We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pros and cons, but overall still a pleasant stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pros and cons, but overall still a pleasant stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

This hotel is in a great location, central to attractions and conveniently located to a shopping plaza with a big grocery store. The best things about this place are the location and the full kitchen--we went to that grocery store every day of our 5 days there, and cooked several times. That was especially useful to have since we didn't find any good restaurants in the area.

The facilities are standard Marriott, not too bad but pretty tired. The pool was quite good and not overly crowded (we went over July 4th weekend). The bed was terrible--really soft and unsupportive. The food at the restaurant (I forget the name but it was Hawaiian--kind of strange in a very un-Hawaiian setting) was passable but overpriced. The service was fine when we did interact with someone, but our only interaction was during check-in really, and when we pulled our car in after check-out to load it--the bellmen were courteous and fast.

We'd read other people's recommendations to park elsewhere (for free) and that was a great tip. Valet parking here is a rip-off, and we're glad we didn't use it. I think if we'd had to pay for parking, we'd be considerably grumpier.

We used Marriott points to stay here--with Marriott, if you stay 4 nights you get 5th night free, so we took advantage. If we used points, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    234
    63
    36
    22
See reviews for
320
282
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here with my husband's parents August 6-9. We were in a large condo-style room as there were 8 people staying the condo. The place was really nice and had a lot of great amenities, including the fireplaces in the living room! We could hear kids at the pool in our 4th floor room and had some problems with windows we couldn't close on our own, but otherwise the place was great. The pool was so nice! The big umbrellas were wonderful. We also enjoyed the style of the lobby and the rustic feel in the rooms. The pillows were lousy, but that's just personal preference.

The valet parking, however, was so expensive! I don't like when there is no option to park your own car. That's the main reason for 4 instead of 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

The service was very poor. The staff spoke very poorly to us. Does make me want to return. The valet was harsh when speaking to my wife and I. Check in was also very harsh in how they talked with us. It's a high priced hotal that treated like we were in a cheap motel. I wouldn't recommend this hotel. Bathroom had cracked paint and tile needed cleaning badly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregorymayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Spent a week at the Marriott Grand Residence and found it most convenient to everything I needed - only needed to car once - walked every where the rest of the time. The kitchen had everything and the living space was very comfortable.

Room Tip: I was in the back of the property where - most of the time - it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BAB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed in a studio appartment. It was immaculate, clean and spacious! Well equipped kitchen and nice size bathroom, The pool was clean and had a service for drinks and some food, good value pitchers in Happy hour......
Ron the concierge helped us with vouchers for the Tahoe Queen and he booked it for us.
Reception Staff friendly. Nice location , Gondola on the back of the hotel, Raley's supermarket across the road.
Lovely shops all in walking distance.Free internet.
We will stay here again....

Room Tip: Do not use the valet service ! If you wantt to save $26,-- a night....we stayed 4 nights and parked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
190 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

I have stayed here several times in the past and will probabaly stay here again in the future. I love the location, the decor and the service. There is one draw back, it's a residence type of place and people own the rooms / residences here. This means that when you book a room you might not always be able to get the type of room you wanted as you are dependant entirley on the owners.While I have always been happy there, This time I was disspointed as I got a very small room, it had no Kitchen and faced away from what I had requested, there was not even enough room to put a table for eating or gettign a bit of work done. This is not a fault but a fact of life in this type of hotel. It's still a great place, but this might make you want to check other locations.

Room Tip: Call first to make sure you don't get a room that is not actually one bedromm of another larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daniel_travel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills
Level Contributor
246 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Overall this is a very nice place to stay for families. Our only issues were caused by not understanding the difference between their suites and guest rooms (but they could have made those differences more obvious on the site). Their site talks about refrigerators and coffee machines in the suites, but didn't really make it clear that the "guest rooms", which are basically one of the bedrooms from a larger suite, don't have the same amenities, since the amenities are in the other part of the suite.

Because this is a time share resort, its a little different from typical 4-star hotels - there's only one restaurant, no bar or late night snack place, and no pool service. The location, however, means there are plenty of places to eat, drink, and gamble within a couple of blocks.

The pool/hot tubs were very nice, and not crowded in the morning. Service was good at the front desk, but thats basically all there is, besides the valet parking.

We were there for a Maroon 5 concert at Harvey's casino a block away, and it was ideal for that.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a suite - studio, 1 BR, or bigger - the guest rooms don't have all the ameniti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,823 reviews
22.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.

Property: Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7068 (Formerly Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe)
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing