We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thompson, Durham”
Review of Brunston Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brunston Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thompson, Durham”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Excellent golf club house with a wide variety of high quality meals and well maintained golf course attached to Brunston Castle Seasons resort. We also enjoyed the many and varied country walks in this beautiful scenic area It is conveniently situated close to Girvan and t Ayr both with extensive sandy beaches.

Room Tip: Spacious accommodation in these well appointed bungalows have large verandas situated to take full a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billtom3742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    115
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
165
121
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just returned from Seasons at Brunston Castle. Have visited many times and have NEVER been disappointed with the high standard there. Cottages are well appointed with every amenity, Big lounge/dining area, good kitchen area with dishwasher and washing machine + 3 bedrooms. Reception staff are all extremely courteous and helpful and grounds are immaculately kept. Beautiful indoor pool and small gym. Restaurant 'Dine' has just opened next door at the Golf Club. Ate there several times and this is a great facility. All this + Scotland's wonderful scenery and hospitality. Can I say more?!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deeside, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have just returned from Brunston Castle, Our first trip there. Staff were welcoming, Lodge was splendid. 3 good size bedrooms, larger lounge/dinning room. Good sized Kitchen. As anticipated what was on site was good, however if you are anticipating active social activities you may be disappointed. Pool is a good size and a nice temperature.

The guided walks were very informative and Ron, the guide, is a great character who knows everything about the area.

The Golf Club restaurant opened on the Thursday of our visit. The meals are very competitively priced and the settings are of good quality with fantastic views over the golf course to the surrounding hills.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Once you have negotiated the pot-holed and bumpy entrance road, the resort and units are all very good. Clean, good condition and comfortable. The restaurant had re-opened the week we visited, but we didn't try it. We can recommend the 'Wildings' restaurant in Maidens (just north of Turnberry) - it is first class and not too expensive (£20 for two courses).

Room Tip: All the units will have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fordnutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Everything about this place is exceptional, so many places around here to visit.
Nice clean accommodation, very spacious and beautiful views over the country side. we would highly reccomend this to anyone considering a visit.
staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Book early and arrive early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcintoshj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
267 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Having spent a few days here with friends in a second lodge, I can highly recommend the accommodation. It was spacious, clean and comfortable, with many of the lodges having a great view of the countryside. The grounds are well kept and the there is a one-way system round the complex for vehicles. Each lodge has parking for one vehicle right outside the lodge. The reception is open for 12 hours a day with friendly helpful staff. There is also a swimming pool and a gym and WiFi is free in the sitting area at reception, which is a bonus.
There are just one or two things to be aware of. There is no bar or restaurant on site and when we were there the restaurant at the golf club was also closed. You will need a car to travel to surrounding towns for restaurants or there is a Co-op not too far away in Dailly where you can buy food to cook yourself. One other warning, watch the road surface on Golf Course Road on the approach to the site. Either there has been a recent sale of potholes or the road has not been resurfaced for some time and desperately need doing.
I had considered giving this a four star rating due to the lack of a restaurant and bar, however, that would not reflect the comfort of the lodges and facilities, other than swimming pool and gym are not included in the list below. I have therefore marked it solely on the accommodation aspect of it of the resort.
The telling question is would we go back. Without a doubt, it is clean and comfortable and is ideal for visiting Ayr and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our first visit to Brunston and we would go again. We had a 3 bedroom cottage (no 21) it was very well furnished with plenty of towels, pillows etc, a starter kit of dishwasher tablets, tea, coffee and sugar are given along with 2 tea towels, washing up liquid and cif, the kitchen had a dishwasher and a washer/dry (small tip dont put them on at night as they are noisy). There is a co-op in the village for shopping and a small cafe if you fancy a cooked breakfast. On site there is a lovely pool, pitch and putt and a very small gym. Oh and the fish and chip van calls at the site twice a week. Yes it is quiet, but there are loads of lovely trails in and around dailly, we like the ones in Barr. Can recommend China moon in Girvan and Kings Arms in Barr. Culzean castle was a great day out and a trip to Ayr is a nice change. From may a steam boat does trips from Girvan

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lainey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dailly
6.9 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
4.3 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
13.2 mi away
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
5.1 mi away
Southfield Hotel
Southfield Hotel
#2 of 5 in Girvan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
4.4 mi away
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunston Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunston Castle

Property: Brunston Castle
Address: Brunston Avenue, Dailly KA26 9GB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Dailly
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Dailly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a magnificent rural idyll, the resort and golf course is named after the original 16th Century Brunston Castle. Set in 25 acres of landscaped grounds in the peaceful Girvan Valley, just five miles from Ayrshire's picturesque coastline, Brunston Castle makes the perfect place from which to explore the wonderful west of Scotland and perfect for a golf break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Brunston Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunston Castle Hotel Dailly
Brunston Castle Ayrshire, Scotland - Dailly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing