We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will feel at home here”
Review of Birchwood

Birchwood
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munlochy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birchwood
Ranked #2 of 3 Munlochy B&B and Inns
Ribe, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You will feel at home here”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Birchwood may be a little difficult to find, but luckily our hostess Glenys had mailed us directions and we found it right away. Once again we received a warm Scottish welcome and were given a lovely twin room on the first floor. The weather was excellent and we were able to sit on the terrace and enjoy the serene garden and surrounding fields. It was so relaxing! After a good nights sleep Glenys served us a fantastic breakfast with home-made bread and gave us a great start to yet another lovely day in Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We spent 2 nights on the Black Isle on holiday with my sister and hubby. Always, when looking for a B and B, you are always a little anxious as to the quality and welcome you will receive. We can only reinforce the previous review comments. Lovely place, welcoming hosts, great food, comfortable beds and rooms - what more can we say! Would have no hesitation in returning to this beautiful part of the world. Thank you Glynis and Alan.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Following a long drive it was great to receive a warm welcome from Glenys and her delicious homemade cake was a treat. Our room was spotless and comfortable and the fresh milk in the room and fresh coffee was a nice addition. Glenys' porridge was delicious and my son loved the scotch pancakes. Birchwood is a real home from home and Glenys and Alan went out of their way to make us feel comfortable, even lending us their bikes and coming to look for us when we were out for longer than expected. Loved the location as it was quiet yet near enough to the city if you needed to visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Alexa1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I cannot recommend Birchwood highly enough!

I stayed with my family (husband and two young children) for a week in August 2011, and it was bliss. We had both bedrooms, whoch are opposite each other across the handing. The children slept in one and we had the other. The children were comfortable knowing that they could come across to us in the night if they needed to. The bedrooms were nicely decorated, and the bed and bedding was supremely comfortable. Nice quality.

Nothing was too much trouble for Glenys and her husband, who made us really feel at home.

Glenys had a few toys for the children to play with, and they both really felt relaxed and welcome. It was like being at home, only so much better as there is no cooking or washing up to do!!!! We elected to have an evenig meal in the B&B on two evenings, and I have to say that Glenys is an *excellent* cook! She made lovely things for the children, too.

In the last year my husband has often said "I wish I could think of a reason for us to go back to Inverness, so that we could stay at Birchwood again"!!!

There's no better recommendation than that, is there?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoMercer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saddleworth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

From the moment we met Glenys, we knew we had selected a gem of a B&B, as we were welcomed so warmly and treated to tea and delicious home baking. Birchwood is everything you could wish for in a quiet situation, spaciousness, comfort and attention to detail. Breakfast was an absolute treat with a very wide choice. As very experienced users of B&Bs, we can honestly say Birchwood is one of the best.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juddsaddlew0rth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We really enjoyed our time at Birchwood - we liked that it was a small B&B (only 2 rooms), the hosts were lovely, welcoming and very helpful; and the full breakfast was great and just what the doctor ordered indeed!

As it's quite off the beaten track, it's probably advisable to have a car, although we walked into the nearby village Munlochy, in about 20 mins.

A great location for being away from it all, deep in the beautiful Black Isle country-side, but not too far from all the city amenities in Inverness.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lounger121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Lovely place with a nice relaxed atmosphere. The owners were very personable and friendly. Tasty breakfast. Very clean room and comfy bed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise_Raymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Birchwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood

Property: Birchwood
Address: Balnakyle, Munlochy IV8 8PF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Munlochy
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Munlochy
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Birchwood Bed and Breakfast. Birchwood offers luxury secluded accommodation in a large modern country house, set in an acre of garden grounds on the beautiful Black Isle only 15 minutes from Inverness. It is the perfect base from which to explore the stunning Highlands of Scotland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birchwood Munlochy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing