We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:00
Save
Review Highlights
A lovely morning out.

The horse sanctuary is well run and efficient and offers a great couple of hours out with the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Carol A
,
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Charming

What a beautiful and delightful few hours on a gloriously sunny February day.staff are so friendly... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Angie S
Read all 151 reviews
  
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
118
25
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
118
25
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop free entry lovely horses open friday an animal lover lovely homemade great couple of hours lovely site small play area warm sunny day lovely morning cafe on site visit regularly cake lovely place to visit wander around few hours
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

This is a great place for a visit free to get in also flat service for disabled and elderly people also plenty of seating lots of horses some pony's donkeys there's a cafe that sells food and drink and a gift shop toilets very clean place and the animals are well looked after and the staff are helpful and friendly you can donate or adopt a animal of your choice all said this is a fabulous place which I fully recommend

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

I had heard about the horse sanctuary in a magazine and as we were at a bit of a loose end we decided to pay it a visit. I must stress I am not in the least bit horsey so if came as a shock to my partner when I suggested it. I loved it there, we both did. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The horses, ponies and donkeys look so well and are so friendly, even I stroked them. The weather wasn't good, so we didn't stay as long as we would have liked but it will definately be top of our list next year.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank GEH90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Redwings. The horses, ponies and donkeys all now look so happy and cared for after their previous bad experiences. Lots of information and friendly staff - we learned a lot. Excellent coffee made fresh as we were the first customers. Good cake nice terrace outside. Great to be able to take our dog around too and water bowl provided. Others have commented that the cake was pricey but for goodness sake this is a charity and there is no entrance fee - they have to make as much as they can to rescue these lovely animals and we were very happy to pay and give a donation. Well done Redwings.

Date of experience: April 2015
1  Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2015

This was our first visit to Redwings and I was delighted to find entry was free (there were five of us) and the staff were so helpful in directing us where to find eldest grandchild's "adopted" horse. There is plenty of information about each animal and lots of other tips and info about horses and donkeys around. We were able to eat our own picnic, although there is also a small cafe and the visitors' centre has a good shop with lots of pocket-money priced items for the children. We will certainly visit again, especially as youngest grandchild now has an "adopted" horse of her own!

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2015 via mobile

It is ok when it is open, site is rarely updated, no reply to e-mails; visited several times, during opening times, only actually open twice. Not a reliable place to plan your day around

Date of experience: April 2015
5  Thank blondy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwings H, Manager at Redwings Horse Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2015

Dear blondy1000, thank you for your comments about our Oxhill centre. I am so sorry to hear that you have not had a positive experience as our supporters are so important to the work of the charity and we would never want you to be disappointed. I am not sure whether you are referring to the website or the site itself that has not been updated, but our website is updated weekly with news from Oxhill and any changes to opening times, while the centre itself has just had a brand new children's play area installed. We are a charity so we do not have the resource to make changes to the centre very regularly but we have been working hard to make it friendly and welcoming. It is open every day to visitors from now until November so can I ask, when did you try and visit? Regarding the emails we would need some more information from you to investigate why you were not replied to, our policy is always to reply within a week. If you could telephone me on 01508 481000 or email info@redwings.co.uk with your details we will look into this further for you. Thank you for the time to add your comments and please do get in touch so we can help resolve this for you. With best wishes, Nicola from Redwings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews