We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have just spent 5 days at this very beautiful house in the Andalusian countryside. Antonio and Carmen are the perfect hosts who attend to every need. We enjoyed learning about the property, it's history and the surrounding area as well as the olives that are produced. The house is excellent with gorgeous features, we felt we were welcomed into a loved family home. The food was delicious with home cooked produce at every meal. We enjoyed tasting many different local specialities all made with local produce and the olive oil from the cortijo. The room was beautiful too and very comfortable. Our bed was made each day and towels were changed. We enjoyed our own little garden. We also enjoyed a lovely drink in the evening sitting looking at the fantastic views from the property. Thank you so much Antonio and Carmen for making us feel so welcome. We would love to return some day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 792PressJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonioOjedaS, Gerente at Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. This place is really special when we receive people like you and allow us to live pleasant experiences. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have just had a fantastic break with Carmen and Antonio. This is a beautiful place to stay set in olive groves, with a spectacular mountain backdrop. The breakfast was great, fresh and homemade, and we ate two dinners which were delicious. There was plenty of space for us to laze about and also interesting towns to visit nearby, including Granada an hour away. We highly recommend!

Tim & Caroline

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdlavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonioOjedaS, Propietario at Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Sharing some days of relaxing holidays here with us has been a pleasure. We like you have enjoyed our traditional gastronomy, the towns and villages, the nice weather, the countryside with the olive groves we take care soo much to make our own organic oil. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Thank you Carmen and Antonio we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your outstanding property.
We enjoyed the care and attention you gave us during our recent visit. The tour of your property its olive groves, gardens, swimming pool and the historical information on Cortijo la Canada del Sacristan imparted your love for the area and the pride in what you have established. The breathtaking views of the the countryside offered the peace and relaxation we were looking for on our activity packed visit to Spain.

We stayed here for three days with other members of our family while on a two and a half week road trip around Spain. The accommodations were wonderful, with comfortable beds and all the amenities you could ask for. The food was excellent, either fresh from the garden or locally grown. We really enjoyed the organic olive oil from their own olive groves. We stayed for dinner at the cortijo and Antonio provided us with some absolutely delicious meals.

We hiked in El Torcal park, and visited Antequera and on Antonio's suggestion toured Villanueva del Rosario, Villanueva de Trabuco and Archidona. All of which were close by, in Archidona we were able to get up to the castle which was breath-taking. .

Thank you Carmen and Antonio,
We had a wonderful stay at your home and will remember it fondly for years to come.

We highly recommend that if you are in this area that you make it a must see and stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StampedeGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonioOjedaS, Propietario at Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. You explain in it many of the activities and places it is possible to do and visit in the surroundings and you enjoyed so much. But next time, don´t forget the Alhambra, Maybe, it is a excuse to come back. We hope to see you again. We will always have a good memory of your stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Carmen and Antonio are superb hosts with an outstanding property. They have a well deserved pride of the Andalucía area that they live in. This Cortijo comprises a marvelous farmhouse with rooms to relax in with antiques in every niche. The property is surrounded by olive groves, gardens, swimming pool and breathtaking views of the the countryside.

We stayed here two days with our cousins and their spouses while on a two week road trip around Spain. The beds were wonderful, which we came to appreciate later in our travels. The food was always fresh and organic. Really enjoyed the organic olive oil from their own olive groves. We stayed for dinner at the cortijo and Antonio provided us with absolutely delicious meals. We were able to do some hiking in El Torcal park and touring some local towns in the area. All within easy reach of this home.

Thank you Carmen and Antonio,
We had a wonderful stay at your home which was the highlight of our trip.

Highly recommend this property.

Ed and Sharon, Calgary, Alberta, Can

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Can2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonioOjedaS, Propietario at Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you so much. When we receive a review like yours we feel really proud of the work we do everyday to please our guests.
It makes us happy to know that you keep a good memory of your stay with us sharing intensely our traditions, our food, our music and our olive grove environment. We wish to see you
again here or in any other corner of the world,. We will always remember your stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I couldn't give a better recommendation to anyone wishing to take a break in Spain in the rural area of Andalucia. Antonio and Carmen were the perfect hosts and have an ideal getaway for a holiday where you can get away from it all. Peace and quiet of the rural setting of the Cortijo only matched by the quality of the accomodation and service. The hosts were warm and friendly and welcoming, they made us feel at home whilst staying there. We will definately return in the near future as these types of quality holidays make us more determined to come back.

We travelled around the are quite a bit whilst there and found its relatively central position to the area to be ideal for daily trips to the local tourist attractions. Plenty of things to see and do within easy travelling of the Cortijo.

Thanks Carmen and Antonio for making our holiday so nice.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room at this Coprtijo, its the host that makes your stay most enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonioOjedaS, Propietario at Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you very much for your words. It has been really a plaisure to share some days with you in this small corner in the heart of Andalucia. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

I spent five days last May 2012 at Corijo La Canada de Sacristan with my wife who was pregnant. It was wonderful : nice area (Andalusia), the house is ideally placed do discover the beauty of this region (at the intersection of both motorways Sevilla-Granada and Cordoba-Malaga: very practical).
The atmosphere is calm, with a swimming pool having a beautiful view to mountains and olive trees. The house is great and, last but not least, if you want to have your breakfast or dinner at the terrace, the owner is an amazing 5***** chef !
I highly recommend this place to relax in the pool, to eat excellent food and to enjoy visiting the area with in particular Granada (the best), Cordoba or the small city Ronda (magic !)
All the best from Paris, France
Jean-François and Myriam

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFROQUEFEUIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Great country estate rents 4 rooms, we had a Jr Suite, awesome room, really great bathroom, balcony overlooking olive groves, pool, etc. The owners are extremely nice people, very cultured, they have moved form the North of Spain (San Sebastian) and have completely remodeled the property.

e aware, the road there is about 3 miles from the highway, but not a big deal when you make it twice or so.

Room Tip: Jr suite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RostG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonioOjedaS, Propietario at Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thanks a lot for your opinión. You are very kind even after the heavy rain we suffered during your stay. At last the optimism won and you enjoyed some days here with another point of view. Even, at last the sun appeared. We hope to see you again. We promise: with better weather and we will invite you to drink a lemonade in the terrace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villanueva del Rosario
16.4 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
8.4 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
10.7 mi away
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
6.3 mi away
Hotel Los Dolmenes
Hotel Los Dolmenes
#8 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan

Property: Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan
Address: Paraje El Brosque | Bateria 3 Buzón 13, 29312 Villanueva del Rosario, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Villanueva del Rosario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Villanueva del Rosario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Romantic restoration from a XIX century cortijo -traditional andalusian farmhouse- situated in the heart of Andalusia, region of Antequera (Málaga) and perfectly placed for access to the most beautiful places in the south of Spain. A charming rural house located in a property of 18 acres of organic olive trees culture and Mediterranean forest, for people who yearn the silence and comfort of the country life; an intimate, elegant and informal rural accommodation; a traditional and well looked after cuisine; activities, excursions, and a warm, discreet and professional service.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortijo La Canada Del Sacristan Villanueva Del Rosario, Spain - Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing