We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mellow Mountain Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mellow Mountain Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Valley Center, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super Hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Highly recommend Mellow Mountain Hostel! Best decision we made considering our low budget. Travelled with a friend and her two teenage boys, plus my teenage boy. Owners Wolfie and Elias, are friendly and extremely helpful. Walking distance to grocery stores, restaurants and the lake. Accommodations were clean and comfortable. Great Common Room to relax and chat. You can cook a meal in their fully stocked kitchen. Very inspiring to meet travelers from all over the world as far away as Inner Mongolia! PCT hikers, bikers, adventurers young and old, it was inspiring to meet and experience their enthusiasm for life. If MM plays their cards right and stay on course, this place could become a true destination for anyone wanting to experience South Tahoe. I'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This hostel have been founded in July 2014 by these two awesome guys Wolfie and Elias. I had a great time there. The rooms are very beautiful, clean and the staff is incredible helpful at any time. The hostel is located next to the nevada border and the lake

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights in this great new hostel in South Lake. Incredible location 5 minutes walk from the beach, just off the main drag & close to the state line, bars, shopping, grocery stores... everything! Fun crowd, definitely caters to the PCT hikers, but all are welcome. Facility is nice, new, & comfortable.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michele Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Located in the city center of south lake tahoe the hostel is a hidden secret. Inconspicuous from the outside one will never expect a real place to be for backpackers. May be its the welcome beer what convinced me to write this review. Wolfie und Elias, the two owners and managers, did a really great job to turn a abandon motel into a warm, peaceful and relaxed place. The most impressing thing about the rooms was not the cleanliness, the heavy wooden beds or the roominess, it was the bathroom! Yes, there is a bathroom for every singe dorm!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Mellow Mountain Hostel is comfortable, fun, and full of friendly guests and staff. The beds are comfy, and every dorm has a nice, clean bathroom. Wifi is free, fast, and available everywhere. The communal room has a great kitchen, a comfy lounge, and a projector. The staff are very knowledgeable about the area and will recommend great hikes and places to see. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The owners have put a lot of hard work into this place to get it up and running for July 4th 2014. The room was clean, everything was new and in working order. They have a perfect location for south lake tahoe. There is covered parking on-site and private lockers for each guest. There is a communal room with a full kitchen available. Keep in mind this is a hostel not a hotel, it has dorm style rooms unless you book a private room there is 4 twin beds to a room bunk style. The night we stayed it was a young fun group full of great energy. Very affordable, we only paid $30 per person for a holiday in south lake tahoe. Unbelievable!!! I will definitely be staying here again for snowboarding trips and kayaking trips.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,836 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
#16 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harveys Lake Tahoe
Harveys Lake Tahoe
#3 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellow Mountain Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellow Mountain Hostel

Property: Mellow Mountain Hostel
Address: 4081 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6979
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, we are the Mellow Mountain Hostel! We are a brand new hostel out of South Lake Tahoe, a beautiful mountain town with a great big alpine lake in California. We offer our guests the option of sleeping in a 4 person dorm room, or a private room. We have built a brand new large communal room as well as a large brand new kitchen. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing