We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alder Inn
Nearby Hotels
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Americana Village(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Azure(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Landing Resort & Spa(South Lake Tahoe)
US$363
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stardust Lodge(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (847)
Filter reviews
847 results
Traveller rating
619
195
28
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
619
195
28
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubred hutski rundecorated differentlywine glasseskeurig coffee makerping pong tablewithin walking distancegreat place to staywould definitely stay here againquiet locationceiling fanthe main draglocation is greatmini fridgeshort drivebed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
501 - 506 of 847 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The rooms were very clean and I instantly felt at home. Taylor booked my room and she was very courteous,accommodating,and overall an awesome person! About 20 minute walk from the lake, definitely a must stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jake024d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsromine, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for your stay and for your great review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and the attentive detail Taylor gives our guests! Our location is a good aspect of our hotel...in fact, we are actually just about a 5 minute walk to the closest point of the lake!
Hope to see you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We absolutely loved the charm and ambience of this little hotel off the beaten path. The owners have renovated it and have taken great care to all of the little details and amenities. We loved everything about this treasure in the hustle bustle of the hotel world. We were treated like real people that really mattered and our comfort and happiness was at the forefront of this very well run hotel. The staff was friendly and management excellent. We arrived before ck in time and they made sure that they had a room ready for us to put our things in so it didn't have to stay in the car all day. GREAT TREASURE, peaceful and will definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fame12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and I planned a trip to Lake Tahoe for our anniversary. We were staying at the Alder Inn once more as this has become our " go to" place in S. Lake Tahoe. My wife became quite ill with an inner ear infection and at the last minute we had to cancel our reservations expecting to pay for the 2 nights in full. However, when we spoke to Spence he was completely understanding and offered to refund us or move our reservation to a later time. What a cool humane guy....we ended up going a few days later as my wife felt better. The whole transaction was handled smoothly and we stayed in a beautiful room with wonderful amenities and a peaceful, restorative vibe. This experience renewed our faith in the kind of conscientious service one rarely receives in the world anymore. I highly recommend the Alder Inn!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsromine, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for your kind words. It is extremely nice of you to say all that, but I was just trying to err on the side of common sense. I am glad it worked out for the two of you to come and I am looking forward to having you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed a couple of nights in October and although it was between seasons, the inn was at capacity. Rooms are clean and tastefully theme decorated. Had mountain bikes that were free to use and we enjoyed them. The pool was not open as it was cool and we didn't use the hot tub as it was a little too out in the open for my taste. The staff was very friendly and helpful and suggested things to do and places to eat. The power did go out for about a half hour one morning, so we had to get ready in the dark, but this wasn't the hotel's fault as the power went out in a larger area then just this hotel. All the rooms appeared to be similar in size and I don't think there is one room location better than another. It is in walking distance to restaurants, bike paths, hiking and shops which is very convenient. There isn't a fitness center or restaurant on the premises. Unfortunately, we were not told there was a small continental breakfast set up in the checkin area so went out to breakfast at the restaurant they recommended each day and then the day we checked out I saw that there was a breakfast set up in the checkin area. I would have appreciated it if they told us that when we checked in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLover46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed here for a few nights in mid-October and was really pleased with this hotel. Our room was accessible, clean, and very nicely decorated (had a forest theme). The rooms have clearly been updated in the last few years and it really shows. It was in a great location - walking distance to dozens of restaurants and shops. The front desk manager (unclear if he was the owner) was very nice and even provided us a map to local hiking trails. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsromine, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for your review and, more importantly, for staying with us! So glad you see us as an affordable spot to stay in Tahoe. The main thing we set out to do is to provide affordable lodging in Tahoe where guests feel like they got their money's worth! Please do keep us in mind next time you are in Tahoe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews