We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Spa and Resort should be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a Spa and Resort should be”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was our home for 3 days and it turned out to be an excellent choice for us. The staff is very accommodating and able to give us some real insights into touring the local area. Of course, the temperature was on the chilly side in October, so we didn't get to enjoy the nice pool. The hotel is everything the brochure said it would be. The restaurant, La Veranda, is very good and the valley view from here is the perfect setting for one of those romantic evenings. No problem doing day trips from here whether you are using your own car or taking the train to the major attractions. And, the bathroom and shower actually meet American standards -- it is a decent size and the marble work makes it quite attractive. One other thing, the bed and sheets are truly designed to provide a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    315
    86
    36
    21
See reviews for
210
521
25
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We were originally booked to stay at the AC Hotel in Florence for two nights, but after mediocre service and an overall blah experience, we decided to change our booking and move here a day earlier. The difference was night and day. This resort lives up to its name. We received recommendations on day trips and dining from the hotel, both of which were fantastic. Truly a 5 star experience!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MEintheME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.W. Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A bit hard to find. You can drive right by the sign if you're looking for Renaissance and not aware of Ciocco Resort and Spa. Once you find the main sign and head up the long and winding road it's a beautiful and relaxing locale. Very nice facilities and a very nice staff. If you're not into the pricey restaurant there, the little village of Barga has a few spots, but take the drive north a few miles to Castel Nuovo for a good selection of eateries.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hogdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We came here for three days for our honeymoon and loved it. The staff really looked after us, the spa was great, the views to the mountains incredible, the food good and some great day strolls were lovely that the hotel recommended. Not a bad word to say!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moleeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This place was not easy to find but once we did we loved it! Don't make the mistake of going to the town North called Borgo. It is Barga. You will find it by following the winding (charming) roads through the Tuscan countryside but do it in the day light! We were in the dark because of initially going to the wrong city. Because of the lack of directional signage in relation it's remote location I gave it one less point. I also gave it a slight downgrade due to the maids coming into our room without knocking twice.

True to the Renaissance experience, it is quality from top to bottom. Because of our late arrival, we were graciously granted a late check out the next day.
We booked it on the Marriott website using the Senior Discount and because of that, it was the best value of the week.

We had to smile at the in room breakfast menu which listed an American Breakfast and a Healthy Breakfast along with other items. I recommend the 3 egg omelette but the pancakes were really skimpy for the price. The orange juice was fresh squeezed.

The weather was perfect during our short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had three nights here, with two rooms. One was a suite overlooking the valley, the other was a standard room overlooking a courtyard. The rooms were lovely. Spacious, clean and modern and rather luxurious. It is obvious that the hotel has been revamped and luckily we were given new rooms. The outdoor pool and view is magnificent. The gym is large and functional and the indoor pool was welcome, as although it was 27 degrees, the outdoor pool was very chilly. The buffet breakfast was incredible! I think we all gained several kilos during our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a lovely, if somewhat long, walk through the forest to Barga and back. A good way to burn off some buffet. All in all, this is a great hotel though in parts a little tired.

Room Tip: Request a new room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fifim37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The views from the hotel are incredible. Totally enjoyed the Spa... Laura was such a blessing, extremely pleasant and informative. Restaurant and wait staff... Fantastic!!! It was our first visit to Italy but not our last. Hotel is on a mountain, very quiet and secluded. Often felt like we where there all alone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelvecchio Pascoli
18.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
17.8 mi away
UNA Hotel Versilia
UNA Hotel Versilia
#1 of 52 in Lido Di Camaiore
1,138 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Vignola
La Vignola
#1 of 1 in Barga
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 52 in Lucca
365 reviews
17.1 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
18.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Address: Via Giovanni Pascoli, 55051 Castelvecchio Pascoli, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Castelvecchio Pascoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castelvecchio Pascoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of Italian elegance and refined comfort at the Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa. Situated on 1,700 acres in the heart of the Serchio Valley, our luxury hotel offers the perfect destination for your Tuscan getaway. Enjoy ideal access to charming and historic attractions including Barga, Lucca and Pisa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Ciocco Hotel
Il Ciocco Barga
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa Italy - Province Of Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing