We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee shop I've found in the States!”
Review of A Cup Of Cherries

A Cup Of Cherries
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best coffee shop I've found in the States!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This is a modern, quirky, small and friendly coffee shop selling the best coffee we had in 10 day stay in San Francisco/Lake Tahoe area. We also ate breakfast (waffles and pancakes) which were very tasty and thankfully not so surgery, fatty or huge as typical American food. A great place!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    23
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rosemead, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Coffee, Bland Food”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Came here at 8:30 on a weekday; only 1 other customer there when I came in. The cashier was a pleasant young lady, but there was a gentleman behind the counter who looked at me as if I wanted to steal something (maybe ladies in Tahoe don't go outside without their men???) I ordered a double Americano, which was good, and their famous Kahlua French toast. (What's the deal about having to decide the percentage of your tip before you're even served?) It was possibly the blandest French toast I've ever eaten, no trace of Kahlua or any other flavor. Even with the small cup of berry compote and half a pitcher of syrup, it was hard to choke down. Do yourself a big favor and go to Bert's Cafe instead.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mizkwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, CA
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Coffee by the lake”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

It was great to find a great coffee place near the lake. The beans from the local roaster was captivating. Besides the coffee, crepes were also of good quality. The owner, Adolfo, came out to patiently explain about his coffee and take some feedback regarding the poorly visible signboard.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank docLosAltos_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Finally a real coffee shop!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We often find it hard to find decent (to our taste) coffee in the US so were very happy to find this place on our 6 day vacation to South Lake Tahoe. They know how to use an expresso machine and don't burn the coffee or the milk. you can ask for a macchiato or a latte and that's what you get! of course you can order a caramel overloaded sugerfest coffee if that's your thing and no doubt it would be good. food was also excellent, omelettes were light and fluffy. free wi fi

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneysider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect coffee shop”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This was the second coffee shop we tried on our vacation. The first place was scruffy, coffee was only so-so, and the house dog had a nasty habit of putting his nose where it didn't belong. Imagine our relief when we walked into Cherries; clean, bright, great food, great Red Eye! The service wasn't quite friendly but was scrupulously polite. Our breakfasts were tasty and reasonably priced. It's our go-to spot from now on.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lmz18052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Cup Of Cherries also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to A Cup Of Cherries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing