We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westwood House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for the family”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We couldn't fault Westwood House - the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the room we had for 2 adults 2 kids was probably the most spacious hotel room we had in our travels. The adjoining pub was very good and the hotel is grand building. A little way from the city centre but Galway isn't a big place! Definitely recommend this one.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear PTH73,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was delighted to read how much you liked our hotel, in particular our rooms, our bar, and our staff who are the backbone of our business. Should you choose to return to Galway again at any stage, we would be delighted to take care of you once again.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    280
    96
    35
    21
See reviews for
247
346
23
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mossley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I booked two deluxe double rooms for four of us to stay for one night, the rate including breakfast seemed pretty reasonable and the generally good reviews were encouraging, so we took a chance on it, despite it being a little way outside Galway centre.

And then we arrived. Wow! It's a splendid looking building with a very smart reception area and a spacious car park and it was a nice, quiet spot. The rooms themselves were absolutely brilliant - all with air conditioning and the deluxe rooms come with a double AND a single bed. The rooms were very clean, the beds spectacularly comfortable. We were able to get adjoining rooms too, which was very handy. The air con in the room was pretty feeble, but the one in the adjoining room was working very efficiently, so it was probably a fault in the unit in our room.

My only complaint for this hotel would be the elevators. There are only two for the whole hotel, they are ridiculously small, badly lit and the heat inside them was stifling. Unless you're on the top floor, I'd suggest taking your chances with the stairs. That said, I'd not let this one flaw put me off from going there again.

We decided to eat in the restaurant at the evening and I have to say I was impressed. The service was impeccable, the food delicious and the prices suspiciously reasonable. This has to be the only hotel I've ever stayed in where they don't rip off the residents. The atmosphere in the restaurant was very pleasant, with a CD playing of what appeared to be Celtic workings of popular songs (I meant to ask what it was, but forgot). As the weather was nice, we went and sat outside with a beer and, despite there being what seems to be a major traffic junction just outside, there was almost no traffic noise.

We had breakfast the following morning, this was all cooked to order, so there were a few delays and they were quite busy. But despite that, the service was very good and the breakfast itself was very tasty. They were struggling to cope with the demand for the fruit juice, probably due to the warm weather, and we had to wait for glasses and orange juice to be replenished.

On the whole, this hotel is a complete bargain and I can't recommend it enough to anyone who wants to stay in the Galway area.

Room Tip: Get the Deluxe Double room if you can, they are large and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Lee D,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here with us at The Westwood.

Your comments in relation to our lifts have been noted and indeed, we have since turned down the heat in them. All your other comments in relation to your experience in our bedrooms, our resturaunt, and our staff are all very positive and again I thank you for those.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

6 of us were here for a weekend and we really enjoyed our stay. We were upgraded on arrival and the rooms were very spacious. Everything you would need was in the room; iron, trouser press, tea and coffee making facilities, bottled water, shower gel / shampoo, and the bathrobes and slippers were a nice touch too. The bed was very comfy so we had 2 very good nights sleep!

They provided live music in the bar both night we were there, and they also were showing live sports on the TV in the day. Drink prices were very reasonable and there was a good atmosphere in the evening. We did not eat in the restaurant but did have breakfast one morning which was a nice. There was a choice of either a continental buffet or a cooked breakfast for 7.95 or 12.95, although if you just wanted something specific you could just pay for that.

The hotel has free parking and is only a few miles from the centre. It's also the right side of the city for Salt Hill and Connemara so a great spot for exploring. We would definitely stay at this hotel again and think the price we paid was good value for a well presented and kept 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BowlerC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear BowlerC,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Westwood.

I was delighted to read such positive feedback in relation to all aspects of your stay, especially our bar entertainment and beverage prices, our rooms, and our location.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Westwood again should you choose to return to Galway.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Our family room was ample and confortable. The beds were excellent. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We benefited from an excellent offer for families including accommodation for 2 nights, breakfasts, one dinner, free movie watching during our stay and a pop-corn and drink pack for the kids. The hotel is only a very short drive from the city center and extremely well located if you plan to visit the Connemara region.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear CP,

Many thanks for your lovely comments in relation to your family's stay here with us at The Westwood.

Your comments regarding our staff, bedrooms, location, and in particular our 'Family Offers' are very kind indeed and I have passed them on to all the team here. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Ireland and would be delighted to welcome you and your family back to The Westwood at some time in the future.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
218 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Just dropped in for buffet lunch. It was still before 2pm on a weekday but they had nothing worth eating left. In addition, the menu was wrong anyway. It said salmon but the guy behind counter said the only fish they had that day was smoked coley. Avoid.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LOGITRAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Logitrav,

Thank you for your recent review of our Carvery. We have had a number of very busy lunches of late and on some occasions that has necessitated us changing an item when it became "sold out". We do not change the menus on these occasions as to do so is superflous as the guest must approach the carvery to order and thus the Chef can at that stage explain the new dish. I am sorry you felt neither the replacement Smoked Coley, the Roast of the Day, the 3 other hot dishes, the Soup and indeed the Chowder were not worth eating. We also offer an extensive Sandwich & Salad Menu which may have been to your taste.

Kind regards,
Dave Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The benefits of a small hotel are obvious. With only 58 rooms staff at the Westwood provided service and friendliness that larger hotels don't seem able to do. the hotel is in a lovely area not far from center city. While we spent only one night there, we would go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grams69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Grams69,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here with us at The Wstwood.

It was a pleasure to read your comments in relation to our service and 'friendleness', and we would be delighted to welcome you back again at some stage in the future.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

Generall Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Our stay during Galway races was really pleasant. The room was spaceous and clean with the necessary facilities. Staff at the desk and at the breakfast restaurant were kind and service minded.

Only downside is the location away from the center of town - but nevertheless, next time we are around Galway we'll stay at Westwood House.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear John K,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

Your comments are all very positive and have been passed on to all the team here. We look forward to seeing you back for the races again next year.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dangan
2.6 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
2.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Hotel

Property: Westwood House Hotel
Address: | Upper Newcastle, Dangan, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Dangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the University District of Galway and nestled amidst a rural landscape of greenery, the 4 star Westwood Hotel is ideally positioned only minutes from the city centre and Salthill while also being an ideal base to tour the beauty of Connemara.At the Westwood we seek to exceed your expectations in all aspects of your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing