We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westwood, Sept 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westwood House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Westwood, Sept 2013”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent two nights at the Westwood House in early September this year. The room was pleasant, however, I am sure I am not the only guest who would appreciate the addition of a top sheet for the bed instead of the very heavy duvet. Dinner in the restaurant was a little pricy, but service and quality were very fine. Breakfast was alright, but the porridge was not good at all - too sticky and no Baileys! The front staff were very helpful with directions and recommendations. Overall, a lovely stop on our 12 day Ireland excursion.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Mary F,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Westwood.

We really appreciate your very kind comments regarding the food in our restauraunt and our front of house staff. In relation to our beds, our standard duvets are indeed quite heavy, however, top sheets and lighter duvets are available from housekeeping on request. I have taken on board your comments regarding our porrige, and we will soon be adding baileys as an addition on our menus when we next go to print.

Once again many thanks for your review.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    280
    96
    35
    21
See reviews for
247
346
23
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel in June of this year we stayed on a dealrush voucher. We enjoyed our stay the meals were lovely the staff were great ,and the room was lovely We paid an extra fiver each to have a nice piece off steak with our voucher which is a very good deal . We also had our dinner on the second night of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenb60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear stephenb60,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at The Westwood.

Our Dealresh offers have prooven very popular indeed and I was delighted to read how you enjoyed all our deal had to offer. Keep an eye out for further deals in the very near future.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly,

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here last week for two nights and it's a great hotel in Galway. Incredibly friendly front staff who helped us move rooms for the second night when the ac broke down in the first one. Ate dinner in the restaurant several times and while it's a little pricey on some things, the food was excellent. Breakfast was included in the package we got, so the room prices seemed more than fair to me. The biggest drawback is that parking is limited and it's a little outside the downtown city, so you do need a car or be ready to pay a $10-15 euro taxi ride. Overall, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Jodi K,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here with us at The Westwood.

It was our pleasure to be able to accomadate you and move you to another room when the a/c unit broke down. I have passed on your comments regarding our front of house staff and the food in our restauraunt which were very positive and much appreciated.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed here with my family for one night and we really enjoyed ourselves. The staff were very friendly and efficient, especially the nice lady on the front desk who checked us in. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. We didn't have dinner in the hotel but we did have some very tasty desserts and coffee in the hotel bar. The hotel itself is located a less than 10 minute journey by car from Galway's City Centre which is ideal. My sister and I took a taxi back from the city to the hotel and it only cost €8. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Jen S,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here with us at The Westwood.

I was delighted to read how you enjoyed your time here, in particular our deserts, and how our location suited you. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly,

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

I had bar food at the westwood bar on sept 14th. i ordered chicken goujons and chips. it was 8.95euro on the menu. I was shocked to see 3 yes 3 goujons on the plate with a small bucket of chips 12 in total!!!!!! there was no side salad either. in fairness the goujons were tasty but does the westwood think this little of their customers!!!! I left the place still very hungry. Come on whats next!!!!! i know this is a country in recession but 3 goujons is ridiculous!!!!!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear ShaneC,

Thank you for your recent review. The dish which you describe is listed in our "lite bites" section of the menu on which all items are offered at under €9.00 for 1 person. The Full Portion of Goujons and Chips is also available to order at the Full Portion price from the Evening Menu or upon request during daytime hours. Side Salad is not advertised or given with this "lite bite" option. The Fries that accompany this dish are "Homemade Chunky Fries" and thus larger than French Fries. This menu section id designed for those looking for a snack rather than main meal and the price reflects this at under €9.00 including VAT etc. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed them.

Kind regards,
Dave Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We arrived tired and stressed from diving on the narrow roads of Dingle peninsula. After much searching for the Westwood- no fault of the Hotel- we were delighted for the quiet and calm of the Westwood. Not wanting to get out in the car again, we stayed and ate dinner in the bar. It was a good dinner with friendly and good service. The receptionist was extremely helpful in planning our time in the Galway area. The rooms were clean and spacious. My only criticism would be the lighting. The reading lights by the beds were not bright enough for us. But, that was minor with the wonderful service, room service breakfasts and friendly reception by the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wfk4466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear wfk4466,

Thank you for your review of your stay in The Westwood.

I have taken on board your comments in relation to our reading lights in the bedrooms and we are now looking to have these upgraded.

Your comments in relation to the rest of your experience here are very kind indeed and I have passed them on to all the team here.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We booked for one night and when we arrived the computer system had just crashed. However when the very friendly girl at reception .. Amy was her name ...could not get us checked in immediately she brought us to the bar for drinks while the problem was solved . She soon returned with our room sorted .She even gave us an Upgrade!
We ate good food in the Bar that evening and again we were really impressed with the service
Breakfast was great and again the service was very friendly and efficient
This is a very good hotel giving excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Des L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Des L,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay here with us at The Wstwood.

Yes indeed we did have some computer issues at the time of your checkin, however I was delighted to read how happy you were with our service and help while the issue was being resolved. Your comments regarding our bar and food are also very kind and have been passed on to all the team here.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dangan
2.6 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
2.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Hotel

Property: Westwood House Hotel
Address: | Upper Newcastle, Dangan, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Dangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the University District of Galway and nestled amidst a rural landscape of greenery, the 4 star Westwood Hotel is ideally positioned only minutes from the city centre and Salthill while also being an ideal base to tour the beauty of Connemara.At the Westwood we seek to exceed your expectations in all aspects of your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing