We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have spent my whole stay sitting on the balcony enjoying the wine and the views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Before we even arrived at this wonderful hotel, we received an email welcoming us and informing us of our perks as platinum members. An upgraded room with a stunning balcony view of the valley and the town of Barga. The room was large and roomy as was the bathroom. Linens were crisp and the towels were huge and fluffy. Our welcome from the hotel was a local bottle of wine and a platter of delicious meats and cheeses. This hotel is remote but with a car the area is easily navigated. The breakfasts every morning were well worth waking up for as was the view from the patio where the breakfast took place. Everyone working at the hotel was pleasant and made us feel welcome. Day trips to Lucca, Pisa etc were not a problem and the drives thoroughly enjoyable. This is a great place to relax as well as explore the Tuscan hillside.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to the rooms with a balcony overlooking the lovely town of Barga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mum613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTuscany, Manager at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Mum613,

Thank you for taking the time to write us reviews. We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Tuscany il Ciocco Resort & Spa was enjoyable.
You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We are most pleased to learn this has transpired throughout.
We hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to Tuscany.

Sincerely,

Cristina Da Costa
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Get ready to use your navigation and use your patient hat because this place s in the middle of nowhere and very hard to find. We drove here from Venice and by the time we arrived in our rental car, I was about to sock my husband:)
The hotel, and pool area are gorgeous. You must wear a swim cap if you are going to swim. The hotel will sell one for 2 Euros. The hotel is peaceful and clean, but rooms are very small.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank 3Guapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTuscany, Manager at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear 3Guapas,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and description to our property and I am very delighted to see that your stay was generally satisfactory.

We hope that you will be back very soon in Tuscany and that you will choose our hotel again in the future.

Sincerely

Cristina Da Costa
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our family of 4 were upgraded to 2 suites because my husband is platinum elite for life. These suites were huge ( 3 large areas: family room with TV, bedroom and bathroom), beautiful, clean, comfortable, and had amazing views! The staff was fabulous. We didn't pack sunscreen and they brought us some. We met three American interns and we had fun getting to know them. I took the cooking class and it was amazing. We made pasta, bread & salad and I was able to replicate the recipes when I got back to US. The chef was so nice and the interpreter was so helpful!! They fed us wine and appetizers as we cooked. Then we sat down for dinner and ate all the foods we made earlier, so delicious!! Awesome cooking class for anyone. My girls spent day at the spa getting massages and pedicures. They loved it!! The spa area has great indoor pool and amazing showers with 5 different treatments - must try it! Also staff helped us with dinner reservations and provided maps for exploring Barga. We stayed 5 days and loved every minute of it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank mknjctn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTuscany, Manager at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear mknew,
Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and description to our property and I am very delighted to see that your stay was satisfactory.

Your comments are very valuable and we already shared them with our team.

Thank you for choosing Renaissance and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to Tuscany.

Sincerely

Cristina Da Costa
Room Division Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We slept with the door to the terrace open every night...the air was cool and overlooking the valley was spectacular...constantly changing because of the clouds and mountains. This is a Spa resort. The staff was amazing, particularly Sara, who helped us every day! If you stay here, you DEFINITELY need a car. The cab ride to Barga, which is a lovely old town with Duomo and fabulous restaurants, roundtrip is 20 euros! My only complaint about the hotel is they only have free WiFi in the lobby. Seems to me hotels of this caliber should over free WiFi in the rooms!

Room Tip: Be sure and get a room overlooking the valley...spectacular!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Moonbeams2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTuscany, Manager at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Moonbeams2010,

Thank you for taking time out and reviewing your stay with us here at the Renaissance Tuscany il Ciocco Resort & Spa .
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time as our guest.Please note that your opinion is very important for us and your review is shared with our team. I am glad to see that we have lived up to your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Tuscany.
Have a wonderful day!

Sincerely
Cristina Da Costa
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Superb location with staff that are outstanding. Makes a largish hotel feel very intimate and welcoming. The GM George is really nice, hands on guy and all of his staff, without exception really try ( and succeed) to make your experience special. The rooms are fine. Comfortable beds and well equipped. The views across the valley are just something else. Food was great and drinks were served in large portions (thanks Simone!)
It truly is a pleasure to stay somewhere where job number one is to ensure that your happiness is job#1

Room Tip: We had room 303. Great view and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank thewilsonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTuscany, Manager at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Thewilsonman,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. It is such a pleasure to read your comments and we are so glad to learn that we have lived up to your expectations, comments like these are encouraging us to do more and makes us very proud of our hotel and team.
Your review is very valuable to us and we have shared it with the entire team.
Again thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back very shortly.

P.S. Many many thanks on behalf of our GM

Sincerely

Cristina Da Costa
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The view of Barga is the best feature of this hotel. Eating your breakfast on the terrase is a joy.

This hotel is part of Merriot and that is obvious. Lots of well-off American tourists. The breakfast is also a bit "american" with bacon, heinz tomatoo ketchup but also a few Italian specialities.

The spa is ok, but when you have seen the photos you risk beeing a little bit disapointed. It is not that big and not quite as stunning as the images suggest.

The "Navigators" (people in the reception) can help with information and tour suggestions. Ask for the walking directions to Barga for a nice one-hour hike throug the forest. That was our best experience staying at the hotel. You get even better views of the vally and you get to experience the charming city of Barga.

The hotel is a bit expensive and remember that you probably have to pay the "resort fee" on top of the listed price.

If you are looking for a charming and very "Italian" place, look somewhere else.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite a long way from the reception and breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tausick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTuscany, Manager at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

dear tausick,

Thank you for taking time out and reviewing your stay with us here at the Renaissance Tuscany il Ciocco Resort & Spa.
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time as our guest. We hope we see you again very soon!

Have a wonderful day!

Sincerely

Cristina Da Costa
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Heavenly views, excellent food, very helpful staff! Our room had a balcony which provided us with picturesque days and nights overlooking Barga. We enjoyed all of the amenities that were offered and found this peaceful little luxury resort to be the jewel of our trip to Italy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sherri c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTuscany, Manager at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear sherri c,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to write this review after your recent stay at the Renaissance.

We are very pleased to learn that you were satisfied with your stay and glad to see that we have lived up to your expectations.

Your comments about the hotel and staff are very important for us and are shared with our team members for encouragement and improvement.

We thank you for choosing the Renaissance and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Tuscany .

Yours sincerely

Cristina Da Costa
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelvecchio Pascoli
8.6 mi away
Val di Luce SPA Resort
Val di Luce SPA Resort
#2 of 6 in Abetone
533 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel & Terme Bagni di Lucca
Hotel & Terme Bagni di Lucca
#1 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
248 reviews
21.8 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Miramonti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
UNA Hotel Versilia
UNA Hotel Versilia
#1 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
1,178 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
1,123 reviews
18.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa

Address: Via Giovanni Pascoli, 55051 Castelvecchio Pascoli, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Castelvecchio Pascoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castelvecchio Pascoli
Price Range: £99 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of Italian elegance and refined comfort at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa. Situated on 1,700 acres in the heart of the Serchio Valley, our luxury hotel in Tuscany offers the perfect destination for your Italian getaway. Enjoy ideal access to charming and historic attractions including Barga and Pisa from our hotel in Lucca, Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Ciocco Hotel
Il Ciocco Barga
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa Italy - Province Of Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing