as in dirty walls and the sink not cleaned), rooms not ready by 3 pm check in, housekeeper smoking in the no smoking rooms while she cleaned. Loud party in meeting room and violent domestic fight behind hotel late at night. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jami G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

While travelling to South Lake Tahoe we were in search for a motel which can just provide a place to sleep. But for the money they charge, it is much more than I would expect from a motel like that. Will definitely stay here next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 466varunp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here at this hotel last week with a family of four for two nights and upon arrival into the hotel one could tell that it was more on the older side. I did like that they had free packs of gum and energy bars at the welcome check in counter. That was nice. The breakfast was also a nice feature as we did not have to drive around to get food in the morning. We only had breakfast one day.

The rooms are very dated in more ways than one. The bathrooms really really need to be renovated. My husband and I were a bit shocked as it is Tahoe which is known as an upscale place to visit, but upon taking a drive we noticed that the majority of hotels around Heavenly are equally as dated and run down. There was an article that weekend that was featured that they have plans of renovating and building new hotels just because of that very reason. Even Harrah's casino is dated and looks run down!

The walls are paper thin!! I had to switch between the heater and the fan to keep the noise down from the couple next to us having a very romantic evening in bed.... to the other neighbor that took a shower and blow dryed her hair for 20 minutes... to the child that was running around the room above us.... not a fun way to fall asleep.

We paid in total a bit over $200 for two nights. We have stayed at other hotels for around the same price and thought they were in a lot better condition.

I think we may rent a lodge next time we travel to Tahoe or stay at a different Hotel that may cost a bit more than this location.

The staff was really nice and helpful when we asked where to go and what to do. You can also purchase gondala tickets at a discounted price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marisol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I had a very pleasant stay here. The beds were comfortable and the room was very nice. The price is also great! I would stay here again!.

The staff was all so friendly! Ron checked me in and he knew a lot about Tahoe and helped me get to where I was going. Maria, who is Ron's wife, was also very nice. She asked if I needed anything in the room, which I did. I needed extra blankets and towels. They were delivered to my room in less than 5 minutes, and by her! The breakfast in the morning was also good. If you need a place to stay, you have it right here. the staff and rooms are great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Booked the Econo Lodge via Priceline for a last minute trip to Tahoe for Labor Day. We figured for $89 we were gonna be at a roach motel...very much not the case.

The room was clean, maybe a little rundown, but for $89, it was perfectly acceptable.

It was just a quick drive down the street to the casinos, which was awesome.

The guy who manages the property was very nice, and enjoyable.

We did not take advantage of the free breakfast, but it was there.

My only real complaint is the shower was iffy, I wore my flip flops. Otherwise, I would stay again if I needed a room. No problem.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trulycraz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denison, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

If you plan on needing more than a bed for a night this might not be the spot. Location is not bad but no smoking signs are not respected by numerous tenants. Reasonably quiet and clean but not a place to stay if you are going to spend a lot of time in the room. Bed was not uncomfortable. It was a place that made you think you want to bring your disinfectant spray in before settling in for the night.

Didn't even look at the breakfast knowing Heidi's is not far away. Had a soup and salad from Sprouts down the road, great, but cash at the register for carryout. CC honored only at tables.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hsvillager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
2.5 mi away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#45 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#52 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.6 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#74 of 119 in Lake Tahoe (California)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#54 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#38 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#29 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunray Tahoe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunray Tahoe Hotel

Property: Sunray Tahoe Hotel
Address: 2659 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7700 (Formerly Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe)
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunray Tahoe Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Sunray Tahoe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Aa Value Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing