We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super stay!”
Review of Avalon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avalon Lodge
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Super stay!”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My mother and I had a wonderful time at the Avalon Lodge this past month. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious, especially the beds. I’d love one like that for my own home. The staff was friendly and helpful, always ready to answer our questions. The breakfast was just right for us, tasty and plentiful - and it was great to chat with the other guests in the morning. I think the hotel attracts friendly guests. The hotel is in a quiet area surrounded by huge pines and it was restful to sit outdoors in one of their several sitting areas. Since my mother has trouble getting around, she really appreciated being able sit outdoors in a lovely setting. We also used the hotel pass to spend a morning at the beach and loved that. There was a lot going on there! There were plenty of restaurants in the area to dine at and we even got in some shopping. All in all, the Avalon was a great part of our vacation. My mother rarely travels anymore but told me that she would go back to the Avalon anytime – and that is high praise from her!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroTraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    52
    18
    13
    17
See reviews for
45
94
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed at the Avalon for a week in July with my husband, our daughter and her boyfriend. The location was perfect for everyone to walk to whatever activity they wanted (beach, casinos, shopping, dining). The rooms were well appointed and very clean. The "continental" breakfast each morning was a real treat with delicious breakfast breads each morning. Nothing better than sitting on the deck looking at the beautiful blue sky and having breakfast. The front desk staff, especially Shannon and Theresa, were very helpful and friendly. It was such a peaceful and enjoyable "lodge" that I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebighd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We took our dog here and had a great time. All of the staff are incredibly welcoming, nice, and helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious with good amenities including mini fridges and microwaves. You are also given a dog welcome basket which among treats and other things includes an old sheet for your dog so that he can sleep on the bed with you. You can also ask for a dog bed and a food and water bowl. Everyone there seems to love dogs and there are lots of places to hang out and relax on the property with or without your dog. The pool and jacuzzi are well kept and nice.
There are also bikes and kayaks to rent out for free, which would not be available at big chain hotels.
Overall this is a great place to stay with an amazing staff. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to people with or without dogs, though if you have a dog this would be a great place to stay with them.

Lara S.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June Lake, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2012

After searching and searching for an affordable dog friendly option that is also clean and comfortable I found the Avalon Lodge, located only 3 blocks from the journey concert we were going to see at the Harvey's South Lake Ampitheatre.

Upon arrival everything began falling into place, the front desk service was personal and the lobby was extremely clean with water, coffee, and even sangria! I felt as if I were being welcomed into someone's home. The front desk staff presented me with a dog basket which included some biscuits a tennis ball, a clean towel and a sheet for some dog bedding! THat worked out great.

There are no complaints with the recently renovated rooms, the bathrooms being the highlight (water pressure on the raindrop shower head was AMAZING!) The bedding is very comfortable, and the ceiling fan in the room kept us cool on a hot summer day. I have a really bad back and I slept better on this mattress than the one I have at home!

The pool and hot tub were very clean and at a great temperature, and the bikes to take out worked great to get down to the beach, only two blocks away! I will always be looking to stay at the Avalon Lodge on future trips to South Lake Tahoe.

Overall the best part of this dog friendly location was that I could not tell that this was a dog friendly hotel, the housekeeping staff is doing a great job and my allergies were not an issue when staying in the room! This place is the bees knees!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed amazing as our party had 3 all over...and they all exceeded par!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The staff at the Avalon made us feel right at home from the minute we checked in. They immediately offered us some delicious sangria while we were checking in and were eager to show us trail maps and boat and kayak rental information when they learned more about our recreation interests, so right away we knew we were going to love our stay. They offer a free breakfast in the mornings, and one day while getting ready for a hike I lost track of time and missed the breakfast, but when I wandered into the lobby to buy a snack from the adjoining store the desk clerk immediately ran into her kitchen to fix me a bowl of yogurt and granola (for free!) so I wouldn't have to buy anything. We felt like guests in someone's home during our stay because of the warmth and generosity of the staff. You can't beat the location, either: just a few blocks from Heavenly resort and the lake. The hotel is stylish and comfortable, AND they also offer free cruiser bike rentals so you can explore South Tahoe in style! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms near the corner are closest to the balcony, so if you stay there you'll feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReenieLesBois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoavalon, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback and kind words! Aren't the complimentary bikes great??? We thank you for staying and hope you get to come and visit us and Tahoe again ~ and don't forget your 5% returning guest discount!

DP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, TX
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The staff were very friendly. If we are going to visit that area again, we will stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KL_RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This hotel was great!!!! The customer service was one of the best I've had in a long time!!! They always had smiles on their faces and were very helpful. Since they allowed pets wasn't sure how the rooms would be but very clean you couln't tell pets even were in the hotel. We brought our dog and it turned out great! They eve gve the dogs a welcome basket! The rooms were really nice and beds were comfy! The only problem I had was that the shower area didn't have no where to place your soaps, but then again it did sorta look like they put us in a handicapp room...not sure! The location was a perfect walk to the lake. It take amatter of mintues! The parking lot is designed a little weird but easy if you got a car hard for SUV's. I will stay here again in Tahoe I had a really nice stay! Rooms updated, nice slate bathrooms, and comfy beds can't bet that. Also when asking for late check out they had no problem! If you pass up staying here your crazy! It's hard to get awesome service and awesome rooms and location nowadays!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VM510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#28 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Becket
Hotel Becket
#27 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpenrose Inn
Alpenrose Inn
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heavenly Inn Lake Tahoe
Heavenly Inn Lake Tahoe
#24 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Lodge

Property: Avalon Lodge
Address: 4075 Manzanita Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6919
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a mountain retreat that’s just steps away from South Lake Tahoe’s beaches, Heavenly gondola, and world-famous dining, shopping, recreation, and entertainment. The Avalon Lodge will pamper you with the best beds in Tahoe, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, in-room fireplaces, gourmet coffee, and spa-quality essentials. You’ll also enjoy fresh continental breakfasts, Free WiFi, Lakeside Beach access and Spa. We provide activity equipment for your stay - bikes are free for guest and on first come first serve bases. Please noted, Pets not allowed (service animals welcome). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Avalon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Avalon Hotel Lake Tahoe
Avalon Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing