We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chance find and Oh so worth it. Very close to the best trout fishing in the South Island.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Hill Lodge B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Garston B&B and Inns
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A chance find and Oh so worth it. Very close to the best trout fishing in the South Island.”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Was stopped for speeding by a local Cop who advised me to find local accomodation instead of travelling another couple of hours to Queenstown (8pm at night when I was stopped) and
Castle Hill Lodge was the first property I liked the look of.

What a find! Very well appointed property with a very tastefully styled bedroom and ensuite for me.

Mark and Sharon were wonderful hosts, Barclay the Labrador was great fun and the breakfasts were very tasty.

When you`re in the valley close to Atholl, make a point of heading for this lodge.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very well appointed, clean and tastefully styled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaestheticD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
29
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bannockburn, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

An excellent comfortable place to spend some time in New Zealand. Excellent hosts and excellent food. Just like being at home. The animals are super friendly and a perfect placxe to unwind and relax. Thanks so much for making us feel ayt ease and home on our stay. in uur 10 day trip this was by the far most comfortable and best palce to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Spent one night here in December 2013 and loved it.
Organised the same day as a last minute thing and very happy to have chosen Castle Hill Lodge.
Curry dinner was great, as was the room, guest lounge. The surroundings are wonderful.
The animals are an excellent bonus.
Would definately stay here again.
Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My husband and I stayed for a night on our way back from Milford Sound and really enjoyed the experience. On arrival we were greeted by Mark who welcomed us in a tasteful guest lounge with a cup of tea and peanut butter fudge! (Yum it was so moreish....so thanks Sharon!!) Our room was extremely clean and comfortable and the rural property is totally relaxing. Sharon and Mark have a wonderful array of pets including kuni kuni pigs, sheep, goats, chickens and Berkley their very playful labrador. As we had ordered an evening meal we were able to enjoy this with our hosts and some other guests, which resulted in a lively and fun discussion around the table. We would certainly recommend Castle Hill Lodge as a great place to stay where you are well looked after by very friendly and personable hosts. Garston is only about 1 hour south of Queenstown and is easily accessible to Te Anau and other southern spots.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Spent three nights with Sharon and Mark over New Year’s – found this by default since everything was booked in Queenstown, and could not have been happier. As someone else stated – this, too, was our favorite place we stayed at over our three-week stay in Oz/Nz. Close enough to Queenstown to spend multiple days in the city, and only a few hours from Milford Sound. Cleanliness of the room and common areas was impeccable. Booked the England room – very spacious and we were very happy with it. Breakfast was eggs, sausage, bacon, mushrooms, tomato. Both the bacon and sausage (lamb) were about as flavorful and fresh as they come. Nightly dinners are offered if you’d prefer not to drive into Queenstown – we took advantage of this one night – the butter chicken was outstanding. Sharon and Mark make you feel right at home from your first step through the door – fun conversations with them over dinner. And if you’re lucky, you may get a chance to feed Mildred.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed with Mark and Sharon for (actual) Christmas 2013 and had an absolutely wonderful stay. We couldn't have been more pleased with the Borneo Room. Sharon greeted us with deelish tea and biscuits and made a lovely Christmas dinner. The home has a separate, cozy living room for guests. The rooms are spacious, with comfortable mattresses, soft sheets, and modern private bathrooms. The house itself is set on a picture-perfect property looking out onto Castle Hill. Having the sheep, goats, pigs, dog/cat, ducks, and the rest of the farm animals on the farm to feed was an extra treat. We were amazed by the decorative details of the actual home -- so beautiful! If we are ever traveling through to Te Anau again, we will most certainly stay at the Castle Hill Lodge again. Thank you Mark and Sharon -- we loved every moment of our stay!

Room Tip: The Borneo room is spacious and has a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed with Sharon and Mark for a week while I fished some southland rivers with a friend. Fantastic hosts, great home cooking and a really good base for exploring the sights of Southland, such as Doubtful and Milford Sound, Invercargill and Te Anau. I will definitely stay again on our next fishing trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseEdgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Castle Hill Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Lodge B&B

Property: Castle Hill Lodge B&B
Address: 23 Mcmillan Road, Garston 9750, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Garston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Garston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hill Lodge B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within 9 acres of mature trees, gardens and stunning views is this former Angler's Lodge.Centrally located for trips to Te Anau, Milford Sound and Queenstown. A scrumptious breakfast will set you up for the days walking, fishing, skiing, kayaking or just sitting out on the decking. Free internet access, guest lounge, open fires and farm animals for you to greet. A great place to stay a while and watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Castle Hill Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing