We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B & Hosts”
Review of Stilegate B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Quantoxhead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stilegate B&B
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent B&B & Hosts”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We booked 1 nights accommodation due to attending a wedding reception at st Audries wedding venue. The accommodation and breakfast was the best we have ever had, when we booked they even offered to take us to the reception and collect us when ready to return, we did not use this service but it was a very nice gesture, the wedding venue is only 3 minutes away by car. Lots of information for visiting and eating out in the surrounding area. will not hesitate to visit again.

Room Tip: They have 1 room available if you are travelling with your dog which has a separate access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write some great comments which are appreciated. We hope to see you both again with your four legged friend. You brought the sunny weather with you and we are making the most of it. Best Wishes Heidi and Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
88
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Phil & Wendy M
Stilegate is the best B&b we`ve every used, a super room the best breakfast we have ever been served and Heidi & Peter very kind & helpful we cannot rate this high enough ,but lets try out of 10 we give it 11thanks again for a memorable stay .We will be back .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for your terrific review. Wow. Best Wishes Heidi & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This lovely location and warm welcome provides a welcome alternative to access the S.W. peninsula.

We were surprised at both the unspoilt coastal scenery and the stunning view from the beautiful colourful beacon hill on the Quantox hills. Both are within a couple of miles walk away and I suggest either as the breakfast is outstanding and far too good to miss.

We were the first guests to arrive in an electric car using the Ecotricity electric highway on the motorways, they have a bespoke charge point available, and we look forward to returning with more time to spend.

The car was filled with gallons of sunlight off the B&Bs roof Solar pv panels for our journey home. Shame we couldn't harvest the energy in the electric storm overnight which it up the valley from our grand stand view.

Excellent and very reasonable recommendations provided for eat out options nearby too. Very forward thinking inspirational owners providing a relaxing time there. Thank you.

Room Tip: If you have mountain bikes you can keep them in the self contained corridor with catering facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Gary
Great to meet you both. Shame it was so brief but glad you got home safely. Best Wishes Heidi
And Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

There is nothing that Heidi and Pete haven't thought of to make their guests feel comfortable, this B and B ticks all the boxes. They're welcoming, friendly and the breakfast is as good as it gets. The rooms are top quality. Memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Steve

Thank you very much for taking the trouble to review us. Your comments and custom are appreciated. Kind regards Heidi & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a belated review as we were in Britain in May, 2013. However, it is also a well-deserved accolade to the owner of Stilegate Bed and Breakfast, Heidi, who was most hospitable and on arrival provided us with tea and the most delicious scones: the perfect welcome for greedy people. We had booked two rooms which turned out to be spacious and well-appointed. We can recommend the beds which were blissfully comfortable and distinctly not representative of that bête noir of travelling: the curiously lumpy and bouncy bed. Heidi also was most kind to my 93 year old father who had been to a World War 2 commemorative service a few days before we arrived at Stilegate. Our drive to Stilegate, near Minehead, was a revelation. We loved Exmoor, both for its natural beauty and for its rich literary associations. We were thrilled to drive through the village which was home to Coleridge’s enigmatic, and unwelcome, ‘Person from Porlock’. Thank you, Heidi: you have our award for the best (non-ageist) bed and breakfast which we experienced during our visit in May.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Marian
We remember you and your father well and glad you enjoyed your trip to Somerset. You are always welcome. Love to see you all again sometime. Heidi & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My Boyfriend and I were visiting my family for the weekend and stayed here, normally we are the sort of people who like an anonymity of a bigger hotel, and we had always avoided B&B type places in favour of these, however staying here was a lovely surprise. We stayed in a room with a great view, and it had everything you could possibly need, including a bathroom stocked with anything and everything you may have forgotten for your stay, which was a lovely touch. Everything was very clean and tidy and very comfortable. Our hosts were very friendly even waiting in for us as we were arriving quite late on the Friday night, and they were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The Breakfasts were fantastic, and so lovely that they were made to order. Over all this was a great stay, with the only fault I could possibly find being that on one night the mini fridge in the room did wake me up, but I would hardly consider that much of a negative in any way, as it was lovely to have the mini fridge available. A lovely stay and somewhere I would defiantly recommend. Many thanks :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear K&S Thank you for your feedback. You are welcome to turn the small fridge off if you find it a nuisance and I can give you fresh milk early in the morning. It was great to meet you both and if you in West Somerset again visiting your folks please call in to see us. Best Wishes Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had a two day break in this area, first visit. Couldn't have had a better place to stay, both Peter and Heidi were welcoming, friendly and informative. They told us of a lovely local beach to visit which was less than 5 minutes away, a nice walk just before bedtime. The bed was SO comfortable and breakfast was not only a feast for the eyes but lived up to the beautiful presentation. I would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B to other couples.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piggey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear C&A. It was really nice to meet you both, glad you found the beach at St Audries. Thank you for your great comments. Heidi & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Quantoxhead
4.0 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
0.3 mi away
Cherry Orchard House
Cherry Orchard House
#2 of 3 in West Quantoxhead
10 reviews
2.8 mi away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
White House
White House
#3 of 6 in Williton
124 reviews
1.7 mi away
Catwell House
Catwell House
#4 of 55 in Taunton
144 reviews
0.9 mi away
St Audries Bay Holiday Club
St Audries Bay Holiday Club
#1 of 2 in West Quantoxhead
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stilegate B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stilegate B&B

Property: Stilegate B&B
Address: Staple Close | St Audries, West Quantoxhead TA4 4DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > West Quantoxhead
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Quantoxhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established B&B near Quantock Hills and coast with all en-suite accommodation and a warm welcome. Panoramic views from each room towards Exmoor National Park and Minehead. Close to St Audries Park Wedding venue. Enjoy our Aga home cooked breakfast freshly prepared especially for you and then relax at our local St Audries Bay beach or mountain bike straight onto the Quantock Hills (AONB) from the front door. Walk to the local Windmill Inn for a delicious evening meal,fantastic Sunday carvery or take a picnic up onto the beautiful Quantock Hills. Electric Vehicle charging point free for overnight guests. Off road parking and ground floor room available. Ask about our midweek break special. A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stilegate B&B West Quantoxhead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing