We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tahoe Marriott Again...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Central Valley, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tahoe Marriott Again...”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Another trip to Tahoe for a personal holiday and a return to the Grand Residences. We had reserved our room online through Marriott, and went with a higher price point room based on availability of a room with an oversized jetted tub. It also advertised a separate shower. We had requested the room on a higher floor to avoid traffic noise. The room we received was beautiful, large space with 2 bathrooms and complete with a loft. Unfortunately both bathrooms had simple regular sized shower/tub combination with no spa jets which was very disappointing given how well appointed the room was otherwise.

When we called down to the front desk we were advised that rooms with these features are not guaranteed and this was not in the system, yet (thank you iPhone) I was able to confirm the reservation for myself. Front desk staff were as helpful as they needed to be, but it felt as if we were an inconvenience to them and no apology was received for the situation or the delay. This was a huge contrast to prior stays here, and has more to do with the ranking this time than the rooms themselves. We've had such great experiences before we were expecting it again.

Staff did locate another beautiful room with an oversized jetted tub and we were allowed to move there. It was smaller, but there was more than enough room for us, and it was a lower price point. It was on the second floor at the intersection leading to the resort so there was some road noise but not enough to worry about. For some reason the bed was more uncomfortable this stay.

The vehicle valet services were very prompt and staff friendly. It's a shame that they charge so much for the overnight parking, but during heavier winter weather I'm sure it's worth it. The good thing about this location is it is within walking distance of many shops and activities so you may not need a car as much. Parking at the local casinos is free if you don't mind walking a short distance.

The Heavenly tram right in the resort area was not running again during this trip to Tahoe. It seems like every time we go it is only running limited hours, being maintenanced, or just closed altogether.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mapquester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    241
    64
    38
    22
See reviews for
334
290
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I did an exchange with II and my kids and I were very pleased with the suite. When we walked in to the room the first thing we saw was a full sized pool table in the room. It had a great kitchen, large bathrooms with jets in one of the tubs. The kitchen was large and had just about anything you would need to cook. The pool is large and the gym has a great range of machines. The only complaints were that you have to pay for just about any activity - the kids club charges for most organized activities (my home resort provides everything for free) the valet parking is expensive but you don't have a free option. The spa is really lacking. I had to wait 15 minutes for my lady to walk over from their other spa. Then she did not give me a discount and wanted me to give her a tip!
The resort has many easily accessible restaurants, shops, a Raley's, casinos and the gondola.

Room Tip: You can't choose a room as the resort has a unique ownership style. People own a 13 weeks of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

- Great hospitality staffs. Thank you all.
- Full facilities in-room, especially kitchen. No mini-bar but don't worry, just cross the street you'll find one in gas station.
- Room is as comfort as home, can stay for months. Feels like staying at a studio apartment.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadMee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Can't say enough about this hotel. Location was perfect, the rooms were huge and clean, the staff was super helpful. The only bad thing is that it doesn't snow all year. I have stayed here every year the last 3 years and it is the best place. I can't wait for snow to fall so I can go again. Bring your swimsuit, the heated pool and hot tub are great after snowboarding all day. I especially like the fact that everything was within walking distance and I didn't have to drive any where.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We booked a one bedroom for two nights in the fall, and the living space was enormous, very pleased. Fireplace in bedroom did not work, and when my husband removed the panel to find the problem, we saw that the wires were still covered in plastic, it was not hooked up to the gas line, and the instructions for installation were still attached. Huge disappointment because this is the main reason for booking this hotel.
The garbage disposal in the kitchen drained extremely slowly and created a bad smell.
But the biggest problem of all was the rock hard bed and cheap, flimsy pillows. We were so extremely sore the next morning we actually had to find Kmart and purchase pillows to take back to the hotel for our last night.
All of the staff however were very nice, but we give 3 stars because sleep quality is important to us.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeyWestBabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
149 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We couldn't believe the size, quality and classiness of our huge 2 BR, 3 BA loft apartment for the reasonable price. The kitchen, great room w/window seats, balcony and upstairs TV room were amazing. Almost too good to be true! Located at the base of the Heavenly Gondola (unfortunately running only on weekends after Labor Day), with superb restaurants and casinos within walking distance, this Marriott property is fantastic. Ron the concierge and Brian the bellhop were standouts, as were the wonderful front desk staff. Cool decor and adjacent to a sister property with lots of fun activities. Beautiful pools and hot tubs too.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piqua41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The hotel was very comfortable and well maintained. Quick access to most city attractions. Staff was very helpful. Limited food options on site but good restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: our room was on third floor right above valet parking - so it got noisy early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitelaketraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,070 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
885 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,059 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.8 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.

Property: Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7068 (Formerly Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe)
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing