We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice Hotel location just outside the town of Galway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westwood House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I arrived at the Westwood Hotel, but had to stop and ask for directions. Our Nuvi 1300 Garmin which helped us enormously in all of Ireland, needs a street number, and the name of a Street to take you to some hotels and restaurants. Just saying Upper Newcastle is not too helpful, because that is a very long road that winds north out of the town of Galway. Perhaps if we knew more how to operate the Nuvi Navigator that would have helped.

After we found the Westwood hotel we were pleased with the quality of the rooms and the hotel. The staff is very friendly, the rooms comfortable and quiet. It is a very nice hotel

We really liked the hotel, but is is not within walking distance of restaurants, shops etc. You can take a cab a couple of mile to the Quay Street Area of Galway, that seems to me the major area with a lot of shops and restaurants (such as the Quay Street Kitchen, where we ate once and it is highly rated on Trip Advisor).

There is not much parking in Galway so if you travel into town with your car, make sure you know how to get to a parking lot. There is one Parking Lot near Quay Street, and be sure you keep your parking pass with you and take it to a parking meter payment center, and have some Euro Coins with you to put in the machine, just before you are ready to leave the parking lot. There are not operators at the exit gates, you must insert a paid entrance ticket.. There a a lot of one way streets in Galway and some streets that are marked restricted access, but my Garmin did not know that so I used those limited access streets to exit Galway back to the Westwood Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertW34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear RobertW34,

Many thanks for your recent review of your stay here with us at The Westwood.

Your comments in relation to our hotel and staff are very kind, and we were delighted to be able to take care of you.

I understand how you had some problems with our location however we do have a GPS location number which leads most systems directly to our door. As a result of your review, I am now looking at how we can make this number more easily available to our guests.

Once again many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (931)
There are newer reviews for Westwood House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay. Would definitely recommend. My only complaint is that our first night there (very tired after flying thru the night and landing at 6 am that morning), there was a wedding party in the hotel and trying to find a parking spot was next to impossible. But, staff was amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraLee907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear SareLee907,

Thank you for your reveiw of your recent stay with us at The Westwood.

I have passed on your very kind comments regarding our 'amazing' staff to all the team here. It is indeed our staff who make us what we are.

In relation to our parking, I have taken on board your comments and am now looking at ways to resovle this, including reserving spaces for non wedding guests.

Once again many thanks for your lovely review.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This place is great. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The receptionist, Patrica, gave use hints on places to visit in the city, as well as pronting out maps for us. Our waitress, Tar , was wonderfull, also making delightful meal suggestions. Great room, comfortable and clean. One of the best hotels I have stayed in in years. The only complaint was location, very much in a residential area, making it challenging to go anywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drgccgTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear drgccgTx,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay here with us at The Westwood.

Your comments regarding Patricia in reception and Tara in the restauraunt are very kind indeed and have been passed on to both. In relation to our location, while it might not suit everybody, because we are slightly outside the noisy city centre(including the traffic), we generally find our guests prefer the peace and quiet.

Again many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Just back from a fabulous 4 night break at the westwood. After a phone conversation with the manager Mr Dave Kelly about customer loyalty discount, I was given a great deal thanks Mr.Kelly.
Now to my review, the staff at the reception desk are so nice, especially Julie who upgraded me to a lovely room. The food is to die for and a great choice is to be had on the menu, I would recommend the Seafood Chowder as a starter, followed by the Cajan Salmon absolutely delicious
Colleen in the restaurant is a first class member of staff. The breakfast in the morning is very good
With a wide selection of food on offer, they won't let you go hungery here especially when Catrina is around, a lovely lady with a great personality. Looking forward to my next break here.

Gerald Casey, Co.Armagh.

Room Tip: Print out the trip advisor voucher
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear silverdoctor,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay here with us at The Westwood.

It was, as always, a pleasure to deal with you, and we were delighted to be able to offer a loyalty discount to you. Your comments in relation to our rooms, food, and in particular our staff are very kind indeed, and I have passed them on to all involved.

We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent two nights at the Westwood House in early September this year. The room was pleasant, however, I am sure I am not the only guest who would appreciate the addition of a top sheet for the bed instead of the very heavy duvet. Dinner in the restaurant was a little pricy, but service and quality were very fine. Breakfast was alright, but the porridge was not good at all - too sticky and no Baileys! The front staff were very helpful with directions and recommendations. Overall, a lovely stop on our 12 day Ireland excursion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear Mary F,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Westwood.

We really appreciate your very kind comments regarding the food in our restauraunt and our front of house staff. In relation to our beds, our standard duvets are indeed quite heavy, however, top sheets and lighter duvets are available from housekeeping on request. I have taken on board your comments regarding our porrige, and we will soon be adding baileys as an addition on our menus when we next go to print.

Once again many thanks for your review.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel in June of this year we stayed on a dealrush voucher. We enjoyed our stay the meals were lovely the staff were great ,and the room was lovely We paid an extra fiver each to have a nice piece off steak with our voucher which is a very good deal . We also had our dinner on the second night of our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenb60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear stephenb60,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at The Westwood.

Our Dealresh offers have prooven very popular indeed and I was delighted to read how you enjoyed all our deal had to offer. Keep an eye out for further deals in the very near future.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly,

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here last week for two nights and it's a great hotel in Galway. Incredibly friendly front staff who helped us move rooms for the second night when the ac broke down in the first one. Ate dinner in the restaurant several times and while it's a little pricey on some things, the food was excellent. Breakfast was included in the package we got, so the room prices seemed more than fair to me. The biggest drawback is that parking is limited and it's a little outside the downtown city, so you do need a car or be ready to pay a $10-15 euro taxi ride. Overall, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear Jodi K,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here with us at The Westwood.

It was our pleasure to be able to accomadate you and move you to another room when the a/c unit broke down. I have passed on your comments regarding our front of house staff and the food in our restauraunt which were very positive and much appreciated.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dangan
2.6 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,186 reviews
6.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
365 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,976 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Hotel

Address: | Upper Newcastle, Dangan, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Dangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Price Range: £56 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the University District of Galway and nestled amidst a rural landscape of greenery, the 4 star Westwood Hotel is ideally positioned only minutes from the city centre and Salthill while also being an ideal base to tour the beauty of Connemara.At the Westwood we seek to exceed your expectations in all aspects of your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Westwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing