We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbelievable fantastic”
Review of Stilegate B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Quantoxhead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stilegate B&B
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We intended to stay in Stilegate for two nights, but the result was a stay of 7 nights. Heidi and Peter provided us with everything we could possibly need for ourselves.
Nothing seems to be too much trouble for Heidi and Peter. Never ending explanations for our daily tour. It was quite remarkable. The really tasty full English cooked breakfast, which was delightfully presented, was superb. The rooms were excellent with fantastic views and we all enjoyed a grand breakfast. We will certainly recommend Stilegate as a fantastic place to be there with wonderful hosts Heidi and Peter.

Elly and Elmar, Alblasserdam, The Netherlands

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elmar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear E & E,

It is always a pleasure to have Dutch guests to stay. We are so pleased that you found us. Thankyou for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you in Somerset again one day.
Heidi and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here the night before a wedding at nearby St Audries Park and were most impressed. Clean, bright and very professionally run. The location was perfect - within walking distance of the wedding venue. We stayed in the twin room with stunning views. We were made most welcome and Heidi couldn't do enough for us. A highlight was being served tea while soaking up the sun in the magnificent garden. A good breakfast with quite a selection on the menu. If you are ever in this area I would recommend Stilegate without hesitation. In fact I wished we could have stayed for longer!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sunshine590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Very kind of you to write a review for us, and we appreciate your comments. Thank you.
Best Wishes Heidi and Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stile gate. Was the best b&b we have stayed in for a very long time.Heidi and Pete fantastic hosts,breakfast superb.We stayed in the annexe which is designed with wheelchair users in mind,facilities very good with wet room and grab bars in the right places. I would highly recommend Stilegate if you are a wheelchair user or just in general.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Mr and Mrs H.
Thank you for your kind comments. We would love to see you both again if you visit your friends in Weston Super Mare. Best Wishes Heidi and Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding and it was just amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for Heidi and Peter. The room was lovely, very clean and had everything we needed. The views were fantastic - a superb location. Breakfast was delicious and a big variety to suit everyone. Thank you for a lovely stay I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear B&A

The pleasure was all ours and we would love to see you both again soon. We are attending a quiz on BH Monday in the local pub and would have liked you in our team. Enjoy the summer. Best Wishes Heidi and Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed at Stilegate recently, this is a fantastic place with wonderful hosts in Heidi and Peter.
The views are stunning, rooms extremely clean and well maintained.
Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Adrian and Anne

Good to see you after such a long time, and we hope to see you again in the near future. Best Wishes Heidi and Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed overnight for a wedding. We were made very welcome and tea and cakes were provided on our arrival. We had the downstairs room and it was clean and comfortable all the essentials were provided, we had doors leading out to their lovely garden from our room which was very nice. Breakfast was plentiful and nothing was too much trouble.
We are seriously thinking of going back to stay there for a short holiday later in the year.

Thank you Heidi and Peter for letting us stay longer in our room until we had to go the.
wedding.

Michael & Diana

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear M&D
We have been talking to some other guests about your great property in Cyprus and thank you for telling us about it. We are glad you enjoyed your brief stay and hope you enjoyed the Wedding.
Best Wishes
Heidi and Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed overnight for a wedding at St Audries park, contacted the owners to explain we would be arriving early, they said that was fine. Heidi contacted us the previous evening to explain our room was available so we were able to get changed, she even provided a lovely cup of tea and slice of cake. Nothing is too much trouble. Excellent clean, comfortable room and ensuite. Lovely breakfast shared with other guests, all very friendly, family atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coppells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidiSomersetUK, Owner at Stilegate B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

It was a pleasure to have fellow Somerset folk staying and thank you for the terrific comments.
Best Wishes Heidi and Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stilegate B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stilegate B&B

Address: Staple Close | St Audries, West Quantoxhead TA4 4DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > West Quantoxhead
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Quantoxhead
Price Range: £47 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established B&B near Quantock Hills and coast with all en-suite accommodation and a warm welcome. Panoramic views from each room towards Exmoor National Park and Minehead. Close to St Audries Park Wedding venue. Enjoy our Aga home cooked breakfast freshly prepared especially for you and then relax at our local St Audries Bay beach or mountain bike straight onto the Quantock Hills (AONB) from the front door. Walk to the local Windmill Inn for a delicious evening meal, fantastic Sunday carvery or take a picnic up onto the beautiful Quantock Hills. Electric Vehicle charging point free for overnight guests. Off road parking and ground floor room available. Ask about our midweek break special. A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stilegate B&B West Quantoxhead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing