We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, Clean Rooms in Lake Tahoe”
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alder Inn
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cute, Clean Rooms in Lake Tahoe”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Would like to give it 4 1/2 stars for great budget lodging in Tahoe. An older motel that’s been updated with very cute rooms/decor, but a few things were not updated (the Formica bathroom sink for example). Very clean rooms with super-comfy, soft sheets and flat screen TV’s. The heater worked well. Friendly staff. Driving or biking distance to the casino area, but in a nice quiet neighborhood with some restaurants in walking distance. We took an evening stroll down the street and it was very nice, quiet and beautiful. Good value…would definitely stay here again while in Tahoe.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelOn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    188
    29
    5
    0
See reviews for
146
475
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LINDEN
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We went to Tahoe on a whim and picked the Adler out of a travel book. What a choice. It was the off season but we got great rooms for very reasonable rates. Each room is an individual decor. Great beds and coverings. If you have a "honey" and looking for a quaint, clean and cozy place call the Adler. If you come in a little later you may find your keys in the box on the door of the office but a person is right nearby at a second set of units. Very close to the actions but not in it.

Room Tip: Try the King rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BOMAN3672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this nice little motel over the weekend. My wife and I love the little touches in the room. All of the rooms have an individual motif. Very friendly staff. Close to Tahoe attractions and casinos. Comfortable beds and nice bathrobes. All in all a wonderful stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff12898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were here yesterday and we just loved our stay. Everything was walked including the lake. As we stayed for a day we couln't utilize the bike and hot tub.

We got complimentary weekend breakfast and found that although the office staff are not present 24/7 they do come if they get a call.

There was emergen- c and breathing strip.The temparature was so cold that we had to use them.We loved the coffee, the cozy room no. 6. The heater kept the temparature perfect for us.
I also liked the wide bath tub.

It seemed everything is placed to make you feel comfy,the nice cozy sofa, decorative items and even cute iron stool in the toilet area.

Hot tub is out in open near swimming pool but I think there should have been an outdoor fireplace there.

Room Tip: we were in room 6 and we liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyoti83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I was so impressed with the Alder Inn when I was there last month. I stayed in room 10 which was conveniently located next to the pool & amazing hot tub. My room was decorated darling, and I really felt at home. Nicole, the girl who was responsible for cleaning my room did a fantastic job! I wear flip flops in the shower at the hilton, but I had no problem walking barefoot all over the Alder Inn. I was SO impressed and will be coming back for another weekend. I won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaitlynwarnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Alder Inn is a lovely hotel. Only stayed one night but wished it was a longer visit. The small touches in the room were a nice surprise that even four star hotels do not provide. The room was spotless and the décor is some of the best décor in a hotel we have ever seen. Andrew and Taylor (co-managers) were very friendly and exceptionally helpful. Our first getaway as a couple and we are so glad we chose the Alder Inn. We will be back very soon. We are already planning a weekend in June.
Plus they have free bikes for guest use as long as they are not all checked out already !
Sincerely
Darren and Laura

Room Tip: Don't choose this room because I want it available. But, the Audrey Hepburn room is awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were traveling up to South Lake Tahoe for only one night and looking for a decently priced hotel. This hotel is in a renovated motel style and it is very charming! Each room is decorated in a different style, and from what I can tell they are all tastefully done. We stayed in an upstairs "zebra" room and it was adorable. The staff was extremely nice and the location is amazing. After a long day of adventuring around Tahoe we were able to come back to the hotel, relax for a bit, and then walk to dinner down the street. Perfect. Our ONLY complaint is that the building is older and thus the walls are VERY thin. I mean, very very very thin! We could hear everything going on in the room next door at all hours of the night, if you know what I mean. If we had requested to be moved, I am sure the staff would have done so without a problem but we didn't think the hassle would be worth it. Overall, this was a great deal and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try and request a room away from other guests to avoid hearing everything they do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caitlame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
939 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,073 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
421 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
859 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Property: Alder Inn
Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing