We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my cup of tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westwood House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not my cup of tea”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We had a very difficult time finding this hotel. Once we arrived, we asked about the trip advisor upgrade. They told us that there were no rooms to upgrade to available at the hotel and that they were completely booked. They then promptly prepared our room key, and we were on our way. As an ex-smoker, the second I walked into the room I smelt the permeating smell of cigarette. We were puzzled. Could it be that they gave us a smoking room? Our suspicions were confirmed by the cigarette burns visible in the carpet. I didn't want to be a pain, but I REALLY didn't want to stay in a smoking room! When we inquired, they said since we had not specified a preference when booking, (they never asked us when we checked in either!), so they assigned us to one of the five smoking rooms in the hotel. She said she would check if there was anything else available and she would call us back in two minutes. Time ticked by and the phone never rang. We obviously wanted to get settled into a room and go explore Galway. We walked down to the front desk to find out what was happening with our request. They gave us a new key, and the room was very nice. If you want to be close to downtown Galway, I wouldn't recommend this hotel. I am the type of person who likes to stay where the action is, and unfortunately there is not much happening around this hotel. It's about a 10 minute cab ride to the center of town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear Melanie M

Thank you for your review. I would like to apologise for your initial experience here at the hotel. Unfortunatley our superior rooms are very popular and and alot of guests tend to book them whan making their reservation rather than waiting till arrival to ask for an upgrade which is the reason we were not able to upgrade you that particular night. It is standard practice for our reception team to ask upon check in whether a guest would like a smoking or non-smoking room but it seems that standard wasnt adhered to upon your check in which i apologise for. Again thank you for your review of the hotel and we hope to see you back with us again.

Kind regards
Peter Dalton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    284
    101
    36
    21
See reviews for
255
351
23
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Two couples stayed for 4 nights at this lovely hotel away from the center of the city yet conveniently close via a city bus just a few steps from the hotel. The rooms were large with a nice view. We did have a problem with wi-fi which management did attempt to fix without much success, however it only seemed to affect a few rooms in the hotel.

There is a lively pub attached to the hotel with very attentive staff. The Westwood Burger with "mash", no bun was delicious as was the "Bangers & Mash".

Our rate included Breakfast in a lovely dining room. There was an assortment of cereals, fruit, yougart, juices, breads plus a selection of hot items from the menu, all included.

We would definitely stay here again should we be in Galway.

Room Tip: We were in room 224 which had a problem with wi-fi and room 222 had intermittant wi-fi reception. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N2tiques4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Westwood Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us. In regards to the wi-fi I do apologise, from time to time it can let us down, however we do always try to solve the issue as soon as it is brought to our attention but unfortunatley sometimes the problems with the wi-fi may go beyond the technological knowledge of the manager on duty and we have to call someone in. Again many thanks for the review and we hope to see you with us again.

Kind regards
Peter Dalton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Stayed here end of Aug 2012 for 2 nights Fri & Sat
1 Hotel is in very good quiet location with easy walking distance to Galway City Centre
2 Hotel staff very good helpful and check in no problem
3 Bedroom of good size but insufficient wardrobe space for 2 people.
4 Food in Dinning room & Bar good but personally I felt it could be better.
5 If your looking for a quiet time beware of weekend weddings, on the two nights of our stay we encountered a weddings on both Fri & Sat.The problem is that with the size of the hotel the wedding party tend to take over the entire Reception and Bar area also generating noise with music well into the night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel. First off I would like to thank you for your positive feedback in regards to staff, location and rooms. Now in regards to the issues you experienced with noise in the hotel I do apologise, we do try and allocate our guests rooms based on the reason for their stay however it seems that the system that we have in place seemed to fail us on this occasion. If you plan on making a return visit to Galway and decide to give us another chance please contact me directly on 091-521442 so that I can personaly take care of your reservation.

Kind regards
Peter Dalton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Just back from 4night break, this hotel is so nice ,it is quiet and secluded, the staff are the friendliest you would ever meet. Maria at the reception is a lovely girl she gave us a trip advisor upgrade what a lovely room with a fireplace. The restaurant staff couldn't have been any nicer. I would reccomend this hotel if you are going to Galway. Thanks again. Gerald casey.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you for your review of the Westwood hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel and we hope to see you back with us again.

Kind regards
Peter Dalton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2012

From the moment we entered this hotel on a cold January afternoon we knew instantly we had our wedding venue under control. It was cosy, welcoming and had a great atmosphere with a fire burning in reception and tealights twinkling all around on tables. Dave Kelly, Therese Seale and all the staff were just fantastic to deal with while organising our big day. Everyone at the hotel was friendly, professional and made it so easy for us to tick the boxes for our requirements. No request or query was any trouble and the advice and help was invaluable to us. We had a small family wedding so creating a reception that was intimate and special was very important to us. Anytime we dropped in to ask a question or have another look at the function suite we were well looked after. All our wedding guests who stayed at the hotel loved the rooms and again the wonderful atmosphere that was prevalent throughout. It rained the day of our wedding and Dave was there at the entrance when we arrived with an umbrella and a huge welcome. Every detail was well attended and thought of. The food for our wedding breakfast was outstanding. It could not be faulted in anyway. Just delicious. Our wedding day was the best day of our lives and our experience at the Westwood helped to make it extremely special and a fantastic day to remember. We are exceptionally thankful to Dave and all the team and would highly reccommend the Westwood to anyone considering a wedding venue.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnockagullaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Westwood hotel. You give us very high praise indeed which is always nice to hear. It was our pleasure to look after you both on your special day and we hope to see you with us again very shortly. Wishing you both many years of happiness from us all here at the Westwood Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We had our wedding reception at the Westwood Hotel in July. It was a memorable day for several reasons. Firstly the management were extremely accommodating and professional whilst organising our wedding day, they could not do enough to ensure that things ran smoothly for us on the day and that all guests were well catered for. Secondly, the food and the service on the day was excellent. We enjoyed a five course meal which was simply faultless. So many of our guests complimented the hotel on the quality of the food. Thirdly, the hotel is very well kept. The rooms were spacious and guests found the rooms in the hotel very comfortable. Fourthly, we had our post-wedding party in the hotel the following day. Staff were just as friendly and efficient as they were on our wedding day. It was an amazing weekend.
The Westwood Hotel certainly lived up to its reputation as a quality venue for a wedding. We could not recommend it enough to couples looking for perfection on their big day,

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you for your review of the Westwood Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable weekend here at the hotel. It was our pleasure to look after you both and your invited guests for the weekend. We hope to see you back with us again and thank you for your recommendation.

Kind regards
Peter Dalton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Laoise, Laois, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed here in Feb and was I surprised. When I arrived outside I wasn't sure what to expect on first impressions, boy was I wrong. When we checked it we had been upgraded to a superiour room which was fantastic. Beds were huge and the bathroom was soooo elegant. Wi Fi service was also brilliant and had no problems with reception etc. The offer we had booked included dinner and they had a special Italian evening organised. The food was amazing each course nicer than the next. The restaurant itself is small and itimate and the staff we very helpful. Will definitely be heading back here ...worth every penny!

Room Tip: good location in galway if you intend to travel out to other areas such as Clifden etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laoislass166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you for your review of the Westwood Hotel. I was very happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay here at the hotel. Your comments in regards to your stay will be passed on to the team here at the hotel.

Kind regards
Peter Dalton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dangan
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
2.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,059 reviews
2.6 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.3 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,564 reviews
6.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Hotel

Property: Westwood House Hotel
Address: | Upper Newcastle, Dangan, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Dangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the University District of Galway and nestled amidst a rural landscape of greenery, the 4 star Westwood Hotel is ideally positioned only minutes from the city centre and Salthill while also being an ideal base to tour the beauty of Connemara.At the Westwood we seek to exceed your expectations in all aspects of your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing