We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place and Nice Staff”

Boathouse On The Pier
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place and Nice Staff”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Went twice to this restaurant during our two day stay at Lake Tahoe. The setting on the pier is brilliant with the most amazing view on the lake, particularly during sunset. Try to get a table on the balcony! Food is of very good quality, reasonably prices and also staff is friendly and attentive. Whole family (2 kids and 2 adults) thoroughly enjoyed it. Highly recommended!

Rob - The Netherlands

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    60
    28
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Lakeview Restaurant”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

After my problems with Riva Grill (see separate review), we decided on this restaurant, on a pier right on the lake. The restaurant is small and does not take reservations. So go early, especially if you are a group of more than 4 persons (we were 7), as all the tables are for 2-4 persons. The delightful hostess, Brianna, allowed us to sit at an elevated table for 8 which was perfect.
With one exception (Ciappino) the food was superb. The filet was large, juicy and very tender; was served with a large portion of mashed potatoes, a rich gravy, and asparagus. The Wild Salmon was also a large portion accompanied by a sauteed medley of vegetables and delicious rice with almonds. The Linguine with shrimp was also tasty and filling. Only the Ciappino failed to impress. Two of our group did not order an entree and doubled up on appetizers. The total bill with drinks, about 3 deserts, and a generous tip was $435.
Devin our server was fantastic--at our table numerous times without being intrusive whatsoever. Both Brianna and Devin rate 5 stars.
Enjoy the restaurant ambience, the magnificent views and sunset, and most importantly the great food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“very pleased”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

the food was so good! the chef was an amazing cook. I enjoyed everything that I ate. I ate at the boat house every night and almost every afternoon that I stayed at the hotel and never got tired of it

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had a group of seven of us and the waiters were super attentive to our varied needs! Most of us had the salmon or chicken picatta, both were great! loved the atmosphere and sunset!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jennybfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Long wait for average food”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a nice little restaurant very near to where we stayed. We arrived before the rush and was told it would be a 20 min wait. about an hour later we were seated. We ordered an appetizer and after about 15-20 mins were told that they were out of one of the ingredients. There was no offer of doing anything to make up for our wait for a dish that was not coming. We ordered and waited another 45 min to get our meals. The food was good but not memorable especially for the price. Some of the plates were cool, not cold but not hot. I guess there was an issue of some sort with the lights in the seating area so there were no lights and only candles to see by. We were told also that they were out of bread but got some later.The wait staff was pleasant but always apologizing for the issues. I do not feel the issues were an issue with the wait staff but the management of the restaurant or the chef. Running out of things is a management function not wait staff. I understand that it was right after 4th of July weekend but it was the middle of the following week. The setup of the restaurant may be part of the issue in that the kitchen is down stairs from the seating area. There are better places to eat for the price per plate.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boathouse On The Pier also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Boathouse On The Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing