We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avalon Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Alpenrose Inn(South Lake Tahoe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Lantern Inn & Suites(South Lake Tahoe)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Coachman Hotel(South Lake Tahoe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club(South Lake Tahoe)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Station House Inn(South Lake Tahoe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradice Motel(South Lake Tahoe)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heavenly Inn Lake Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
76
55
21
15
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
55
21
15
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtfrench press coffee makercontinental breakfastextra blanketsenjoyed our staynice place to stayshort drivedogfireplacelakesheetstahoesnowstatelinegondolanevada
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Had a delightful 4 night stay! Ann & Camille are great hosts! Only thing is - if you cannot offer milk for cereal at no charge, perhaps make small containers available for sale. Otherwise great stay! Two blocks from the Lake, & 2 blocks from casinos & shopping. Very clean & comfortable rooms! Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elcyd56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The staff at Avalon Lodge (especially Ann! Hi, Ann!) were so great to us from the moment we arrived to check out. We were in town for an SUP race at El Dorado beach, so we had our boards on the Jeep and our dog, Bindi, in tow. They're located near stateline (we easliy walked to the casinos & Heavenly village) but also only steps from the lake and off the main road just enough that we felt safe leaving our equipment on the racks of the Jeep when we weren't using it at the lake. The room was very comfortable, clean, and looked like it had recently been remodeled. My mother-in-law and her friend came to visit us and it was large enough to non-awkwardly host a few drinks in the room with all four of us + Bindi. It even had a microwave and fridge, in addition to the usual coffee maker... and an honor bar! What a cool little treat. When we arrived, there was a car basket for Bindi on the bed with her own sheet, towels, a ball, and quite a few treats. Everything had been thought of for us. She was welcomed in any area of the hotel, which was a refreshing change. Even in the pool & hot tub areas! Did I mention those? It was really a little gem with a fire pit area, as well. We didn't get a chance to take out the courtesy beach cruisers, but definitely next time. Thanks Avalon for the wonderful stay! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank XtelleKeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

in the summer, South Lake Tahoe can be hot and stuffy, The rooms do not have AC nor do they have adequate ventilation. We were thinking of staying two days but because of lack of clear / clean / non- polluted / no construction air we had to cut our trip short by a day.
The staff was great, but that doesn't excuse the lack of basic ventilation for a room at this price point. One last thing, the staff was mis-imformed regarding dogs on the beach after 7 pm--- we were chased off and the only way to get to thee beach was a drive to Nevada beach at 6:00am

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Keith567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CleHospitality, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

We appreciate you took the time to write a review and are sorry you felt the need to cut your trip short. Lake Tahoe, like most high altitude mountain & lake resorts, typically boasts the perfect mix of warm sunny days and cooler nights.

Usually there are only a few days in the summer which are above 80 degrees, but this summer we have experienced a heat wave! We do not advertise air-conditioning. We do have windows, ceiling fans ans even an added in room mobile fan for just such days.

We have discussed the idea of adding air conditioning, but to date the few extra warm days has not warranted it. This weather trend however, has us talking about it again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I'm really torn between 3 and 4 stars...

We booked this hotel mainly because of the amenities listed (free kayaks available, bikes, pool, breakfast, fire pit, fireplace, etc). Yes, these amenities were technically there, the ones we actually cared about were pretty disappointing....

Let me explain:

- "Kayaks" were a joke. They were far too small for adults (children maybe) and were unusable in the water. We are not big people - I barely weigh 130 lbs and the 'kayak' would have sunk within 5 minutes on the lake. We ended up having to pay to rent kayaks somewhere else. This was a HUGE disappointment.

- If you want to use the fireplace, the pilot light needs to be lit by hotel staff. I brought this up and the front desk attendant said "oh yeah, we should really have signs that say that". Ummm yes, you should. We really would have liked to use it the first night. After that it warmed up and we didn't need it.

- Breakfast is extremely limited. They put out a crockpot of oatmeal with a tiny bowl of yogurt and a tiny bowl of cut up strawberries. You are literally restricted to taking maybe a tablespoon of yogurt and strawberries (if you don't want to be a jerk and take all of it). There is also granola, but no milk or anything to put on it. They also have a platter of a few pastries, but again, very very limited. We were satisfied, but I still thought this was dumb.

- Free sangria in the lobby gave me a raging headache. I think it was pre-made...Why not just serve inexpensive wine?

- Pool was not heated (unusable), but hot tub was great and we used it nightly.

Fortunately our room was clean (minus a few stray hairs), comfortable, and updated. My favorite part was the huge shower with the rain shower head.

Conveniently located to a private beach 2 blocks away and the casinos just up the street. Overall we enjoyed our stay, but were really disappointed with the mediocre amenities.

Tip: Ask for a room upstairs

Room Tip: Book a room on the top floor to avoid noisy neighbors and shallow floor boards
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My 3 person family recently stayed at the Avalon. The location was perfect, you could walk to the lake and to restaurants. Room was very comfortable and the staff super nice. They have an outdoor pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CleHospitality, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We hope to host you again soon, please that remember returning guests always receive a special discount when they book direct through the Avalon Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews