We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new andalusian pearl is born, not to discribe in stars!”
Review of Cortijo Sabila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cortijo Sabila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Magnificant renovated cortijo, an andalusian pearl,managed by the English owners, not to discribe in stars, it was for us a great opportunity to stay there, we enjoyed magical moments combined with the perfect location between two historical old towns, Cordoba and Granada !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerooseG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just returned from the most wonderful week spent at La Sabila. Yvonne and Ray have achieved something truly special and created a little haven in the heart of the Spanish countryside. They have lovingly restored this amazing building with elegance and style and they go out of their way to welcome you into their little paradise.

The accommodation is great and there are a number of gardens which have subtle themes - just great for relaxing at any time of day or evening!

And then there is Yvonne and Ray's hospitality - they make you so welcome and nothing is too much trouble and they are great fun to be with. And finally, there is Yvonne's cooking which is exceptional and competes with any high class restaurant - the food was excellent.

They have created something so very special and Chris and Chrissy will be back. Thanks to you both for a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We found it exactly as they said 'a luxury boutique hotel in a perfect location'. We took a bicycle ride to the local village whilst observing the most beautiful scenery. Ray, Yvonne and the team were charming hosts and we wanted for nothing, apart from to take ownership of their lovely dogs Oscar, Stanley & Maj. We can't wait to return to this splendid place, oh and the food - fantastic! The only downside was that we had to go back home.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we saw were individually themed and elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We recently spent a wonderful 4 days and 3 nights in Antequera to celebrate a birthday and wedding anniversary.
It is easy to run out of superlatives when describing La Sabila, and not without reason. It is a haven of tranquility after a hectic day of sightseeing/playing golf etc. The building itself is expansive, full of nooks and crannies and interesting rooms surrounding a wonderful courtyard, all beautifully and comfortably decorated in a mixture of Spanish and Moorish Styles. Outside there is a great chill out area with a large water feature. There are plans for a swimming pool later this year. Our bedroom was spacious and the bathroom, with his and hers sinks and a wet room style shower, very roomy. And, most importantly, the bed was extremely comfortable. Yvonne our hostess (and Owner) was gracious, amusing and couldn’t do enough to make sure our stay was enjoyable. While the basic price includes breakfast of choice she can also provide evening meals. Although not advertised as Cordon Bleu, quality and presentation makes you think otherwise, which is not surprising when she learned to cook her Risotto under the watchful eyes of Jason Atherton.
Johanna and Maria, the Spanish staff were a delight and, although still lacking in the high end deftness of touch, their enthusiasm was infectious. One small touch, indicative of the care given to all guests – our room was tidied while we were at breakfast.
Lest you think this is a Cortijo run for the English by the English, forget it. Of the 8 other guests while we were there 6 were Spanish and 2 were Dutch.
All in all we could not have had a better experience.
David & Geraldine McDonnell

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed for a weekend and will be back again soon absolutely brilliant place.

The location is very good with brilliant links to all major routes and the village just down the road is real Spain and not the typical holiday resort.

The food is outstanding and I especially liked the breakfast very refreshing accompanied with real Spanish surroundings.

A must for any couple looking for a romantic break

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mackemsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I contacted Cortijo Sabila and explained that I desperately need a romantic night away with my significant other and left all the planning up to the owners Yvonne and Ray. They took care of all the details, lovely suite, cozy bathrobes, and most of all top notch service! Working in the hospitality industry, sometimes you just want to be served yourself and this quick one night getaway gave us just that. Gin tonics brought to our room, dinner served in the romantic candlelit dining room, and the special idea to warm up our room before we arrived!

The most impressive part about the Cortijo is the immensity of the building and surrounds and how the staff at the Cortijo keep this place spotless (amazing!) and you can tell that the owners have an eye for detail. The Cortijo has been refurbished and the antiques, art, trinkets, etc all add to the uniqueness of the experience.

The cherry on top of the sundae was the after dinner gin tonics by the massive wood-buring fire place with mood music! My kind of romantic evening! Yvonne and Ray went above and beyond my expectations and it is a gem of a boutique hotel. From a business point of view, I would definitely recommend this place for business get-togethers and leisure travellers alike. Thank you both for making this escape special!

Room Tip: Go for the Málaga suite, the extra room in the sitting area is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HVGRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Didn't want to stay in a Malaga airport hotel and found this 30 minutes away towards Granada. Absolutely first class food, accommodation and surroundings. Great value for money as you get your own small suite in a beautifully renovated Spanish house in lovely grounds, within minutes of the A92M but on the edge of a very quiet village in lovely countryside. Run by Ray and Yvonne who couldn't do enough for us. Don't bother to go out to eat as Yvonne's cooking is terrific and the meal is served in the beautiful dining room. Will be going back for sure as the accommodation is so good and so much to see within an hour's driving.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinp5322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villanueva del Rosario
10.1 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
836 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Los Dolmenes
Hotel Los Dolmenes
#5 of 15 in Antequera
186 reviews
12.8 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
7 mi away
Almohalla 51
Almohalla 51
#1 of 6 in Archidona
252 reviews
2 mi away
Finca Los Pinos Guesthouse
Finca Los Pinos Guesthouse
#2 of 4 in Villanueva del Rosario
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo Sabila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo Sabila

Address: Villanueva del Rosario | Malaga, 29312 Villanueva del Rosario, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Villanueva del Rosario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Villanueva del Rosario
Price Range: £71 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be guaranteed a warm welcome at Cortijo Sabila, a luxury Andalucian guest house nestled between two mountain ranges and near to a typical white Spanish pueblo. All guests suites are individually designed to reflect the cities of the region and have luxury en-suite shower rooms, or bathrooms. Beautifully appointed with antiques and objects d'art collected over many years by the owners. Bathrobes, Egyptian cotton towels and luxury toiletries are provided as standard. The seasonal uniquely shaped salt water pool and large (all year) spa have magnificent views of the mountains and offer guests peace and tranquillity. Breakfast is served at table and high quality international cuisine for romantic evening meals/lunches are available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cortijo Sabila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortijo Sabila Villanueva Del Rosario, Spain - Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing