We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff & Beautiful Hotel - definitely 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westwood House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We stayed for 3 nights with our [nearly] 3 year old son and 3 month old daughter. As a family with small kids you worry about the reception you'll receive, especially in such a nice hotel. However, from the moment we checked in we were made to feel very welcome. The lobby is lovely and the hotel is very well laid out. Our room was average size and very well laid out. It was very clean and the housekeeping staff are to be commended - especially as we come with a lot of luggage and mess! The package included dinner one night [which was excellent] and breakfast each morning - nicest hotel breakfast we've ever had in Ireland [and we did a lot of travelling before we had kids]. Hotel caters to a lot of tours and we met a number of people who came back again after being there a few years before. I would definitely stay there again and will recommend to my friends / family. Well done, Westwood, on being a modern hotel, but still retaining old fashioned charm!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCMommy0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2010

Dear Past Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the Westwood Hotel. "A Modern Hotel with an Old Fashioned Charm" - very nicely worded indeed - we might use that one if you dont mind!!

I was particularly pleased with your comments on how your younger family members were welcomed. Many of the team here have young family themselves and we place a great emphasis on ensuring our younger guests are well catered for. It was nice also that you got to meet some of our many loyal repeat guests during your stay - we are fortunate to enjoy a high level of repeat custom here for the reasons that you outline in your review. With this in mind we look forward to hopefully welcoming you and your family back to us at some future date.


Kind regards,
Dave Kelly MIHI
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

775 - 781 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2010

Staff and reception very friendly and helpful. Room quality was excellent. The food service was Quick and lovely. Worth the value. Sleep Quality was like in your own home. Very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahGreaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2010

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your recent review of our property. We appreciate your comments very much and look forward to welcoming back to the hotel on some future date!

Kind regards,
Dave Kelly MIHI
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We had a great time during our stay at Westwood. Hotel is tastefully decorated and very well maintained. All staff, especially the lady at reception were very courteous and efficient. There was feeling of a warm welcome and very generous hospitality. We had the most wonderful meal in your restaurant of any hotels we have ever stayed including Shelbourne etc. Keep up the good work and we most certainly would return for another relaxing and enjoyable stay. Pre and post stay e-mails are nice touch and it means that our business was appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asam_Ishtiaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2010

Dear Past Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel and for choosing us as your base for your recent stay in Galway City. I was delighted to read your comments on our team here and the standard of our food in the dining room. The addittion of our pre and post emails do as you say allow us to communicate more regularly with our guests and as you mention to say a simple "thank you for your business" on foot of a stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you to the Westwood again at some future date.

Kind regards,
Dave Kelly MIHI
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Stayed at the Westwood on their 3 day package which included a choice two tours of the local area. Unbelievable value for money, deal included bed and breakfast two evening meals plus tours. Staff could not have been friendlier, hotel itself top class and food excellent, Highly recommend hotel which is well located to explore area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2010

Dear Past Guest,

Thank you for your review of The Westwood.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the itinerary and value offered as part of our 3 Day "City Explorer" package. Our location in the suburbs of Galway City and at the entrance to Connemara does indeed afford our guests the best of both Galway City and County. I was delighted too that you commented on the friendliness of the team here which I am delighted to say is a regular refrain in these reviews. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to The Westwood on some future date.

Kind regards,
Dave Kelly MIHI
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Stayed here for one night. Very nice room. Breakfast excellent. Very friendly staff. Located in a quiet neighbourhood. One problem : found the breakfast tables too close together which afforded little privacy. But overall, a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. We would probably like to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kinane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2010

Dear Past Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our property and for the kind words contained therein. I was delighted to read that your stay was an enoyable one and that you will consider us for your next visit West - when a friendly welcome will again await.

Kind regards,
Dave Kelly MIHII
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Hi,

On Saturday, my daughter got married & had her reception in the Westwood hotel. I'd like to publicly thank the hotel management & team for a truly memorable day, evening & into the small hours of the following day.

From arriving at the hotel, until booking out on Sunday, we were so very well treated by Magda & her wonderful team. Our guests have been remarking to us on the experience, from the warm welcome of the team, the food (to die for... canapes, champagne, starters, sorbets, mains, deserts - all light & delicate, so we could still dance), the ambience (lighting, table dressings, flowers, menus), the discretion of the team led by Magda, the rooms (spacious & welcoming) & the breakfasts (individually cooked & great variety on offer) - we are so pleased with the comments to us from our guests & all as a result of a most professional team. I also asked Magda to arrange send out dinners to some friends unable to join us - "no problem" was the attitude.

We talked with Magda some time ago, even cajoled a little with her & in the end, were very satisfied with the package & the competitive price.

If anyone would like more details, I'd be pleased to answer your emails, just email me.

Once more, BIG THANK YOU to ALL of the team in the Westwood hotel.

Best regards,
John & Olive Stewart.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

Dear John & Olive,

Thank you indeed for your review of our hotel and the day that we put on for Lisa & Sylvester on Saturday last. It is always heartening to read such positive comments and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Magda in particular. We take great pride in our wedding day service and that fact obviously transmitted itself to yourselves and your invited guests and friends. We look forward to seeing you in the hotel over the coming year.

Kind regards,
Dave Kelly MIHI
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This is a lovely hotel with great amenities. Just wish it had an exercise facility.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRL08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

Dear Past Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Westwood. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst we don't have leisure facilities on site our guests are free to use the superb facilities of the newly opened Kingfisher Club located on campus at the National University of Ireland - hopefully if you return to Ireland and the Westwood we can look after you with a visit to this facility.


Kind regards,
Dave Kelly MIHI
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dangan
6.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,137 reviews
2.6 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.3 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
389 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#6 of 46 in Galway
2,076 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Hotel

Address: | Upper Newcastle, Dangan, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Dangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dangan
Price Range: £54 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the University District of Galway and nestled amidst a rural landscape of greenery, the 4 star Westwood Hotel is ideally positioned only minutes from the city centre and Salthill while also being an ideal base to tour the beauty of Connemara.At the Westwood we seek to exceed your expectations in all aspects of your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Westwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing