We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”
Review of High Country Lodge

High Country Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
High Country Lodge
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This was one of the most disgusting motels I've stayed in. The room was dirty. The toilet bowl was dirty [nuff said] even though the paper strip was placed across the seat. A member of the cleaning staff was outside so I asked her to re-clean the toilet. Whether in retaliation or not, I don't know, but when I returned to the room in the evening the furnace was turned on [in July] and the room was stifling hot. The shower was nothing more than a pipe out of the wall, shower curtain black with mold, spiders on the floor, and the bedding was old, bumpy and did not look clean. We stayed for the night reluctantly and had pre-paid for two additional nights but couldn't stand to be there. After getting a room across the street, my husband spent 20 to 30 minutes with the office person trying to get our refund for the 2 additional nights. Finally successful, we left.
This individual was incredibly disorganized. When we arrived he couldn't find our reservation, finally found it in a stack of papers on the floor, said his computer was out, he couldn't give us a detailed receipt for tax purposes. When we left he actually followed us across the street and argued with the owner of that facility, accusing him of stealing his customers.
Needless to say, there will not be a second time at this motel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sedona9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

Very clean and comfy place, good location! The owner is a very nice and helpful guy. We enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FraeuleinA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We decided on a last-minute trip to south lake tahoe late last week and the other places we've stayed were booked (July weekend!) We found a room at the High Country Lodge and it worked out well - convenient to the trails we wanted to visit, and the staff were friendly and helpful. It's a basic older motel but our room was clean and it's in a quieter area than Lake Tahoe Blvd. north of the "Y". We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

The lodge owner mis-quoted me and I did not have my internet print out to argue my price. Now, I just got home and have realized I WAS charged $50 too much. However, that day I was tired from driving and didn't feel like listening to the owner speak to me like I was a 5 year-old child. So, I just accepted her rates and paid despite the fact that I was positive that she over-charged me. However, her small staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickyten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank maria erika m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
3.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,131 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
#18 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#4 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,034 reviews
4.7 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,101 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Lodge

Address: 1227 Emerald Bay Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6206
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Speciality Lodging in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £37 - £597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — High Country Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your High Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing