We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view”

The Gondola at Heavenly
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.49*
and up
Hard Rock Cafe Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop aboard an 8-passenger glass cabin and be whisked 2.4 miles up the side of a mountain for breathtaking views of Lake Tahoe and the Sierra Nevada mountain range. Riders can hop off at an observation deck, located half way up, for even more spectacular sights.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This tram is really great although a little warm - the view is outstanding. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our reason for getting on the tram was to see what is at the top of the mountain in the summer time. We took a photo opportunity at the first stop - the viewing platform was perfect. Enjoyed a little rest and relaxation in the seating areas and were thoroughly awed by the vistas. Then we boarded for our final journey to the top. Once there we wandered through the lodge and rested in seating provided across the front outside area of the lodge. My family took the chairlift up toward the zip line while I was comfortable sitting in front of the lodge and watching "zippers" coming down the line. May have to try "zipping" one of these days too, but the air is a little thin and this 67-year old was doing a bit of "huffing and puffing." The tram cost for us was over $100 but all in all, it was an enjoyable way to spend a few wonderful hours of a beautiful day. While our hotel concierge said the tram accommodated wheelchairs, we were puzzled as to how that would work in the limited space and glad we didn't bring one. Also, while there was an elevator from the tram down to the lodge, the walkways were not paved and it would have been difficult to push the wheelchair along.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Inge K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,009
    493
    152
    52
    34
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“places to see!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

the view of the Lake from the Gondola is breath taking. The café is expensive but the food was decent. the gift shop was cute and had all the things that resort giftshops should have. The chairlift was outstanding like a swing over paradise, I am so glad I experienced this!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great views, great deal”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed a night in Tahoe, and took the Heavenly Gondola up to the top of the mountain. For the money ($39, but you can find discounted tickets), you get a scenic ride up to the observation deck halfway up, then up again to the Tamarack Lodge, where all the fun activities are-ziplines, ropes courses, inner tube run, and my favorite, the Tamarack Express ski lift. This lift takes you to the tiptop of the mountain, and the views are awesome. You can see Nevada on your right hand and beautiful Lake Tahoe on your left, then you float back down to Tamarack. The activities cost $$, but we just enjoyed to cool weather up there, and riding the lift a few times. Well worth the money and time. There is food and drink at the lodge but it's pretty pricey (maybe take lunch with you).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sac_joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The ride and view at the observation deck are definitely worth the price even if you don't ski. Plan to spend at least 30 minutes at the view deck or take lunch there with you if it isn't too cold. The gondolas only so there on the way up. Best views of the lake, mountains, etc. Photos here are instant postcards and screen themes.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scottism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Include in your " to do list "”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Revisited south lake tahoe after 7 years and this time I brought my family with me. My kids , 6 y/o and 3 y/o enjoyed riding the gondola. The view of lake tahoe was spectacular from above. There are seating areas and chairs on the viewing deck which was nice. You can bring snacks with you instead of buying from the snackbar. We payed $39 for adults and $33 for kids. Child under 4 is free. Quite expensive , but it sure is quite an experience! Dont leave South lake tahoe without riding the gondola as this is one of its main attraction.

Helpful?
2 Thank RNtraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gondola at Heavenly also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to The Gondola at Heavenly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing