We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Lake Tahoe Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paradice Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paradice Motel
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“South Lake Tahoe Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I recently spent three nights at the Paradice Motel and were delighted with our experience. Our room was neat and clean, and though not luxurious it was perfectly comfortable and conveniently located for our daily excursions. The reason for the five star rating, however, is the owner Kathy. She's worthy of 10 stars but that's not an option in this review. Each day at breakfast she'd give us insider advice on where to go, what to do, and the best places for fine dining. Kathy steered us right every single time! We never would have located Edgewood with it's lovely dining room on the lake without her guidance nor would we have visited Primos which offers the BEST Italian food we've ever had (including some high priced 'famous" places in San Francisco!) If you need lodging in South Lake Tahoe Paradice is the only place to go!

Room Tip: We had a king room on the second floor and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarGuru51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    59
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
89
155
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

My five star rating may not be your five star rating. Just a short walk to the Stateline and Raley's shopping center off Hiway 50. It's not the most spacious or beautiful room with a view. It was perfect, clean and safe. Comfy bed with lots of comfy pillows. Clean as a whistle. Chalkboard note in our room: 'welcome ______ party!" 4 hershey kisses and a bottle of perrier at the bedsides. large tasteful book/knick-knack shelf with a variety of tasteful objects. Two nice fresh and clean wine glasses. Room basic, wall heater, windows clean and bright, and yes, old venetian blinds. Yes, I could hear the motorcyclists leave. Otherwise, all was quiet. No extreme safety measures needed. Closet with a few hangers. A chair to sit. Cable. One-person size shower with strong water pressure and loads of hot water. Very clean and tidy. NO phone in the room! Awesome. Owners go out of their way to help. Gave us great leads for tasty places to eat, off the tourist and upper class path. I will definitely stay there again when I'm in South Shore. Thanks Ulf and Kathy.....You define the word 'service'.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband and I came to Lake Tahoe on the third weekend of September. We were welcomed by the owner who immediately made us feel at home. Based on the purpose (vacation) and length (2 nights) of our trip, she offered great recommendations on activities, places to see, and restaurants. The room was spotless and comfortable. The greeting message, the fruits, water, and chocolate were nice touches. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We booked this hotel on the spur of the moment on a recent road trip to the USA. It was a good experience! The owners were very friendly, the rooms were clean and pleasant. The morning cup of tea one of the best in the states (we are English!). Would recommend it to one and all!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valkal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I have traveled extensively in the last few years and have never met more gracious and friendly people as the owners and staff at this motel. Super clean and homey is the best way to describe the room. The room was perfect with welcome message, fruit, water and turndown service with chocolate on the pillow ! They went out of their way to help us find the best way to Las Vegas. The young man at the desk even printed out the directions for us. All of this and a great location. It was a short walk to Harvey's for our concert, another short walk to breakfast and grocery store. Stay here! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanabear2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

we found this place through trip advisor and everything that was said about it is true. the owners are fabulous and really want to make your stay great. they also know of the best out of the way places to eat like Jimenez that is just around the corner. great $1.00 tacos. the room was nice too. We were greated with a fruit plate and then later chocolates on the bed. We stayed in the wheel chair accessible room and it did meet my husbands needs, something we don't find often even when we request it. So overall I would definitely stay here again. close to the main drag but small and personal feeling to it. Avoid the big hotels and feel at home here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here over the labor day weekend. From the start to the end the experience was outstanding.

We were driving early from the bay area, so we called and asked if we could do an early check in. The person on the line said he'd call if a room becomes available. We didn't expect much, but one hour away from Tahoe he called and said the room is available! I truly didn't expect that he'd note this down and actually follow up on this.

When we reached, we asked how we should plan our trip and Kathy was super useful and gave us a good itinerary on what to do (hikes, lakes to visit, timing etc).

The room itself was comfortable and well appointed. As others have noted, there are nice small touches like a personal welcome note, chocolates and other goodies left each night. There is no AC but there is a nice quiet portable fan which does the job. The bathroom is large and clean, and the fixtures look quite new and updated.

The hotels location is great. Its a block away from the Heavenly resort, and the Marriot hotel, which has tons of restaurants and bars. Its also a few blocks away from a private beach. As an FYI, the hotel can give you a free pass for the beach.

Kathy was also very helpful in giving us food recommendations. She provided great alternatives, and also called and made reservations for us. They have coffee and pastries for breakfast, along with great conversation. The owners also have amazingly cute dogs, who we could not get enough of. Every morning during breakfast, we'd go get coffee and some pastries and then cuddle with the dogs, with all of us sitting down on the floor of the reception.

Overall, I couldn't find a fault with this place. The hotel and location is great, but the service is even better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moss_toss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#27 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Becket
Hotel Becket
#28 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
#42 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mark Twain Lodge
Mark Twain Lodge
#32 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradice Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradice Motel

Property: Paradice Motel
Address: 953 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6939
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#15 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paradice Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and recently remodeled and revamped, Paradice Motel is now Lake Tahoe's premier boutique motel. We are centrally located in the heart of all the action in South Lake Tahoe. Just a block from the base of the Heavenly Gondola, two blocks from one of Lake Tahoe's finest private beaches and three blocks from Stateline and the casinos, the Paradice Motel is truly paradise found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Paradice Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradice Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Paradice Motel Lake Tahoe
Paradice Hotel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing