We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Westwood House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Landmark Hotel(Carrick-on-Shannon)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carrick Plaza Suites by theKeyCollection(Carrick-on-Shannon)(Great Value!)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Bush Hotel(Carrick-on-Shannon)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Percy French Hotel(Strokestown)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (973)
Filter reviews
973 results
Traveller rating
492
302
110
39
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
492
302
110
39
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrewedding receptionlovely hotelbar foodlast weekendstayed here for one nightfollowing morningreception areacooked breakfastfrom start to finishenjoyable staylovely roomboth nightsgalwayreceptionistirelandoutskirts
Filter
Updating list...
456 - 461 of 973 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Hotel was nice but staff were brilliant. They really couldn't do enough for us and we really appreciated it. Jason, Pat and Caroline really stood out in a great bunch of staff. We could see the pride they take in their job and we were really impressed. Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malm0_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear MalmO_R,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at The Westwood.

Your comments are very kind indeed and I have passed them on to the whole team here, including Jason, Pat, and of course Caroline. It was our pleasure to take care of ye and we look forward to seeing ye again in the not too distant future.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Myself and my husband stayed in this hotel on the last night of our honeymoon. It is a really lovely hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food is delicious! Rooms are really nice with a great selection of movies to choose from. Would recommend

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Rebecca C,

Thank you for your review of recent stay with us here at The Westwood.

It was our pleasure to look after ye both on yer special ocasion. Your comments in relation to our rooms, food, and of course our staff are very kind and I have passed them on to all the team her.

Wishing ye both a long and happy life together.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent the weekend there for our 10th wedding anniversary and had a very relaxing weekend. Staff were lovely and helpful. We had an executive room which was lovely and roomy. Food was Fab. And as always Galway is a great city really enjoyed the whole weekend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Darhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Darhayes,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us here at The Westwood.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay, and in particular how our food, rooms, and staff were able to help ye relax and enjoy your special weekend. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Lovely hotel and was very hang for the city centre and hospital and also university. Staff very friendly and helpfully from the moment we arrived till the moment we left. The staff would bend over backward to help you. Will deinetly be back to stay in the future. The hotel is in a quiet area even thoughbits on a busy road and near the university. It's a homely hotel and not one of these modern hotels which I'm not that keen on. A very busy hotel with conferences on but that dosent affect your stay at all. Food was lovely and does a varied menu thought the day and at different times. It was recommended to me and I would deinetly recommend it to anyone and already have. Even the housekeeping staff where lovely and friendly. Can't fault this hotel in anyway at all.

Room Tip: Even though their are no fitness centre or swimming pool it does offer a discount on the university campus's fitness centre. As I didn't get the chance to use it. I hope tomdomsominnthe future
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nualaagnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Nualaagnes,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at The Westwood.

I was delighted to read how you enjoyed your time with us, and also very gratefull for your very kind comments in relation to our location, rooms, food, and of course our staff.

We would be delighted to welcome you back again in the very near furure.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly,

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Everyone is so helpful and pleasant. The room was comfortable, as was the bathroom. Both very clean. Breakfast was very good, with several choices and pleasant wait staff. We were there on a bank holiday and saw lots of Irish families with kids. The hotel was slightly out of the way, we had to take a taxi into the town at about 10 euros each way. Also difficult to locate using the GPS, not the hotel's fault, but be sure to get correct directions before you go.

Room Tip: Took advantage of free room upgrade offered on TA.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryannL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear MaryannL2012,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay at The Westwood.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed our bedrooms/bathrooms, our staff, and our breakfast selection, and I have passed your comments on to all the team here.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews