We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$145
Hotels.comUS$145
PricelineUS$141
Agoda.comUS$141
CheapTicketsUS$145
TravelocityUS$145
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (936)
Filter reviews
936 results
Traveller rating
684
215
30
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
684
215
30
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski run little extras location is great few blocks heavenly ski resort motel tahoe lake skiing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 936 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights in August and found it to be a fantastic place to stay. Having windows to open to let the cool mountain air in at night was lovely. The room came equipped with a basket full of lovely white towels. We made use of the BBQ which I have to say is a fabulous addition to this property, and there is a good sized Safeway store a short distance away. Massive credit to the owners who have created a very welcoming and comfortable residence in South Lake Tahoe

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thealderinn, Manager at Alder Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Our room was on a corner on the second floor. Very clean and quiet.
The sink is independent of the toilet and shower.
The sleeping area has an overhead fan, no a.c. but with the fan, it's not needed
WIFI works very well.

We loved the pool and spa. Played bocce, table tennis and darts. We did not get to play horseshoes or hoops. That would have been fun.
They also have bicycles to use.

It's in a great location with great meal options with walking distance.

Alder Inn will be our go our go-to place in South Lake Tahoe.

We also booked directly from the Alder Inn's website, I think we saved some money.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geordino
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thealderinn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Thank you for the review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Alder Inn and were able to enjoy some of the amenities! We look forward to your next stay.
Michael and Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Great Inn in a very central location. Easy walk to marina and restaurants. Staff was very helpful with dining suggestions and "insider" tips for activities. The rooms each had unique fun themes. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Quaker_Nation
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thealderinn, Manager at Alder Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

Thank you for your great review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at the Alder Inn.We were pleasantly surprised at how close we were to everything.We were only a few blocks from our daughters house and 2 blocks from the lake, and our favorite place to eat and get ice cream.
The best part was very friendly and accommodating owners. Our room was cleaned daily and we had a mini fridge, coffee pot, & microwave.The pool &hot tub were perfect for us and our visiting grandkids! We will for sure be staying there again.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thealderinn, Manager at Alder Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

We are so glad you and your family had a good time. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Getting to South Lake Tahoe from Southern California has gotten much easier since Jet Blue has opened a daily flight to Reno. After landing and taking the 75 minute South Lake Tahoe shuttle ($29 a person), you arrive in one of the nicer resort cities in California (without driving the 8.5 hours from LA).

My recommendation for accommodations starts and ends with the Alder Inn. A very clean, comfortable hotel with some of the nicest owners I have ever met. Michael and Laura are very helpful in giving out directions and advice and just plain shooting the breeze.

The hotel has a very large, warm hot tub and a swimming pool. Also, ping pong, a bocce ball court, basketball, horse shoes, and the best, bikes to rent for free.

I can't wait to come back to South Lake Tahoe and relax and enjoy this amazing hotel. Keep up the great work Michael and Laura!

Room tip: 2nd floor would be good for less floor noise.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trontroland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thealderinn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

Thank you for your kind words! We work hard at making sure our guests have everything they need and more at a reasonable price. We hope to see you back again soon.
Michael and Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews