We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Tarrytown, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Relaxing, upscale hotel with comfortable beds, clean rooms, nice restaurants, a great view. Hotel staff is extremely helpful & accommodating. Visit the spa. You need to have a car since closest train is Barga (20 euro cab ride). Barga is very quaint however plan accordingly since most shops are closed from 1-4. Closest car rental is an 80 euro cab ride to Lucca. Lucca is another must see. Rent a bike and pedal around the walled city.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lymac2400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTuscany, Manager at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa was enjoyable.
Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,
Maria Cristina Da Costa
Room Division Manager
roomdivision.mgr@renaissancetuscany.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    307
    83
    34
    21
See reviews for
207
496
23
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I recently stayed at the Il Ciocco resort for a Gordon Conference and it was the most amazing experience- I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this resort! The staff were kind, warm, courteous, and went out of their way to make sure I was comfortable. Pretty much everyone speaks English so if you don't know Italian, communicating won't be a problem. I have food allergies and am gluten-free, so I was concerned about the dining options during my stay but the staff and chefs were so attentive and proactive in making sure that I could eat the food being served at the meeting to the point where the servers recognized me by face and immediately brought out gluten-free pasta, risotto and lemon meringues! I was so impressed with the quality and service of every aspect of this resort. The rooms are beautiful, newly renovated with a modern look but retaining the Italian flair, and everything is clean and fresh. The view from the deck is so magnificent and breathtaking! I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a Tuscany getaway up in the mountains, whether for a family vacation or honeymoon, and even for a business trip! This was most definitely a perfect site for the conference I attended and I plan on coming back here for a vacation in the future!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTuscany, Manager at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa was enjoyable.
Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,
Maria Cristina Da Costa
Room Division Manager
roomdivision.mgr@renaissancetuscany.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland County, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Very attentive and friendly staff who all speak excellent English. Great breakfast, again with a terrific staff. View is breathtaking. Quite a drive to Florence, but we managed with our driver from Best Tour of Italy. Next day we went to Assissi which, next to St. Peters, wa the highlit of our trip to Italy. Beautiful pool and spa.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billdad10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTuscany, Manager at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa was enjoyable.
Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,
Maria Cristina Da Costa
Room Division Manager
roomdivision.mgr@renaissancetuscany.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The resort is located on a hill above the Barga Valley. As you drive up to the hotel, you pass the resort "village" with variety shops. The view from the deck is gorgeous. We arrived in March and the mountains surrounding the resort still had snow. The morning sunrises were perfect. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The room was well-appointed with a very comfortable bed. The balcony, though narrow, was long and seated two. The bathroom was fairly large and new. Restaurants were average with good wine selections. We didn't really venture into the town, as the weather and views were too perfect. We did use the spa and were happy with the service. It's not the easiest place to get to (I believe Pisa would be the easiest place to fly into, it's still a 30 min drive from Lucca), but worth the drive!

Room Tip: A room on the same side of the outdoor pool allows for the best views (front of the hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCBMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

At check-in, the hotel's amazingly warm and friendly staff immediately upgraded our room, per our Platinum Elite status---Wow! A lovely suite with 2 twins for the children and a super comfy king size for us. Beautiful bathroom, all newly renovated. Awesome views of the Barga Valley---opening our balcony windows every evening to the scent of the wood burning fire from the lobby below---it was absolutely magical and everything we had hoped Tuscany would be........

5 stars for the Marriott Renaissance service for kids---we TRULY felt as if we had checked into our wealthy Italian uncle's mansion for the week!! EVERY staff member went out of their way to make our family feel at home......from the custom handcrafted cocktails each night by Massimo at the lobby bar, to Maria, our favorite waitress, running food down from the main restaurant so the children could eat earlier than 8pm(!) each night, to the breakfast chef that came out and hugged my daughter while she spoke her best English that "she, too, had Celiac disease" and wanted to make sure my daughter knew all the GF foods on the buffet that day. AMAZING....

Also...fly into Pisa, not Milan......it's SUCH a long trip from Milan through twisting, turning, crazy mountain roads. So much so that we met fellow travelers than almost turned around and went back because they couldn't take it anymore. Yikes!

You must spend a day/evening in Barga, the neighboring village. It is truly one of the most magical, amazing little places we have been to in the world thus far.

Try walking just the property after breakfast one morning...we have amazing pictures of the kids picking olives, hazelnuts and just around the historic resort buildings. BTW, the best spot for your family photo is (surprisingly!) on top of the outdoor parking deck....try it, you'll get the best shot of the entire Barga Valley from there.

This is one trip you and your children will never forget because it's the whole package......memorable staff & a once-in-a-lifetime resort. Well done, Marriott!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MarriottMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmdel, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We recently spent a week here and had an absolutely wonderful experience. Driving there from Milan was a bit of an adventure but once we arrived we were greeted with the warmest welcome from Maria. From check in to check out the stay was memorable and it's all due to the excellent staff.The resort is beautiful and the lobby is very inviting, with 2 large fireplaces to relax by. Our room overlooked the gorgeous Serchio Valley, where we watched the sunrise amidst the fog over the villages below each morning. Breakfast was included in La Veranda due to Marriott Platinum status, and was a nice buffet.

We tend to like to explore wherever we go, and that desire is necessary here. You really must have a car to get to anywhere outside of the resort, but the area around is beautiful. The staff at the front desk provided excellent recommendation on food and activities, and could not be more accommodating. In fact, we've traveled extensively and this team were among the best if not the best we have encountered in ensuring our trip was memorable and perfect for us. Very special thanks to Navigators Maria, Daniela, and Elena, not to mention the La Veranda restaurant team and Massimo at Nour Lounge.

When we left the hotel and spent one night at the Milan Marriott before our morning flight home, we were even more aware of the superior team at the Renaissance Tuscany. The team at the Marriott could learn a lot from these people about customer service and friendliness.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley facing room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

The Renaissance Tuscany was very, very nice. Driving up to the resort is an experience in and of itself. The property is the picture of Tuscany. The hotel lobby is beautiful and comfortable to hang out in. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. We had an amazing view of the mountains and the walled town of Barga. The rooms were a perfect balance of traditional and contemporary. The gym and spa were very nice and well equipped. The indoor pool was a bonus as we were there in December. The outdoor veranda and pool were lovely. The staff was beyond pleasant and helpful. The food was average, don't expect a brilliant Tuscan meal there, but the breakfast is nice and if you just want a quick sandwich at the bar our lounge area, it's perfect. The town of Barga is 10 minutes away and worth the trip. It's best to have a car while you are there to get around. The taxis are expensive and you may feel a little trapped if you're there longer than a couple of days. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building where the lobby is and, of course, ask to have a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 5starhippychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelvecchio Pascoli
18.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
8.6 mi away
Val di Luce Spa Resort
Val di Luce Spa Resort
#1 of 6 in Abetone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
17.8 mi away
UNA Hotel Versilia
UNA Hotel Versilia
#1 of 52 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Vignola
La Vignola
#1 of 1 in Barga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
17.1 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
7.8 mi away
Hotel & Terme Bagni di Lucca
Hotel & Terme Bagni di Lucca
#2 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Address: Via Giovanni Pascoli, 55051 Castelvecchio Pascoli, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Castelvecchio Pascoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castelvecchio Pascoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of Italian elegance and refined comfort at the Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa. Situated on 1,700 acres in the heart of the Serchio Valley, our luxury hotel offers the perfect destination for your Tuscan getaway. Enjoy ideal access to charming and historic attractions including Barga, Lucca and Pisa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Ciocco Hotel
Il Ciocco Barga
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa Italy - Province Of Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing