We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for the most part, very good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tahoe Valley Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We set our RV up to stay for the month. Other than the awful internet connection and horrible cable channels, we have no complaints! My job depends on the internet and since it was so unreliable, we had to make other arrangements for internet access. And I know, you don't go camping for the tv, but when you're inside for the evening, it's nice to have more than a few channels to watch. For the amount of money you spend to stay there, you expect a little more. Even with those few "faults", we're planning our next summer trip and are staying here!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tweener12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

We had stayed there before and liked it. Spent four nights there. Way way too expensive. Very crowded. Wifi is free - very poor connection and you need to ask for a login and password in order to access. Not printed on your paperwork as many other places do. Pool out of order - would have been nice to know when we made our reservations. Will not be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank cal_traveler240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Nice wooded campground and not too close to other campers. Centrally located for easy access to town and food. High priced. Normally stay at another campground during this time of year but they were booked ... It was busy and noisy due to the season but was expected. Try to get a spot AWAY from the playground area as kids do use it until the last minute up to quiet time! What's with the pool? Totally fenced off and in disrepair! No discount ... No refund ...

Room Tip: Get A Spot Away From Playground For Silence!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inclineguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We made our reservations over a month ago, they told us the pool was not working but would be ready when we were there. When we got there we were told by the snotty lady that checked us in that the pool won't be ready to use until Saturday. The day we were leaving. We had also talked to them about if campsites had fire they said yes turns out they require a $40.00 deposit and $2.00 a day along with any sports equipment for the other ammenitys offer. The showers and restrooms were disgusting.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank cubbiebear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We made our reservations in February for July/August. We had stayed here last year and liked it. It has a volleyball court, swimming pool, general store, movie night, laundry facilities, ice cream social. The pool was closed due to renovations so they gave us a 10% discount. Our first site had no shade and we stayed one night there. The next day, my husband spoke with one of the staff about changing sites. He was rude and abrupt with my husband and told us no, there is no availability to change sites. I went back and spoke with Joel who was able to find us a better site so we packed up and moved to a larger, more shady site.

What we didn't know, was that the campgrounds had been rented out for a week long conference with the Seventh Day Adventist church group. They bussed in a large group of youths along with lots of people in cars and on foot coming and going from the resort to go to camp meetings all day long plus they had meetings and rallys during the evening and got pretty loud but they did quiet down around 9:30pm. When we go camping, it is for the peace and quiet of the woods. If I had known about this conference, we probably would have gone somewhere else.

However, the showers were free and the location is great. The RV sites tend to be small, the tent sites a bit bigger.

If you want a campfire, you MUST bring your own firepit - none are provided and you cannot improvise.

Room Tip: Try to go ahead of time and pick out a few sites that will accommodate your RV length and request on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparksnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Spent two nights here in July, 2013. Very large campground and very busy, but plenty of nice people and lots of family activities. Our only disappointment was that the management didn't have spots reserved for our group (two fivers and a toy hauler) that would fit our trailers. Since we had to provide RV size during the reservation process, one would think the management would assign appropriate sized spaces. We had to adjust on the fly and were able to get three spaces, side-by-side, that fit our rigs. WiFi was spotty, but no big deal for us. Park has a nice store, laundry room, pool, basketball court, horse shoes, and more. Movies are shown in the big "summer tent". Camp is very clean and conveniently located. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahs96gne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The RV Park is a bit away from shoreline and the beaches, so I think it tends to be less noisy. Nice peaceful surroundings. They show movies Friday and Saturday Nights, which is a nice touch. We reserved a deluxe RV site which was supposed to be 50 amp, but was 30. Not a huge deal, but make sure to double check while making your reservation. We were told that the deluxe sites have both once there. Nice store on site, and several big store 5 minute drive away. Location is nice as Emerald Bay is a short drive away, and most attractions are a close drive. Reasonable price for this area. Shuttle Service picks up at this RV Park. We met many very nice RVr's and some stay for most of the summer!That says a lot. We will be going back for sure.

Room Tip: Book well in advance of your trip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
3.1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,128 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
219 reviews
4.3 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
912 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#22 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
234 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Valley Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Valley Campground

Address: 1175 Melba Dr, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7021 (Formerly Tahoe Valley RV Resort)
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £141 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tahoe Valley Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Tahoe Valley Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing