We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have any standards… Don’t! As this place has few.”
Review of Hotel Noir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Noir
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I really don’t know where to start… So here comes a list! (They’re always good)

This is a VERY noisy hotel, and is a VERY rough conversion, with what appears to be absolutely NO soundproofing included whatsoever. Whether it be the hotel front door closing, or any door come to that (Note: ALL fire doors are kept open for ‘your’ convenience), other people’s conversations, their trips to the toilet, or their removal of footwear… you get to hear the lot.

The paint on the skirting boards and the doors in the rooms is chipped… a lot, as are some of the tiles in the bathroom. The carpets are worn and frayed… at ALL edges. And housekeeping appears unaware, that you are allowed to vacuum beneath the bed. Oh, and the table in our room bowed all by itself… I wasn’t brave enough to place anything upon it.

There appears to be NO spare plug sockets… Even for the hairdryer, which is provided… Unless it isn’t, and you have to ask… to then be told, there are no spares!

Sometimes they replace your towels, and sometimes they don’t… Irrespective of their own towel policy!

They offer newspapers… But delivery of these is somewhat random.

The room front door handle was all but hanging off, with an extremely unreassuring lock to the door. However, let the lock worry you not… as housekeeping may just leave your door unlocked, while you spend the entire day in the city centre, as they did with our room. Even more overwhelmingly pleasing, was the complete lack of a toss; the chap on reception seemed to give when this was pointed out. But then the staff generally appear to be competing with each other to be able to ignore you, and have no idea how to deal with issues, or even just simple questions.

The glasses provided in the rooms are very unclean. I’d rather drink from a tramps shoe! Which is probably available from the hotel suggested drinking hole located next door… Hole being the operative word.

The bathroom light is of the cheap energy saving type… taking a brilliant 12 minutes to become usable. The hotel informs you that this is part of an ecological policy… Though I suspect it to be more economic, as it’s useless.

The ‘complimentary’ chocolates within the ‘mini-bar’, appear only to be changed following consumption. However, consume these at your peril… The dents and fingerprints all over our chocolates were somewhat off putting.

And one of my favourite parts of the stay… If you choose the Four Poster bed (Ooh)… You get a ‘Super’ king sized bed, with a ‘Super’ king sized duvet cover, with a ‘Normal’ king sized duvet in it… Brilliant!

As other Hotel Noir commentators have suggested… If this is the last hotel available in York… DON’T! There is a plentiful supply of conveniently placed and inviting park benches located all around the city for your comfort. York is a wonderful and beautiful place… Just don’t spoil your stay by staying here.

And as one other commentator has also noted… The hotel does love to comment and correct upon these comments. All I can say is: don’t make excuses… Make it better! It’s got the potential… But at the moment, that’s all it’s got.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 902 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

Given what other posters had written about the parking, got on the car park on a busy weeking with no problem. Its a clean and comfortable hotel, the staff were helpful and friendly, pleasant location,just a short 15 minute walk to the Minster. The Pub next door was a bit on the rough side though!
We had a room at the back on the second floor, which was quiet, clean and cosy but a bit of a climb with cases for an asthmatic! All the facilities there that you would expect, but I think the shower had asthma as well as it was very weak!
The breakfast was very tasty and served by polite helpful staff.
However, the evening meal was a bit of a disaster. We were the only couple eating (now I know why!) on the Friday night. Starters were fine and plentiful, eventually the main course course arrived, however both dishes were dry and over cooked. Steak and salmon dishes both dry, chips burnt. We sent them back to the kitchen. After over half an hour later they were replaced, but not much improvement, still overcooked and dry. By this time we had lost the will to eat!
The chef either requires more training or replacing. Not a good advert to what was up until then was an enjoyable experience.
Thankgoodness your staff showed empathy.
Having said all that I would try the hotel again as I think we can all have a bad day once in a while!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Terrible doesn't cover it.
From start to finish the whole experience was nasty. Don't go. To bullet point.

Car park- Full (6 cars), receptionist unhelpful, offered no greeting or apology and suggested parking next street up - thanks, glad I choose hotel WITHout parking!

Cleanliness - At first glance everything dirty and unkempt.
Old, worn, dirty carpet. Hand marks, smears and chipped paint on the walls and doors.
Room was in same state - if you're going to paint the walls white, you should probably clean them at least occasionly!

Paint dirty and chipped.

Surfaces dirty.

Stained and dusty bedding.

Bathroom - Cracked tiles, paint and sealant peeling and chipped. Lovey yellow bath - not! Paper thin toilet roll.
At one point we got locked out of the bathroom as the lock was in the same state of disrepair as the rest of the 'hotel'.

Unable to shut either of the two windows in the room.

Window pane broken. With view of brick wall.

Breakfast was edible, breakfast room was sadly over cramped, dirty and lacking any charm this building used to posses before being ruined by painting everything black and white.

At £160.00pppn I expected so - so much more, very disappointing stay. The four poster bed was the only thing going for this room and its just not worth it. I wouldnt expect this from a £70.00pn room, I'd like my money back!

Dear Management, no need to respond, I can see from other poor reviews that you insist on blaming your dissappointed customers for the many faults of your hotel and never except any blame yourselves, nothing short of a refund would make me any less appalled and disappointed and I can see where that conversation would end. Daylight robberery!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Insertnamenot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My husband and I booked a 2 night stay, hoping for relaxation to escape the stress of work. We got quite the opposite after being allocated a room facing the road, big mistake. We were kept awake all night with the traffic passing by.

My husband complained at reception and was offered a room at the rear, on the ground floor, facing a brick wall and a car park above which he declined as it was terrible. The staff were unhelpful and very unprofessional, not even an apology for our inconvenience.

The bathroom was dated, painted tiles, cream bathroom suite, (not part of the black & white theme). One of the towels had holes in. Needless to say, we checked out after the first night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNONYMOUS63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here on a weekend trip to York to see the Mystery Plays. We weren't looking for luxury, but we did want something clean and comfortable, which for the most part we got. The room could have done with a bit more thorough cleaning, but all things considered, for the price we paid it was fine. The hotel is about a mile from the centre of York, which during high season is a good thing because you just park in the hotel car park and walk in without having to worry about traffic. The coffee/tea machine was a bit much, but it was a nice touch.

If you're looking for trendy luxury you might be a bit disappointed, but if you're looking for a safe, clean and somewhat stylish place then this is highly recommended. The staff were helpful and friendly, the location was great and even though it was a tiny bit rough around the edges it was brilliant for the price. We'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glitterhoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We've stayed twice - the first time we had a larger room and this was clean and a decent size so I would have rated it as good. However, on our second visit we were given a compact room which was pretty awful. It was very small, noisy (above the kitchen area I think) and rather tatty. On both visits we booked last minute so payed less, but I really wouldn't stay again because of the second room. Breakfast was good with a fair range of options. The location is great as it's only a short walk from the city centre.

Room Tip: Don't go for the compact room above the kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieM455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
2.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,553 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#30 of 47 in York
1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.4 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Address: 3-5 Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range: £48 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York/Clifton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing