We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Westwood House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nox Hotel(Galway)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Corrib House Hotel(Oughterard)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (966)
Filter reviews
966 results
Traveller rating
489
300
109
39
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
489
300
109
39
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrewedding receptionlovely hotelbar foodlast weekendstayed here for one nightfollowing morningreception areacooked breakfastfrom start to finishenjoyable staylovely roomboth nightsgalwayreceptionistirelandoutskirts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
384 - 389 of 966 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here while visiting our daughter residing in Corrib Village. Perfect location to be within walking distance of the University. Nice pub, decent breakfast. Our room suited our needs perfectly. I disagree with reviewer who complained of noise during a wedding weekend - a wedding occurred during our visit, and we didn't hear a peep. Maybe it depends on where your room is. We were in a WI-FI corridor which was quite helpful. If you want to be around the action, stay closer to downtown. This place is quite far north of the city proper. It's a 6-7 euro cab ride to downtown.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front entrance side of the hotel - pub directly below. Not too noisy, but I imagine it could be.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel has nice rooms but old fashioned toilets are noisy. Took a shower late and tried to dry my hair but the wall unit didn't work. So I tried to call reception to report the problem. But the phone didn't work either. 3 phones in the room but none of them worked. For the cost of the room at least one phone should have worked.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Billhill,
Thank you for sending on your feedback. I have carried out a full review of all the rooms in relation to your review. We have found no issues with the phones in any room but we did get a hairdryer with a blown fuse which we changed straight away.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and I hope you will consider the Westwood on your next visit to Galway. If so please contact me personally at generalmanager@westwoodhousehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Good location on Clifden Road on way into Galway. Good parking facilities and city centre accessible on foot ( about 30mins walk ). Good if not spectacular restaurant and nice bar. Room very comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: Quiet location so noise should not be a problem.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tommynak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We arrived at Westwood house on a saturday evening. We had a very good first impression of the hotel: Large, clean and comfortable rooms. Friendly staff and good location (approx. 5 mins out of town by car).

Unfortunately our stay was not as comfortable as we expected it to be based on the first impressions. Our room (109) was located directly above a wedding venue. We returned to our room at about 9.30 pm after having dinner in town.

There was no chance of getting any sleep as the band played very loud music until 2.30 am! As the room was directly above the venue, it was extremely loud and we felt like being in the middle of the party. It must have been a very good party! Remark: We would not complain about a little music, even if it would have been played until midnight. But it didn't stop at midnight and the music kept going with unchanged volume until approx. 2.30 in the morning.

We complaint twice at the front desk via telephone and asked for another room. In addition to that, we wrote an email to the GM asking for refund (s. picture below). As the hotel was fully booked, we couldn't change the rooms. The next morning we talked to an assistant manager, who was indeed very friendly and promised to arrange for refund.

Nevertheless, we left the hotel totally dissatisfied on sunday morning. The hotel itself is nice, but in our opinion the noise from the party was unacceptably.

A week or two later, we received an email from Westwood House offering a refund of only 25%, which was not agreeable for us.

If you stay there: Make sure that there is either no wedding party during your stay or that you get a room which is far away from the wedding venue.

Room Tip: Make sure that you are not in the rooms above the wedding venue!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThoManu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear ThoManu,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I would like to apologise to you here for the lack of sleep quality experienced. I believe we have discussed everything in personal emails between us. Once again I would like to sincerely apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Nice old building in pretty setting. Pub and restaurant are nice -good food. Staff are pleasant.
Room was adequate but quite stuff in warm weather with no fan or a/c. Traffic noise was a little disturbing.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank kgor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Kgor,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I have my maintenance team looking into the Air con. I am glad everything else was to your satisfaction and if you are ever back in Ireland it would be wonderful to have you stay with us once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews