We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine and Yosemite”

Discover Lake Tahoe - Scenic Bus Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$75.00*
and up
El Dorado Wine Country Tour from South Lake Tahoe
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
Lake Tahoe Circle Tour Including Squaw Valley
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Wild West Tour from Lake Tahoe with Train Ride
Ranked #11 of 28 Tours in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Bus Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Lake Tahoe offers scenic bus tours of Lake Tahoe and Beyond. We have a weekly schedule Monday - Tour to San Francisco, Tuesday - Around the Lake Tour, Wednesday - Wine Tour, Thursday - Tour to Virginia city, Thursday - Tour to Yosemite We also offer bus charters for all occasions. Weddings, airport transfers, corporate outings, ski shuttle, etc...
Deltona, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wine and Yosemite”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Had booked two tours w/Discover Lake Tahoe both with John behind the wheel. The wine tasting was fantastic. We were a little nervous because we know very little about wine but the hospitality was over the top so we enjoyed it very much. With John as our guide for the trip to Yosemite we were set for a very comfortable, exciting, and educational day.The lunches were delicious. The bonus was the fresh fruit he provided.
Patti G

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janez12, Owner at Discover Lake Tahoe - Scenic Bus Tours, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time and writing a review and I'm so glad you enjoyed our tours. Hope to see you soon back in Lake Tahoe.

Janez Demsar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    4
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yosemite at its best!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

John, our guide was excellent! He provided a "stream of information" based on his personal experience in the surrounding area. My wife and I felty that we received excellent value for our money!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank louis a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janez12, Owner at Discover Lake Tahoe - Scenic Bus Tours, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time and writing a review. They are so helpful.
Hope to see you back in Lake Tahoe soon.
Janez Demsar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Step back in time.”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Took a drive from Lake Tahoe to Virginia City, Nevada with family and friends and had a wonderful 1/2 day in this quaint little mining town. First thing we did was took the trolley tour which gave us a brief and very entertaining history of the town by Bill, the operator, and created a starting point for wandering the rest of the day. I would definitely return to this town, and stay for an overnight as we just didn't have enough time to see everything. There are some mine tours that were of interest to us, but time didn't allow...make sure if you go you get there early in the day to take in as much as you can. The relatives we were with had been there many years before and told us the changes in the town were all for the better...many more places open and more things to do so they were very impressed at how the town has changed. There are so many little stores to poke around in full of antiques and souvenirs, as well as jewellery stores with some really interesting items. There are a couple of Saloons with slot machines (including one with the old coin operated ones that still give out coins, not a ticket) and of course the Bucket Of Blood Saloon which is well known by many. Best beef jerky we've ever had was bought here too! Lots of history, very entertaining and the local people help make this town very enjoyable. Definitely get there early, or look into staying at a B & B or the hotel they have there for a night. We want to on a return trip one day! Next trip to California/Nevada we will take the time to do it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“virginia city nevada dont miss it”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

we visited virginia city nevad on a driving tour of the national parkks of california nevada and oregon.
Wow what afantqstic place to visit its takes you back to the days of cowboys and indians, and the shotouts on old TV shows, you can really imagine them happening in the bucket of blood saloon etc,
had a genuine drink of original sarsparilla and imagined the card games that wer played on the oriiginal tables there it was realy cool.
dont miss this town as there are so many old and original buildings here you will be amazed, its one real well kept secret.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vozzian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sooke, BC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great day beyond expectations”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

See Marian H's review below. She's captured it perfectly. Going to Yosemite was on the to-do list for over 25 years and John did not disappoint. Great value for money--his knowledge, hospitality and professional driving were much appreciated. Just a perfect day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EastSookeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Discover Lake Tahoe - Scenic Bus Tours also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Discover Lake Tahoe - Scenic Bus Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing