We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay but with one problem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice stay but with one problem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

Stopped in Lake Tahoe after driving from SF en route to LV. Been a long drive so Looking for a nice warm quiet bed to sleep in.

Reasonable drive in off shelf rate, nice comfortable warm room, good bathroom etc. Good in house restaraunts and amenities. Good location.

The only thing that spoiled the stay , and this is not reflected in the scores for this hotel, was that for some reason, maintenance work Was started around midnight in the room next door. Initially there was just moving noise, which we assumed was others moving in, but then drilling started intermittently around 1 am when I rang the front desk to complain. By 1:30 the sporadic drilling became more frequent, and at times sounded like it was occurring in the adjoining wall above our heads... So another call to the front desk... Lady again said she would look into it. At around 2:00am the maintenance work stopped and I heard (quite clearly the whole argument) the bell-boy (or whoever of lowly rank) who was eventually dispatched to deal with this, came in a bit heavy handed with the workmen/contractors, whom then took offense and decided to argue the contractual conditions of their services to the hotel. All this outside the door of probably the only room occupied in that wing.... Ours....Eventually a hotel manager came and got the workmen to move on.... So we finally got to sleep in preparation for our next days long drive at about 3am.

On checkout we complained re the maintenance work. We were offered free parking as consolation. We were either too offended or too tired to push it. Considering our prime objective was to get rest so we could safely continue our travels, we would have been better off sleeping in the car.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank NadsNDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    238
    63
    37
    22
See reviews for
326
283
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

The situated in prime locatoin from walking to the lake, gandola and the casinos. The receptionst was very warm and also was kind to upgrade me to a suite which I think was awesome. There is a parking structure behind the hotel if you think valet price is expensive. It was a great weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TD7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

The Marriott is in the centre of south Lake Tahoe and is prime for staying whether you come for snow or sun. It's rooms are good although some of the bathrooms are bad. The bad thing about the bathroom is that the shower door opens inward and anyone other than a size 0 super model will have no hope in getting in. The layout of the hotel seems somewhat dated as its hallways remind one of a hospital ward, with off yellow walls and deodoriser smell. That being said, the rooms are quite comfortable and some even contain a gas firands cosy and cute addition to what is a great hotel, whether for skiing or sun bathing.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Fantastic room and wonderful bedding. Great service with wine tasting in the lobby on the weekends. 50 feet from the Heavenly Gondola to the mountain top. A block from stateline and gambling. Wonderful shops and street vendors on the weekends. Grocery store across the street. Affordable valet parking. I’m a big Marriott fan and this visit re-enforced my belief that you get great value for just a few bucks more with Marriott.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmandSirius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Room was nice and clean. Staff was very freindly. Large TV with HD available. Free Internet in room and Lobby for guest. Close to all Attractions and shopping. Nice pool and workout room. No free parking available only valet. Close by restaurants.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

The location is top notch in the middle of Heavenly Village. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 3 bath with full living area, full, albeit small, kitchen, free Internet, HD TV on the flatscreens in all 3 rooms, and the list goes on and on. It also has AC, which is a nice feature in the summer though it is only really needed in the afternoon hours.

Room Tip: A 2 bedroom and 3 bath sleeps 6 adults and 4 children very comfortable. More could easily fit if nec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flint34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Be aware that the rooms in this residence (it's a residence, not really a hotel) are variable in size and quality. Do not opt for the studio, which is just the cramped bedroom of a larger unit. The larger units are much more desirable and worth the extra charge. The smaller rooms do not have the amenities of a standard hotel room, such as an ice bucket or drinking glasses (not even a plastic cup!). Forget a coffee maker. Housekeeping also is highly variable, as some of the other reviews here indicate. On the other hand, the location is convenient and the staff is friendly. Call for your car, and the valet attendant will have it ready pronto.

Room Tip: Go upscale in room choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.

Property: Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7068 (Formerly Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe)
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing