We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money - it's black and white.”
Review of Hotel Noir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Noir
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
1 review
“Great value for money - it's black and white.”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed there on a midweek get away to have a meal and a day relaxing as a birthday treat. In a picturesque residential area it's well run, friendly and located a 10 minute brusque walk to the Minster end of town. The rooms are of a period townhouse without the generic polish of a chain but that's not a negative. The room was great and the bar etc lovely, all of the advertised freebies were there and we enjoyed our stay - £65 a steal!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbwg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    340
    184
    77
    77
See reviews for
85
705
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My wife and I just spent two nights in this excellent hotel.
15 minutes leisurely walk from the city gates. Car Park, free mini bar, up market fittings, Coffee maker, Radio with Ipod dock, TV, Extra heater if radiators not to your liking, very helpful staff, Great breakfast and meals. Could not be better.
Someone complained that there was no marmalade and Friday is glass recycling day? We were there on a Friday and had marmalade but missed out on the recycling . They also complained about the black paint - the title of the hotel gives a hint of that.
Some folk are never happy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgartshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Me and my hubby stayed here Saturday 29th September - we were very impressed with the appearance of the hotel from the outset. We did drive through the tiny car park but failed to get a spot however next time we come we will just park on the street like this time. Plenty of space and quiet street.

The check in was smooth and efficient and we were given a lovely four poster room 411 - no views but we weren't bothered about that - the room was comfy and well equipped - the bed very comfy - it was very quiet and we slept really well. It had dressing gowns, slippers, hand made truffles, well stocked mini bar, nice smelling toiletries, good quality television, tassimo coffee/tea machine (oh and hot chocolate too) - kettle in the wardrobe if you had brought your own stuff. Really nice! Had a lovely breakfast in the morning. Good distance from York but easily walkable - 10 mins away - we tried several old worlde pubs and a nice meal in the Prezzo in York - great anniversary treat! Really recommend it!!

Room Tip: 411 is a four poster - king sized or could have been super king not sure - we liked it but it is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed on Saturday night, first impression are good, efficient reception and nice bar and restarant area, but that's were it ends.
Upon checking in and settling in to our room the electrics tripped, to be fair this was sorted within 5 minutes, the battery on the safe was dead, and the shower screen leaked very badly, actually flooded the floor!
The doors are so badly fitted everyone has to slam them to open & close, the noise all night & early morning is dreadful. The fire door where rooms 204/206 are has no door closer and constanlty slams, we hardly slept at all.
The dust on the bathroom door, window ledges and around the edge of the carpets was a disgrace.
It may be handy for the city but there is much better places to stay that are cleaner and quieter!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannyairedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I booked this hotel for a 1 night stay for a trip to see York, After a fabulouse day sightseeing we checked in and the receptionist was so lovley, very helpfull and pleasent, on entering the room i was shtunned, it was beautifull, four poster bed with tie back, all black and white decor to a high standard, tassiomo coffee machine with multiple stock, mini bar which had coke, sprite, beer wine and water all compleatley free, lovley clean bathroom and towels, We booked halfboard and enjoyed a 3 course meal, which was 1 of the best meals i have EVER had, i very much recomend the half board option, i cannot comment on breaskfast as i was so pleased with the hotel im here now in the comfy bed on my laptop writting this, had to do it asap becase iIm so impressed, the wifi is free, and room has a huge plasma on the wall. Top hotel with very attentive owners. BOOK HOTEL NOIR NOW you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: If you need anything there is a spar shop over the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2012

On a positive note the hotel is well situated being within a ten minute walk to York centre. Even the compact room was a fine size for a couple and the breakfast was just about ok (no marmalade would you believe). The room was also perfectly clean.The 1980s style black and white colour scheme is at worst a bit embarrassing and makes some areas of the hotel dark. This is matched by the demenour of some ( but not all) of the staff. Customer service training was definatally lacking, smiles were hard to come by, even from the receptionist. How charming to see them all huddled outside in their black uniforms having a fag!. The windows are old wooden sashes and didnt insulate from any of the busy road noise. impossible to sleep after 6am. Friday morning is glass recycling day, what a lovely noise that makes at 6.09am and York seems to have more than its fair share of early morning emergency service calls judging by the sirens outside our window. The bathroom was very dated and poorly maintained. Lock didnt work, tap needed rewashering bathroom door sticks. The black and white scheme couldnt extend to removing the lime green bathroom suite and the tiles had been painted- horrible. What with the black lino, door, skirtings and bath panel it was tastless in the extreme. Worst of all was the shower which was so pathetic I couldnt even wash the shampoo out of my very short hair. Obviously tank fed with insufficient head at the top of the hotel, booster pump very much required
Generally in life you get what you pay for but you can without doubt get better than this for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newmetlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We had a two night stay in mid september, the room on the third floor had ample space and a nice view of the trees on the green area, all the usual facilities in the room, including an ipod dock, Sony TV, a table and two bar stools to make full use of the FREE mini bar in our own room, the only slight criticism would have been maybe a power shower in the ensuite. Otherwise a very enjoyable stay. Helpful staff, Great Full Breakfast included, FREE parking and only a10 minute walk to the Minster. All in all, great value and any other reviewers should be reminded of the price they are paying for a York town centre Hotel. Recommended and wouldn't hesitate booking again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveJames69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Property: Hotel Noir
Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York/Clifton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing