We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long weekend in Spain”
Review of Cortijo Sabila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cortijo Sabila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

In this day and age we have all become accustomed to extravagant claims and wide angled lenses. However, stop right there-
Cortijo Sabila is neither digitally enhanced, or exaggerated. It under-promises and over-delivers far in access of expectations.

The setting is outstanding - we arrived late at night to see a fairy tale palace beautifully lit, set amidst the hills, with a very warm welcome from Ray and Yvonne, and much needed refreshments after a challenging day - where would one get service like that in the UK?
- the drawing room, where drinks are served prior to dinner and also accessible throughout the day, is magnificent, vast, spacious and relaxing
- the bedrooms are unique - each one individually styled, as is the whole establishment and granted, it is the home of the owners - but it somehow defies description.
- we dined in a beautifully furnished traditional dining room with delicious food and unobtrusive service
- breakfast was served on a delightful inside terrace which surrounded an inner courtyard, complete with fountain, again serviced with leisure and so relaxing
- all the food was delicious, as was the wine, and both very reasonably priced, so as we wanted to chill out there was no need to look further!
- the location is perfect, just out of the cut and thrust of the south coast, but with excellent access to the motor-way network. There are so many places to easily visit within the day.
Cortijo Sabila is also set in acres of olive groves with the accommodation surrounded by a series of different gardens - a whole series where every guest could have one of their own - or meet in the communal space if feeling convivial. There is even an in house therapy service.
Cortijo Sabila is clearly making an impact on the local scene, while we were there we heard that certain times were booking fast - repeat bookings are already coming in for next summer.
If you want a touch of magic - book it soon.
H&MH Wiltshire

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

Well, after our visit last year, we simply had to go again. We expected everything to be the same wonderful place. It wasn't, It was even better! The beautiful surroundings, unbelievable views of mountains and olive plantations, luxurious accommodation, the delightful company of Yvonne, Ray, and the aerdales, and just fantastic food were all still there. But they have now improved the gardens, and added the Alhambra garden, a fantastic suntrap with splash pool running the whole length with fountains and comfortable sunbeds. There is also a Zen garden for total relaxation. My memory of a quiet iced anis watching the sun set, looking forward to a wonderful dinner will keep me going through the winter cold till we can go again - and we will.

Room Tip: They're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I decided to bring my nearest and dearest over to Cortijo Sabila as a special treat. We had a wonderful time, the food was excellent and Yvonne catered for my vegetarianism with ease. The rooms are all really lovely and the addition of the Alhambra Garden since my last visit makes this an even more special place to stay. During our stay we went to El Torcal for the sunset– amazing! Granada – stunning! Malaga – a great place to eat and shop! Antequera – a lovely Spanish town and many other lovely places which were all very beautiful. Lovely place to stay, great area and great hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeygirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I had a short break in Spain earlier this month with my husband and daughter and decided to return to Cortijo Sabila as we were very impressed with it last time. The place did not disappoint. The food was top quality and the accommodation luxurious. The garden areas had been further improved and we had a very pleasant, relaxing weekend there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobandritapope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Our stay at Cortijo Sabila was a delightful 2 night experience. We arrived without a booking but were given a wonderful welcome by Yvonne. Although the hotel was fully booked, with a little bit of planning, the host moved two guests (who were their friends) into their private accommodation, we ended up with a small suite, excellent bathroom products, fluffy towels and bathrobes, very comfortable and relaxing, this was very much appreciated, as we were on a running weekend. The ambiance, decor and hospitality was without fault. Unfortunately we
had other arrangements for lunch and dinner, but the very substantial breakfast was cooked and presented with same care and attention to detail that was evident throughout this charming hotel.We will definitely be back, even though we only live 50km away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnangie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Very occasionally, you may find somewhere that is truly exceptional and Cortijo Sabila comes into that category. The warmth of the welcome, the ambience, the decor, the rooms, the cuisine, the gardens and views of the mountains are all outstanding. It is superbly located with easy access to the fast and quiet inland motorway network - we were only there for three nights and fitted in trips to Cordoba and Granada with ease. Yvonne is a star and she took us to the opening night of the village annual Fiesta, where we enjoyed stunning flamenco and dancing in the square into the early hours. Yvonne and Ray are clearly popular members of the local community. This really is an "escape to real Spain".
We shall have to return because there is still so much to explore in the locality.

Room Tip: This is really hard as everything is superb - it really wouldn't matter which room you chose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We can't recommend Cortijo Sabila enough. From the moment we arrived to the moment we sadly had to leave we were made to feel completely at home. We'd chosen it for the last night of our holiday because it was so close to the airport (30 minute drive) but if we'd know it was going to be such a wonderful experience we'd definitely have stayed longer. Yvonne, Ray and the dogs are great hosts, the house is beautifully decorated and the views over the mountains as the sun goes down are stunning. Finally, be prepared and arrive hungry - Yvonne is a fantastic cook.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victoria j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villanueva del Rosario
12.8 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
10.1 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
813 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel La Fuente del Sol
10.5 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
867 reviews
19.8 mi away
Barcelo Malaga
Barcelo Malaga
#4 of 89 in Malaga
3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo Sabila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo Sabila

Address: Villanueva del Rosario | Malaga, 29312 Villanueva del Rosario, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Villanueva del Rosario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Villanueva del Rosario
Price Range: £75 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be guaranteed a warm welcome at Cortijo Sabila, a luxury Andalucian guest house nestled between two mountain ranges and near to a typical white Spanish pueblo. All guests suites are individually designed to reflect the cities of the region and have luxury en-suite shower rooms, or bathrooms. Beautifully appointed with antiques and objects d'art collected over many years by the owners. Bathrobes, Egyptian cotton towels and luxury toiletries are provided as standard. The seasonal uniquely shaped salt water pool and large (all year) spa have magnificent views of the mountains and offer guests peace and tranquillity. Breakfast is served at table and high quality international cuisine for romantic evening meals/lunches are available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cortijo Sabila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortijo Sabila Villanueva Del Rosario, Spain - Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing