We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food-good service”
Review of Nephele's

Nephele's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Nephele's has been a local favorite since 1977. We specialize in fresh fish and fresh game as well as seasonal specialties. Check out our full service bar and extensive wine list!
Iowa, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food-good service”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We arrived just as they were closing the kitchen, but they still accommodated us and treated us very well! The food and wine were really good and the service was fabulous!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim H, Owner at Nephele's, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
That's wonderful to hear! I'll be sure to give the team a shout out for you. Hope to see you in again soon.

Cheers,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    54
    21
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A nice menu with some good choices. Service was average. There is a 10% off coupon in one of the small coupon books placed in our hotel room.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim H, Owner at Nephele's, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
It's a shame to hear we didn't quite win you over, Nancy. Nonetheless, I'm glad you shared your feedback with us. Typically our service is nothing short of impressive -- I hate to think we had an off day when you visited us. I hope you'll decide to give us another shot. We'll be sure to show you what we're all about next time around.

Cheers,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have been to Nephele's twice last fall, so this review is about half a year late. The first time we just stumbled in because we stayed nearby. They were full but kindly offered to sit us outside with a heater (the evening was a little chilly), and we had an absolutely wonderful, essentially private dinner experience. The food was extremely good, the service very pleasant, and the local wine from Amador county both excellent and reasonably priced. On the next trip to Tahoe, about a month later, we booked a table in advance, and, once again, had a fantastic evening. Nephele's is, in my opinion, exactly what Tahoe needs - stylish without overdoing it, excellent food and great local wine. As a comparison point, we certainly enjoyed it much more than Evan's American Cafe, which is more serious about itself, and is by no means mediocre, but food-wise Nephele's compares very well to it, while the service and atmosphere are more relaxed and pleasant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeoR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim H, Owner at Nephele's, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thanks for the good word! I'm delighted to hear we could provide you with the relaxed dining experience you were craving. Next time you're in the area, we hope you stop in for another visit. It's always a pleasure to see you in.

Cheers,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend. Several of us had the shrimp and scallop bisque which was excellent. The scaloppini of pork and the sirloin steak are excellent. Service was top notch. We had the crepes for dessert which I highly recommend. We will definitely come back.

Helpful?
Thank Radtraveler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim H, Owner at Nephele's, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you so much for the excellent review! You've made some tasty recommendations here -- next time you're in, don't forget to try our seafood cheesecake. It's a crowd favorite! Hope to see you in again soon.

Cheers,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dixon, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We really enjoyed the food, especially the seafood cheesecake! We had the wild boar and shared other appetizers.the service was top notch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brigit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim H, Owner at Nephele's, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for the review, Brigit! The Seafood Cheesecake is an excellent choice -- I hope you'll have the chance to sample it again soon.

Cheers,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nephele's also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 

Been to Nephele's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing