We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two out of Five is Generous”
Review of Emerald Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Emerald Bay Lodge
Ranked #50 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Two out of Five is Generous”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Cute from the outside, nice outside amenities, especially for kids and groups, but since the whole extended family that runs the place seems to live there and hangs out outside their rooms and spends a great deal of their time outside smoking in the ping-pong, pool table, barbecue area it is not very inviting for guests to hang out there or send their kids out there. The family does seem very nice though, and they seem to want to do a good job for their guests, which is why they got a score of 2 instead of 1. We were given what they said was their best room. The basic cleaning was ok but the wide headboard had a thick layer of dust on it. The bathroom was tiny without counter space. No AC and the room was very uncomfortable on this hot early June night even with the ceiling fan--the fan doesn't bring in any outside air, and there was no breeze this night. It could be difficult to leave the window open anyway with all the smoke outside. When I turned down the bed I discovered a disgusting looking stain on the sheet. It smelled like it had been laundered so I decided to just turn the sheet around and put the stain down by our feet. When I peeled back the covers, I found a 2-foot diameter coffee stain at the bottom, and it still smelled like coffee. Thus had to go out to the smokers and get them to bring clean sheets at 10:30 at night. They had already given a small discount due to trouble with their credit card billing but they didn't offer any additional discount for this disgusting problem. The king size mattress was in good shape and the place was fairly quite at night. I might consider staying there again if I checked the room thoroughly first but I would try other nearby lodging if I had a choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westerntravelwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    8
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
8
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The reservation was for a handicapped room. When we arrived I was told they had overbooked and no handicapped room was available. We had to take a regular double but they did provide a stool for the tub. The people were friendly and did all they could to accommodate us. After the first night, the room was not made up and new towels were not brought until we contacted the front desk. My advise to someone who is look to stay at this motel is DON'T.

Room Tip: Be sure to look at the room before you book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Bishop, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Right on highway 89, easy to find, good variety of choices to eat nearby, clean, old fashioned motel room.
Thin walls, but that didn't seem to be a problem in our stay.
Our small room had a tv, microwave and fridge, coffee maker, small table and a chair. Weather permitting, each room has a table and chairs available outside the door.
What got us to stay here was that they are pet friendly, a room was available and they had an affordable rate. No extra charge for our excellently well trained furry kid.
The weather was cold, so we had to use the heater. It worked very well.
An immaculate pool which we didn't get to use is on site. Recreational equipment like bikes and kayaks are available to rent. A nice small grassy park is whimsical.
Organic toiletries are offered. Yeah!
The mattress was adequate and we both slept well. The blanket style bedspread was charming.
Service was friendly, and we were checked in with a smile.
While not 5 star, it served our needs for a room, and for what was offered, we were happy for the night and the price.
Delivered what we expected.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yippyiay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

As others have pointed out, this place isn't luxurious, but it was sufficient. The owners seem to really try to make it as nice as possible. I liked that they used quilts instead of those nasty bedspreads at most cheap motels, and the breakfast pastries were fresh from a local bakery - very nice! We got the best rate by phone when I called 4 days before our trip. Only one hitch: when we arrived to check in, he couldn't find my reservation. Finally located it and the person who booked it made for 2 nights a WEEK later. He was about to tell me they were booked, but then said he had a cancellation for our one night, so we got a different room and a $20 discount. He also pointed out that room 17 has an air conditioner and not all of them do. So you'll definitely want to ask about that when you book if it's going to be warm in Tahoe.

We chose this motel because it's close to the bike path to ride up to Camp Richardson and the historic parks. They also are lucky to have restaurants in walking distance - Alpina is a great little coffee and breakfast place, the Irish pub looked like a happening place Friday night, there's a Mexican cantina nearby, and the Burger Lounge across the street from the motel is fantastic.

Things to be aware of before booking here: mostly queen sized beds, and ours was kind of hard and had a weird hill on one side; thin walls and without an A/C you'll have to keep your window open to the noise of the parking area; maybe because it was warm or a lot of younger people stay here, there seemed to be a lot of people still outside kind of late. They weren't obnoxious, but just talking and such. Because of its age, the heater is the wall type that will likely be noisy in the winter. It's not close to the lake; you'll have to drive, walk, or ride bikes (but they do rent bikes and kayaks for only $20 a day!).

Bottom line: when other area motels are charging $180 for a peak summer night, you can get a room here for closer to $100 - if you want simple accommodations, it's worth a try.

Room Tip: Ask for air conditioning if it's a warm summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

As long as you are don't need luxury, this is the best deal in South Lake Tahoe. The motel is located about 2 miles from Camp Richardson and the Beacon which is a great place to hang out, listen to music and enjoy the spectacular lake. The rooms at the motel are small but they are clean and functional. There is a small swimming pool, ping pong table and outdoor firepit which is nice for evening get-togethers. My only complaint is that the lights outside each room are on all night and there are no 'black-out' curtains on the windows.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorCal50Something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Bear in mind I'm not saying this is a five-star hotel (obviously), but for the money this place was legit. As a student I'm usually scraping the bottom of the piggy bank to do anything other than sleep and study.

Girlfriend and I came up to Tahoe for New Years this time around. As usual she took a while to get ready, and we were already driving up from the bay area. Finally she comes out and announces she's ready to go, and we head out around 7 PM.

We get to the Pine Cone Acre about quarter to 11 on Dec 30th. It was late as hell. Luckily, the neon sign said open and the lights were still on. Unluckily, the service window was closed and there wasn't a soul around. We knocked but there was no answer.

Losing hope we called the phone and left a message, telling them we were outside.

Success! A sleepy looking dude comes to the window and says that if we were two minutes later he wouldn't have heard the call. I think he was just being polite and got had just gotten out of bed and put on a friendly face to help out a couple young people get a warm bed. He was a nice guy, very informative and helpful. He told us that the place was full of college kids attending SnowGlobe and we let him know that was our agenda as well.

Room was clean and cozy. Heater was off the chain and the shower water was instantly warm. I don't go on vacation to watch TV, but if that's your thing they have all your usual cable channels. Wifi reception was strong, no problems there. No fridge, but that was the only downside.

We had unfortunately already booked another hotel for the next couple nights (long story) and lamented that we had to leave the great Pine Cone Acre.

The only reason I can think of why the rates are low is because not too many people know about it. It's past the right turn folks take onto Lake Tahoe Boulevard off of Highway 50. But in terms of location my GF and I had no complaints.

I'll be staying here every time I come to Tahoe.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Our family of 5 stayed here one night en route to Yosemite from Sacramento. Location was good and we stayed above the motel office in a family room that could sleep 6. Room was basic but comfy with modern en suite bathroom. Aircon was noisy and ineffective though. Proximity to restaurants was good. We chose the nearby Mexican which was really good and very popular with locals. Pool was a little small and too full of children for us to use.Not bad for the money though.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cream_Crackered_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
2.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
831 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tahoe Valley Lodge
Tahoe Valley Lodge
#36 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
21 reviews
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#41 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tahoe Cottage Inn
Tahoe Cottage Inn
#7 of 17 in South Lake Tahoe
4 reviews
0.8 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#32 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
54 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tahoe Keys Resort
Tahoe Keys Resort
#70 of 119 in Lake Tahoe (California)
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Bay Lodge

Property: Emerald Bay Lodge
Address: 735 Emerald Bay Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6500 (Formerly Pine Cone Acre Motel)
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Bay Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our recently renovated rooms were designed with you in mind. We offer all the amenities needed to feel right at home. Located just a short drive from beautiful Emerald Bay, one of the most photographed spots in the world. Maybe you have come to take advantage of our hiking trails, bike paths, ski slopes, beaches, night life, Lake Tahoe has it all. If you prefer a much slower pace what better place, surrounded by pine trees you can rest, relax and rejuvenate here at Emerald Bay Lodge.  The absolute best Personal Care Amenities  Flat panel TVs  Free Wi-Fi access  Microwave and fridge  Kitchenette units available  Daily housekeeping service  Complimentary bike use (summer season)  Breakfast basket, filled with yummy treats  Pet friendly Upscale amenities, quiet location and personalized service make Emerald Bay Lodge the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Emerald Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Cone Acre Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing