We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome family vacation ever!”
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alder Inn
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome family vacation ever!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had the best time. We hardly left the hotel. My family and I are very high maintenance, and everything we needed was done with a smile.Very clean. I usually pack my own sheets from home but I didnt even have to unpack them.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosebudchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    188
    29
    5
    0
See reviews for
149
480
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

If you are going to Tahoe in the off season, there are better hotels in town. However, when the prices SKYROCKET then this is a great place to stay. No AC, no phone. The decor has a DIY feel but everything is reasonably clean and the color design is great. The pool and hot tub are nice. Free bikes. The office person provided outstanding service.

This is an older hotel that has been renovated.

The office is NOT 24 hours. I did notice a "late arrival" box.

The location is just fine and is within walking distance to restaurants, beach, and the non-casino fun.

Room Tip: You might want a room on the second level. You can hear people walking on the second floor when in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Californiyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night and was delighted with the accomodation. Clean rooms decorated very eclectically. Especially enjoyed the chaise lounge in my room. Pool area was very nice and the location made it possible to walk to the restaurant for dinner and breakfast.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed only one night but had a great experience at this hotel. Pros: the room is very clean. Staff is courteous, great location, just 3 minutes walk from the lake or main street, reasonable rate ($99/night). Cons: there're no air conditioner and telephone. However, the weather in Lake Tahoe is usually cool in the summer time. The temperature was in the 50s at night when we were there so having no AC wasn't a big deal. If you have cell phone you probably don't need a landline phone either.

Room Tip: Open the window while you're going out so it wouldn't be stuffy or too hot when you return t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vancac N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turlock, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My niece had her wedding at Tahoe, and some of us stayed at Alder Inn. We had 4 rooms and they all looked nice, it's a small hotel, but, it's close to everything, we walked to nearby restaurants, and the Casinos are a few minutes away.

It was a lot of fun, as I was leaving, I apologized for the noise, we are a big Portuguese family and with my niece getting dressed and everything, it was a ruckus. All the other guests took it really well, and I was informed that nobody complained.

We, old fogy's went to the Casinos, and the young adults enjoyed themselves at the pool. sometimes I wonder who had it better.
The kids enjoyed the pool and the hot tub, and I believe a budding romance was started there,
they basically had to be dragged out of there, as they stayed pass closing time. [not really, but almost.]
This will be the hotel we will be staying on future visits to Lake Tahoe. It's small, convenient, and the people are great. I will recommend them to all our friends,

Thank You, Alder Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lino S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were two married couples staying at the Alder Inn. All of us loved it. It is decorated to perfection, extremely clean and very close to the water - you can walk there. An added touch were the free bicycles you could borrow and my female friend took advantage of this kind offer. She rode for hours and had a great time. It looks a little like a motel but once you open the door and go inside I'm sure you will appreciate the time and effort taken to make this place more than just a room.

Our friends were in room 16 and we were in room 19. Both these rooms are on the ground floor. I can't speak for the other rooms but if you take one of these I'm sure you'll be happy with it.

Room Tip: Both rooms 19 and 16 are great and on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flossygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Staying at the Alder Inn felt like staying in a guest room in a friend's house. The decorations were cute and the room had way more personality than big chain hotels. The location to the Alder Inn is excellent. We walked to dinner and down to the lake.
The only negatives: the bathroom could use some updating. The walls seemed pretty thin but everyone was quiet after 10 p.m. so we had no trouble sleeping.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank minipenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,006 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
433 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
889 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Property: Alder Inn
Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing