We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cabin of our trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Glasgow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Glasgow Highlands Campgrounds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Driving from coast to coast of Canada, you get to see alot of different accommodations. New Glasgow Highlands Campground was the best! Quiet & clean, we checked in for one night & stayed for three.
Les had the fireplace going for us in the morning in the lodge so we had a nice place to cook breakfast. The bathrooms & cabins were spotless. I could walk around in my sock feet without getting them filthy which I couldn't do even in the higher priced hotels.
Marlene made recommendations on what to visit & where to eat, they take the time to make sure that their guests have a great time. I wish you weren't on the opposite coast otherwise I would be there every summer for a visit.

Room Tip: The cabins are comfortable with electricity & heat, and half the price of other chain cabins whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GabriolaGirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this place at the info center - 4 foreign girls staying in the fall after camping for the last 5 days ,it was heaven - and cheap! The owners where soo friendly and helpful, chalet warm and comfy! Stay here:)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were so thrilled with this campground from the moment we checked in. Marlene could not have been any nicer or more helpful - such a pleasure to talk to! We stayed in one of the cabins and were impressed with how clean and well-maintained it (and the rest of the campground) was. We have stayed in campgrounds all across the country and these are the cleanest bathrooms you will find anywhere (even better than Disney)! The location was great - close to Green Gables and the beaches. We can't wait to come back here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lavonne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This camp was really great. Bathrooms where the cleanest I have ever seen on any camp site. The rules where there to make sure ALL campers had a good time. I would like to thank Les and Marlene for all there help and spots,to visit. We had site 31 lots of trees etc

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zetdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Great sites, quiet, private, clean facilities. Well taken care of. Would highly recommend it to anyone. We have been disappointed many times with private campsites but this was an absolute gem to find.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This campground is lovely and immaculately maintaned. Mrs. Andrews could not have been nicer when we checked in. She offered helpful information about the area which was appreciated. We have camped for years and do not find the rules objectionable at all. Without tight rules there would be chaos in a campground. We know, we've stayed at some and it's not been pleasant.

P.S. The bridge to PEI carried a toll of $58 for car/travel trailer. Just a car? Your tariff will be $44. This is for round trip, not one way. We've found the Canadian Maritimes to be very expensive, especially the national parks. The NP's charge a large day use fee (at Fundy NP this was $7.80/per adult/per day) and this is in addition to your camping fee. We prefer to stay in a private campground and pay the day fee as we use the faciities.

Room Tip: Talk to Marlene or Les about any special requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DPD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

When camping, my wife and I tend to stay on provincial or national park campgrounds, as our history with privately owned sites has been pretty dicey. Despite this, we decided to give New Glasgow Highlands Campground a try this past weekend. We're glad we did.

When booking the campground, we requested a wooded lot, as we like to be somewhat remote. We were given site #21. While you can see other sites, it does feel quite secluded, with trees surrounding the site and overhead. An in-ground fire pit, a nice picnic table, and a large space for the tent rounded off the site. Across from where we parked, a short trail (lit at night with little lights along the ground) helps guide the person to the washrooms and the "lodge". Firewood is available at the front gatehouse for $5 / bundle. One down-side to the wood is that it seems to be primarily soft wood, which burns through quite quick. Had we stayed an extra night, we would have likely bought two bundles to have a good fire, instead of having to ration.

Behind the campground is a nice set of little walking trails. We did the shorter one, and it was an easy walk. Perhaps next time we'll hit the longer one. As with the rest of the facility, the trails were immaculate and kept pristine.

The owners seemed nice to us, although I was personally a little slighted when another couple came in who the owner knew and proceeded to talk to them, despite me asking a question and waiting for a response. Being on vacation, I won't take TOO much offence to this, as I also realize this is a place where people come year after year. Perhaps next year we'll be back, and be that couple.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for spot away from serviced lots and cottages, as it seems lots of families w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
17marles56, Owner at New Glasgow Highlands Campgrounds, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thanks for your comments and for your visit. We do apologize if we didn't get to your question. We do enjoy talking with folks and helping out whereever we can.

Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Glasgow
4.0 mi away
North Rustico Motel Cottages & Inn
6.4 mi away
Marco Polo Land Campground
Marco Polo Land Campground
#11 of 21 in Cavendish
38 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lookout Inn
The Lookout Inn
#1 of 2 in New Glasgow
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Glasgow Highlands Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Glasgow Highlands Campgrounds

Address: Hunter River RR#3, New Glasgow, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > New Glasgow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in New Glasgow
Price Range: £17 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing