We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine but not quite as good as it thinks it is”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Moonah Links Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fingal
Certificate of Excellence
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Fine but not quite as good as it thinks it is”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This was the most expensive hotel during our recent trip and whilst the room was probably amongst the best the facilities weren't.
Room really lovely (open room) big bath, good shower, comfy bed, very modern, terrace with golf course outlook, dressing gowns, safe.
My gripes would be that I booked here primarily for two reasons - access to a gym and access to free wifi. After staying in a couple of super apartments,but with few facilities we were looking forward to paying a bit more and getting the additional facilities. Wrong. Wifi worked for about 10 mins. Signal really patchy. Queried at reception and they said it was a problem and they were trying to get it throughout resort. Ok if you are on a weekend from Melbourne but if you are half way round the world away from home then internet access is quite important.
Other issue is that gym was not available. Apparently it is in the golf academy and when they are using it then hotel guests can't. They put on a temp gym - without even a treadmill - so basically useless. I have just looked at web site and it does say gym subject to availability - I don't know if that was there when I booked - or maybe I just couldn't conceive of a gym being "unavailable" Anyway - they should say that there is no hotel gym but you may be able to access another, subject to availability.
Otherwise it's a nice setting but you should be aware that it is not hotel style but is spread out and you will be in a block quite removed from reception/bar/restaurant and may have to drive over for a meal/drink. It is also a bit of a haul to get your cases to your room - no help was offered.
On a positive, the in room safe was closed and I phoned reception and a very helpful guy was over on a buggy in a few mins to sort.
Breakfast was fine.Good nespresso coffee, cereals, juices, some hot items. Strangely no cold meats/cheeses.
Overall lovely room but had better value elsewhere on trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank highfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    157
    66
    24
    13
See reviews for
48
219
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hunter
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Unusual out there buildings in windswept location. We were lucky - it was calm and with fine weather. Rooms were huge with bathrooms with a view. Disapointing that the stairwell was filthy. The restaurant and breakfast were superb - could not fault. Curious that we were told this was 41/2 star to find that its not - its their own rating. We would have thought it to be 4 1/2 stars however.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iainHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We have just returned from a holiday in Melbourne and stayed at the Peppers Moonah Resort for two nights while exploring the Mornington Peninsular. We had a hire car so the location was perfect for us - central to the vineyards and all the wonderful seaside towns. We were upgraded to an open room upon arrival due to overbooking of the Moonah rooms. These rooms were amazing with a big deck, large open bathroom with large bath etc.

We found the resort to be extremely relaxing - no hussle bussle, as it was set in an almost rural setting (apart from the golf course surrounding it). We loved our room and felt rather sad leaving! We also had complimentary internet which was a bonus.

We had a meal in the restaurant one night and this was very good apart from a little lack of service (they forgot our drinks order but another waitress apologised even though it was not her fault). All the staff we dealt with were extremely pleasant. All in all, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We stayed in a one bedroom suite which was spacious and modern. We were pleasantly surprised by full kitchen, microwave and even washing machine/dryer as we did not know they were available. We thought it was just a small hotel style room. So we enjoyed the space and heating up food properly rather than through our bottle/ food warmer! Downside was the dishwasher was left full of cleaned dishes and the downpour rain the whole stay! But thats not hotels fault! The resort looked lovely with rolling hills and golf course looked fantastic. Also close to peninsula springs which helped, considering we were going to stay at cape schank for the springs! Lucky we stayed here at peppers. Wonderful resort

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelwith2kids2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2010

I've discovered Peppers Moonah Links accidentally while planning my trip to the Peninsula Hot Springs. The Springs do not have their own accomodation yet, but with the Peppers being near by and offering free transfers this problem was nicely solved. During my 9-day stay I have thoroughly enjoyed my spacious modern and very private room with a fantastic outlook to the Moonah Links Golf Course, as well as the services of the friendly hotel's staff. It is a great place to visit for those who enjoy bathing in natural hot springs and playing golf, or simply want to hide away (in style) and reflect on life letting their soul to rest. Also, I think, it would be an inspiring place for an artist. My friend joined me later and we had fun travelling on Peninsula, shopping, dining, picking our own cherries on the farm, unwinding in the springs and the spa...

Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank GCtraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Having stayed at Peppers Moonah Links in the last week, I can only assure you it is a great hotel and worth the trip, especially if you love golf. The service was fantastic, the team there love to look after you at both the front desk and also in food and beverage. I can see why both courses are voted in the top 20 in Australia and how this hotel gets the title "home of Australian Golf". The golf pro shop team are very friendly and knowledgable and this place is the highlight of the region. A great stay, great team and great time... I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waikatoismyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Having stayed here on about 8 different occasions over the past 2 years i continue to go back.
although the resort is a 10 minute drive inland from busy rosebud you are booking for accommodation on a gold resort not a seaside retreat so you understand that if you want shops or restaurants or the beach you need to drive. Far enough!!
The accommodation here is great, really clean, well equipped and definately worthy of its 4.5 star rating. Always stay in the nice one bedroom suites overlooking the golf green. A lazy drink or bar snack in the lounge adjoining the resorts restaurant is a must. Great way to spend a sunny lazy afternoon. You can eat dinner in the lounge from a bar/snack menu for half the price of the restaurant and the quality of what comes from the kitchen is fine. i.e. burger/pizza/fish and chips/risotto/pasta (you get the idea). Staff on reception and in the restuarant and bar are great. A really great place to stay away from the hussle and bussle. Grab a bargin on Wotif.com.au you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powellbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fingal
4.3 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
446 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
2.9 mi away
Moonlight Bay Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Brooklands Of Mornington
14.0 mi away
Jackalope Hotel
Jackalope Hotel
#1 of 1 in Merricks North
21 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Moonah Links Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Moonah Links Resort

Property: Peppers Moonah Links Resort
Address: Peter Thomson Drive, Fingal, Victoria 3939, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Fingal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fingal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Peppers Moonah Links Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Moonah Links Resort is the ultimate destination for golf enthusiasts and perfect for visitors looking for stylish accommodation from which to explore the delights of the Mornington Peninsula region. The resort is one of Australia's finest golf resorts, home to the 2005 Australian Open. Peppers Moonah Links Resort has been designed to harmonise with the land which has been moulded from rolling sand dunes promoting a calming atmosphere perfect for a weekend escape. Peppers Moonah Links Resort offers stylish accommodation in deluxe rooms and open suites, all with balconies overlooking the stunning golf course or putting green. Each room features natural materials, clean lines and earthy Australian tones with modern furnishings and fittings. Each accommodation room offers STD/ ISD direct dialing, central air-conditioning and heating, TV, CD player, internet/data access, refrigerator, complimentary bathroom amenities and full length mirrors. The resort is a golfer's paradise with two 18-hole championship courses, the Open and Legends courses which will provide a true test to golfers of all levels. Other facilities available onsite include swimming pool, gymnasium and mountain bikes, recreation lawn and central putting green. Pebbles Restaurant offers a modern Australian menu with a focus on the freshest Mornington Peninsula produce. Accommodating up to 110 guests, you can enjoy a meal on either the sunny terrace or in the dining room with the fire blazing in winter. Pebbles Restaurant is open 7 days a week for breakfast and dinner. For a pre-dinner drink or nightcap there is no better place to relax than in Spike Bar. The number one tourist attraction in the area, Peninsula Hot Springs, are right next door and we provide a complimentary buggy service between 9am-5pm (weather permitting). The Mornington Peninsula is renowned for its stunning beaches, fishing bays, national parks and golf courses. You can go horse riding along the famous Gunnamatta beach or swim with the dolphins in Port Phillip Bay. Restaurants, cafes, local markets and antique shops are worth the visit in the charming nearby towns of Portsea and Sorrento. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peppers Moonah Links Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Moonah Links Hotel Rosebud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing