We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Tahoe Stay”
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alder Inn
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lake Tahoe Stay”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a very nice and accommodating Hotel, they tended to my every need for my short stay. It is conveniently located and there is nothing the staff will not do for you. The manager Taylor went out of her way to make sure my stay was excellent. They even allowed me to check out a hour late so that I would not have to wait a extra hour at the airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanner F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    188
    29
    5
    0
See reviews for
149
479
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Was very nice. the pool and spa were immaculate and warm. The front desk clerk, Ashley, was very helpful and informative. Beautiful quiet location. Off the beaten path with wonderful pines. I would go back again.

Room Tip: All rooms easy to get to from parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The bed was out of this world comfy and the location is brilliant. Literally 3 minute walk from the beach and small shops. Has on sight parking for free and free wifi. To improve the place it needs air con as it gets very warm and takes til midnight to cool the room.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ShaneO358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Recently we stayed at the Alder Inn at Ski Run Blvd, South Lake Tahoe. This was a very nice inn almost in the center of town, well run by friendly people. It just happened to be during the "Hot August Nights" in So. Lake Tahoe and part of the car show was directly across our hotel. It was fun walking around seeing pre-1976 classic cars and being able to walk to several restaurants and the lake all nearby. The rates were very reasonable for South Lake Tahoe, and the rooms were very clean. They offered a swimming pool, courtsey bikes, and a free continental breakfast of coffee and rolls/muffins/bagels.

Room Tip: This would also be a great place to stay for winter skiing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenchoCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We checked in July 29th and planned to stay a full 6 nights there. The rooms decor is very nice. We were very happy with what they offer for that, coffee mugs, glasses, and wine glasses. However, the cleaning service was terrible. All they do is make your bed. The entire week they didn't change the sheets or wash any of the cups. They hung up our coffee mugs with left over coffee still inside. So if you don't mind spending over 150 a night (depending on the season)and are OK with doing all the cleaning yourself then this place is ok. I tend to expect cleanliness when I spend almost 200 dollars a night at a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieLack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Alder Inn appears to have been merely a motel at one time. But during the past year or so, the new owners did some updating to the rooms and surrounding grounds. We had the Audrey Hepburn-themed room, which was very nicely decorated. The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms were a nice size, and there was a small refrigerator and microwave in the room. There was even a Keurig hot-drink maker. On the negative side, there were no drawers to put clothing, no safe, and no air conditioning. There was a box fan in the room, but no electrical outlet close by so it could be plugged in near the window. (The rooms on the second floor appeared to have ceiling fans.) On the plus side, there was a nice pool and hot whirlpool outside, just feet away. Also, the location is perfect, near the public beach, restaurants and not far from the casinos. We usually stay at one of the large resorts when in South Lake Tahoe, but because our activities kept us out most of the day, Alder Inn was a good place to hang out and get a good night's rest. I'd definitely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have ceiling fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have to say for a little local inn, Alder is absolutely adorable and charming. The location is perfect. It is walking and driving distance from everything (lake, restaurants, casino, gondola, shops, etc.).

The price was right and I found the decor and space to be just what we needed. They also have a pool/hot tub outside. Not big, but just the right size and also free bikes (that we unfortunately did not have time to utilize).

Like I said for the price and what they offer, I would definitely recommend Alder Inn and I would definitely go back there!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cinnabun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,003 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
432 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
889 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Property: Alder Inn
Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing