We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Paradice Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paradice Motel
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Thornton, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I have traveled extensively in the last few years and have never met more gracious and friendly people as the owners and staff at this motel. Super clean and homey is the best way to describe the room. The room was perfect with welcome message, fruit, water and turndown service with chocolate on the pillow ! They went out of their way to help us find the best way to Las Vegas. The young man at the desk even printed out the directions for us. All of this and a great location. It was a short walk to Harvey's for our concert, another short walk to breakfast and grocery store. Stay here! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanabear2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    62
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
88
162
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

we found this place through trip advisor and everything that was said about it is true. the owners are fabulous and really want to make your stay great. they also know of the best out of the way places to eat like Jimenez that is just around the corner. great $1.00 tacos. the room was nice too. We were greated with a fruit plate and then later chocolates on the bed. We stayed in the wheel chair accessible room and it did meet my husbands needs, something we don't find often even when we request it. So overall I would definitely stay here again. close to the main drag but small and personal feeling to it. Avoid the big hotels and feel at home here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here over the labor day weekend. From the start to the end the experience was outstanding.

We were driving early from the bay area, so we called and asked if we could do an early check in. The person on the line said he'd call if a room becomes available. We didn't expect much, but one hour away from Tahoe he called and said the room is available! I truly didn't expect that he'd note this down and actually follow up on this.

When we reached, we asked how we should plan our trip and Kathy was super useful and gave us a good itinerary on what to do (hikes, lakes to visit, timing etc).

The room itself was comfortable and well appointed. As others have noted, there are nice small touches like a personal welcome note, chocolates and other goodies left each night. There is no AC but there is a nice quiet portable fan which does the job. The bathroom is large and clean, and the fixtures look quite new and updated.

The hotels location is great. Its a block away from the Heavenly resort, and the Marriot hotel, which has tons of restaurants and bars. Its also a few blocks away from a private beach. As an FYI, the hotel can give you a free pass for the beach.

Kathy was also very helpful in giving us food recommendations. She provided great alternatives, and also called and made reservations for us. They have coffee and pastries for breakfast, along with great conversation. The owners also have amazingly cute dogs, who we could not get enough of. Every morning during breakfast, we'd go get coffee and some pastries and then cuddle with the dogs, with all of us sitting down on the floor of the reception.

Overall, I couldn't find a fault with this place. The hotel and location is great, but the service is even better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moss_toss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohegan Lake, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Paradice Motel for 4 nights in August 2013!!! It was an amazing experience for us!!! We were celebrating our 37 year wedding anniversary. Kathy and Tai were unbelievable. They greeted us like we were family! When we went to our beautiful room they had a note welcoming us on the bulletin board with fresh flowers, chocolate kisses and wine with 2 glasses!!! The room was beautifully decorated and extremely clean. They recommended fantastic restaurants and great activities to do!!! Each night we returned they had another beverage, chocolate kisses and wine. When we left we felt like we were leaving family!! They gave us water for the trip home!! They are incredible people! The last night we met Uwe! We loved them all!!! Estee & Steve

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great family run business with people who care. A small motel that has been updated. the property is in a fantastic location walking distance, 3 blocks to the beach on the quiet California side , but close enough to state line to walk to the casinos and entertainment. The staff provided local tips based on local knowledge that helped us find great local haunts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nebraskaborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Owners and son were excellent, very informative, room was great, little extra like fruit, sweets etc
Extremely informative regarding local area,supplied beach pass, never even asked
Glad to share cuddles with their dogs
Even supplied "goody bag" when we left, excellent all round service

Room Tip: Just book cannot find any faults :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essex999999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, WI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Paradice is a great motel. The owner greated us warmly, answered our questions about restaurant recommendations and even made the reservation for us as we settled into our room. It was so fun to walk in to our room and find a personalized "welcome" note on a small black board on the wall. Wrapped candies on our pillow and fruit on the shelves were fun added touches. The owner also helped us with general California information and after talking with him, we made slight changes to our route that were fantastic. We appreciated his interest and added helpfulness. Although the hotel is an older building, it was impeccably clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#24 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avalon Lodge
Avalon Lodge
#42 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#20 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alder Inn
Alder Inn
#3 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradice Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradice Motel

Property: Paradice Motel
Address: 953 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6939
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#15 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paradice Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and recently remodeled and revamped, Paradice Motel is now Lake Tahoe's premier boutique motel. We are centrally located in the heart of all the action in South Lake Tahoe. Just a block from the base of the Heavenly Gondola, two blocks from one of Lake Tahoe's finest private beaches and three blocks from Stateline and the casinos, the Paradice Motel is truly paradise found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Paradice Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradice Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Paradice Motel Lake Tahoe
Paradice Hotel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing