We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most fabulous stay I've ever had.”
Review of La loggia sul Nera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La loggia sul Nera
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most fabulous stay I've ever had.”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This apartment is, in a word, perfect. It is set in an old castle in the small hilltown of Arrone, Umbria which in itself was a dream to stay in. We came here for one week of our honeymoon and it was the best week of the whole trip. The apartment is a short walk uphill but worth it. We stayed in La Trota Azzurra which is one of the rooms with a terrace. What a beautlful terrace!! We sat out on the terrace every chance we got. The view over Arrone from the terrace was wonderful and the terrace itself was huge! The apartment was so beautiful and has everything you need - a large romantic bedroom, a large bathroom, a washing machine, a dining/living area and a kitchen. Every room in this apartment had a window overlooking Arrone with rustic shutters. The owner has a friend who lives in the castle, Rita, who deals with his English speaking customers. She is a friendly face and a lovely woman to get to know. She made our stay in Arrone such a welcoming experience. Upon our arrival she, with the help of the two cleaning ladies, had set up the room specially for our honeymoon. There were candles lit all over the apartment, wine and glasses, rose petals and roses. The most romantic setting I've ever seen in my life, in a castle in the beautiful town of Arrone. I can't say any more great things about this accomodation and the town itself. GO THERE. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: The two 'main floor' rooms, La Trota Azzura and Il Gambera Rosso are the two with the beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    29
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
46
37
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blaenavon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were fortunate enough to stay in this gorgeous accommodation with breathtaking views over the small local town of Arrone, set amongst the hills with beautiful views down the valley. The accommodation was clean, spacious and fully equipped with everything you could need and both downstairs apartments have access to the terrace which really is wonderful to fully appreciate the views. We had our evening meals out on the terrace and it catches the sun during the day. The area of Arrone is quaint and so friendly, it has all the essentials, bank, pharmacy, couple of bars, corner shop, pizza restaurant/takeaway (pretty good, better than the rubbish you can sometimes get in Rome!) but it was Rita, the owners friend who really made our holiday! We have so much to thank Rita for, nothing was too much and she helped us with everything from lending us her shopping trolley, giving us a lift to the airport and inviting us for dinner at her house! Rita also told us all the places to go locally and thanks to her, we found our favourite restaurant which we highly recommend and just a 20 minute walk, 'Osteria dello Sportello', Casteldilago. Beautiful food in abundance and amazing prices. We used the buses to travel around locally and again everyone was very friendly and helpful. We would recommend visiting the Cascata delle Marmore, manmade waterfalls and the local town of Spoleto. We also travelled into Rome twice, catching the bus into Terni and train into Rome. A wonderful base from which to explore Umbria, we fell in love with Arrone and highly recommend this accommodation for couples and families alike. We will definitely be returning! : )

Room Tip: It is only the 2 downstairs rooms that have access to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireBond_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I stayed in the Gambero Rossi, one of the apts at La loggia. Clean, nice-looking, well furnished and stocked. Plus magnificent views of the town below and the mountains in the distance. Having the balcony made a big difference. A real pleasure. Everything worked well, and if I needed an extra lamp or even a rocking chair, or any other convenience, Rita, who lives right nearby, did everything possible to help and make my stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. When I got rammed by another car, she called the rental company and handled the insurance issues for me! The town is an easy-going, non-pretentious place, where it's a pleasure to walk into the grocery shop or the pizzaria and get a taste of town life. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Gambero Rosso has a balcony off the bedroom. The similarly priced and equally nice apt next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elmigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beer-sheva, israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

we've been in "la loggia sul nera" in june 2012. we stayed in the apartment "il gamberro rosso" for 10 days. the apartment is nice, clean and furnished mostly with the original furnitures of the house. the kitchen has all the equipment you need in a vacation,a fireplace for the winter. a balcony with a view to the village and the area. the village is beautiful and closed to many sites like "cascata delle marmore" and other wonderful places. our english conection woman, Rita, is very nice, very freindly, very helpful when you need help or an advice, she made us feel at home.
ther are two problems: one is a lack of close parking, the other one is a lack of air-condition if it's in the summer (there is a fan).
we enjoyed our staying there very much and wish we could stay more.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed in Il Gambero Rosso, the smaller apartment. The apartment itself was fully equipped with everything we could need, and had breathtaking views of the village, the mountains and the valley. We had our breakfast and evening meals out on the terrace most days, which was idillic as the it got the sun in the morning and evening. Guiseppe was very informative with lots of information about what to do in the area. We cannot thank Rita enough for all her assistance during our stay. We would not have experienced a typical Umbrian experience without all her help, from informing us about the best things to do in the area, taking part in local customs, and helping us out with practical issues (when our poor Italian speaking let us down!). The local area is beautiful with lots to see and do, and as a holiday-maker we were not made to feel like outsiders - we would happily go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weejen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed at a 2 bedroom unit and found the hospitality completely comfortable and were made to feel at home. The hostess Rita Lipparoni speaks perfect English and makes it so much easier to communicate and understand the beautiful surrounds of this undiscovered part of Italy. Umbria is a true Italian experience and the lodge is well located in a beautiful old castle making you feel part of the area and culture. It is well appointed and very comfortable, a HIGHLY recommended place to stay in Umbria.

Natasha and Michael Millard

Room Tip: double room, but the newest apartment with a covered patio is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natasha l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I have spent the past several years traveling throughout Italy. One of our favorite places to base ourselves is in the castle town of Arrone in the southern part of the Umbria Region. For many years, we were in love with the rolling hills of Tuscany. Looking for something different and non-touristy, we booked ourselves at La Loggia sul Nera in Arrone for 10 days. The beauty of the mountainous terrain of Umbria, the enormous olive groves and vineyards, and the historical path of numberous walled cities within an hour’s drive from Arrone have made Umbria (and Loggia sul Nera) our favorite “return-to” place.
Not only have we fallen in love with Umbria, but Loggia sul Nera in Arrone is a fabulous place to stay. The accommodations in the apartment are cozy and charming, as well as being immaculately clean. The view, incredible. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the owner, Giuseppi. Our Italian isn’t that good, so we were thrilled when our hostess, Rita, came bounding down the sloping street in front of the castle entrance and took us into her care for the rest of our stay. She took charge of making sure our visit at Loggia sul Nera was the best experience possible. When it comes to the warmth and generosity that Italians are known for, Rita sets the highest bar. Her kindness and knowledge of the area are invaluable. Parking is a bit of a challenge, but we consider it all a part of the adventure.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tom d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrone
1.0 mi away
Albergo RoccaRanne
Albergo RoccaRanne
#1 of 2 in Montefranco
192 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Miralago
Hotel Miralago
#1 of 2 in Piediluco
312 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Del Lago
Hotel Del Lago
#2 of 2 in Piediluco
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Relais Villa d'Assio
Relais Villa d'Assio
#8 of 13 in Rieti
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Case Vacanza Fiocchi
Case Vacanza Fiocchi
#3 of 5 in Arrone
61 reviews
3.7 mi away
Agriturismo Domus Umbra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La loggia sul Nera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La loggia sul Nera

Property: La loggia sul Nera
Address: Via Mezza Costa 14, 05031 Arrone, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Arrone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Arrone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La loggia sul Nera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Loggia Sul Nera Arrone, Italy - Province Of Terni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing