We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Landing Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The family and I spend one weekend every winter in Lake Tahoe to ski and enjoy each other. We decided to try this new hotel and see for ourselves if the property was truly five-star. We were greeted upon arrival by a valet attendant and bellman who proceeded to help us with our luggage, snow gear and car. The front desk was very knowledgeable and checked us in without a flaw. The glass of champagne (for us) and bottled water for the children was very thoughtful as well. The rooms were amazing and also adjoining so we could keep an eye on our "Xbox gamer kids". The kids were also in heaven due to the heated/lit toilets and the "over the top" Flat screen TV's. Our views of the lake were breathtaking!
I am happy we went "out on a limb" and tried this true gem. The price was fair and the service was spot on.

We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Get the Premium Lake Front!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
There are newer reviews for The Landing Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

945 - 951 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

My family and I stayed at the Landing for a weekend! They did an amazing job renovating - just opened a few weeks! Customer service was fabulous! Very boutique feel. Rooms were clean and well furnished. Beds very comfy, valet to deal with scraping our car windows and warming up car! Close to village with a shuttle. Food was fantastic and view of lake priceless! We will definitely be back next time without kids so we can enjoy the spa! This is far better than casinos around the corner- beautiful property!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Cheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here for a week in January 2014 and had a truly exceptional stay. The location is perfect, right on the beach, our room and the bar/restaurant had a direct view of Lake Tahoe and the complementary shuttle is a short ride to the Village Gondola and restaurants, but why leave as the hotel Bar and Restaurant are wonderful, we highly recommend Jacob's wine tasting at 4.30 each day and Maria's food whether breakfast or dinner is delicious. We had breakfast all 7 days and can highly recommend the eggs and the fresh muesli, for dinner fish of the day was sublime as was the Wagyu Ribeye was 'The best steak I have ever eaten'. The rooms are luxurious with very comfortable beds, fireplaces and even heated toilet seats. The hot tub and pool were lovely and the luxurious bathrobes make it extra special. The best thing about this hotel however are the staff, their professionalism, friendly and helpful approach to their work and their insider knowledge of the Lake Tahoe area makes your stay here 'Heavenly'. The head Chef and General manager knew our names and took time out to speak to us, this is their personal touch. If you don't stay here you will miss out, we will definitely be back. The hotel is also well set up for people with disabilities, our room was fully Disabled Access as were the public areas and the Hot Tub and Pool, we were very impressed with the thought that had gone into this.

Room Tip: Lake Tahoe is beautiful at all times of day so if you can get a lake view room it will add something...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LePatioDordogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The rooms and decor are beautiful, but it's pretty obvious what this place used to be.
The elevator was out of order during our stay. The steam feature in our shower didn't work. Our "premium" room shared a wall with the mechanical room, and the elevator. 2 giant water heaters were literally behind our bed. The sound of these kicking on and off all night was enough to wake us up, and vibrate the beds. We know about this room, because the door was wide open.
We are thankful that the elevator was not working, or we would also have to listen to that all night.
I guess sound proofing material between the walls was not in the budget.
To make our stay that much more special, our phone rang at 11:30 at night. It was someone from room service asking if we ordered 6 California rolls. When I explained that I had no idea what he was talking about, he accused me of lying to him. After quite an exchange he hung up on me.
It was unbelievable. When you pay $400 for a room, you expect it to at least be quiet, and the staff to be a bit more professional.
I'll stick with Harvey's. I have yet to be disappointed in them.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank sugarsmack11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Acting on a recommendation from a friend, we visited the Landing Resort& Spa recently. The most beautiful location in South Shore by far!
Luxurious accommodations , stellar service, to die for views of Lake Tahoe. As an added bonus we visited the on site restaurant, Jimmy's.
OMG! Comfort, luxury, views, oh, yes, over the top food. An absolute foodies delight!
And the wine list is on a par with any of the highly rated restaurants we visited in NY.,S.F, and Chicago.The list is very well thought out to compliment the menu. The translucent agate wall in the bar, the Lake views, the food, and luxurious rooms!If you want a real treat at one of the most beautiful spots in America, Lake Tahoe,visit the Landing Resort, and Jimmy's.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

It was the best experience ever! I was so excited when I arrived to a new property! Of course everything was pristine as they had just opened. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the level of customer service and attention to detail. When I arrived, the valet and bellmen were helpful and sincerely kind. The check in process was smooth and the lobby was inviting. The rooms were awesome-In the bathroom there are heated floors and towel racks as well as a toilet seat warmer! Plush robes and a jet tub rounded out the experience. The decor was warm and everything was comfortable- loved the Keurig too. I had views of the lake off of our private balcony that were spectacular. I was able to dine in their restaurant event though it had just opened...excellent food and service- the bar is incredible. Overall the experience at The Landing was exemplary and will have me coming back there again- I can't wait to visit their spa and salon next trip!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel overcame our expectations. New hotel but everything works perfectly. The staff is very kind. Spacious rooms with great appliances. Good internet connections.
Just 5 min drive to the gondola and the Lake Tahoe Village which is pretty nice. The view from the rooms is excellent (lake tahoe and mountains)

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank FLR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.5 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,087 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,092 reviews
1.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
456 reviews
21.9 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landing Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing Resort & Spa

Address: 4104 Lakeshore Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £157 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Landing Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe's Newest Boutique Hotel The Landing Resort & Spa offers Lake Tahoe’s finest accommodations and highest service levels. Discerning travelers will appreciate the hotel’s thoughtful amenities, lively personality, and contemporary European design. Commanding a prime waterfront location, all guestrooms feature stone fireplaces, and many afford spectacular lake views. We invite you to experience Tahoe’s newest resort, and look forward to sharing our genuine Mountain Hospitality with you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Landing Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing